We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the beach with AC!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haad Yao Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Haad Yao Villa to your Saves list
Haad Yao Villa
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   53/3 Moo 8 Haad Yao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location on the beach with AC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Plus they have the best restaurant on the sand. We ate everywhere the first few days but then just nestled in at the haad yao villa restaurant.
(It might be called something else) they were undeniably the best. Plus the service is top notch.

The room was by far one of the fancier rooms we've stayed at so far. All three of us were shocked at how nice it was. It's not blow your mind amazing, but is pretty classy and the price is right. Sadly, like most places I've stayed at in Thailand, the bed was hard as nails. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. Great room, great location, great food, great price. They have a pool which looked clean and appealing but we opted for the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Right on the beach with a pool as well which is an added bonus. Nice selection of books and board games to keep us amused (we had a very small budget), Jenga being my personal fave. Nice seating/lounge area. Didn't eat here but the food smelt good! They also arranged a taxi for us for full moon party on had rin.
Paid 200 baht a night.. Can't really argue with that! Unfortunately we did have a little incident in our room. We were staying in one of the cheapest bungalows at the back of the resort. One evening as I went to brush my teeth, before I could even get to it to turn the tap on, the sink fell off the wall and nearly sliced my toes off. Funny to look back on now, but might not have been had I lost my feet. The staff were fine about it though and we weren't charged.
All in all, it was great. Just keep your feet a safe distance from any suspended features in your room- pretty sure they're just glued on.

Room Tip: Get one with air con- I felt like I was sleeping inside a whale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, U.K.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel has bungalow type accomodation and a hotel block with double rooms on the ground floor and twin rooms above. We stayed in a twin room with private bathroom. There was a fridge and aircon, which was good as the temperature was in the high 30c/90f. The rooms, which are very big with a good sized balcony, are cleaned every three days. There was no safe in the room. The bathroom was clean, although no hot water, so the shower was cold. Not too bad in the extremely hot weather and it certainly helped to wake us up in the mornings ! There is a good sized swimming pool but no one used it much as the hotel sits literally on a fabulous white sand beach with warm turquoise sea. There are lots of other hotels lining the beach, all with tables and chairs set out on the sand for meals and drinks. We tried a different one every night -- the Eagle Bar at the Southern end had great thin crust pizza if you get tired of noodles and rice ! We ended the evening at 'our' hotel, sat at the tables on the beach enjoying a beer. The sunsets were fantastic. At the road side of the hotel, there is a 7/11, a few shops and cafes and two ATMs, which offer a poor exchange rate. The staff were friendly and efficient. We rented a scooter from the cafe next to the 7/11. CHECK the scooter before you take it as you will be liable for any scratches or marks when you return it. The roads are quite hilly and we had a great time visiting nearby beaches and small villages. A very good hotel for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: There are some bungalow - type huts and a hotel with twin rooms upstairs and double rooms on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our weeks stay here, the staff are friendly espescially the two bar staff always smiling and good service which make the difference! The rooms are clean good size cable tv free wifi, good powerful hot shower, fridge! Rooms are cleaned every 3 days which is enough. There is no safe in rooms which from previous reviews left us wary and we carried valuables on us all the time which is only negative thing! The food and breakfast is good and good price! The pool is always empty as everyone on beach so good if you want a propwr swim, its clean and big! The beach itself is gorgeous clear warm water and white sand! Haad yao is quiet so dont come here if you want a party i think irs about 30 min drive to full moon area. But there are a few restaurants along beach n little shops right outside the hotel! But so easy to get about if you rent a moped to explore the resr of the island! The hotel is not the cheapest you find but still good value!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Probably the nicest people i encountered on my trip of the islands and a beautiful location!
unfortunately only got to stay for a few days but is a brilliant place if you dont mind the slightly longer travel to the main spots but the taxis are around 200baht per person to the big events - jungle experience, waterfall party and all the way down to haad rin!
the shakes were amazing! arguably some of the best! Decent food, rooms (in one of the bungalows) and perfect service.
Would happily return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

+ Good value for money (hotel & restaurant)
+ Good food
+ Direct access to the beach (Tables of the restaurant on the beach)
+ Taxi service affordable
- Stains on cushion and bedspread
- Bed sheets were not cleaned
+ They changed quickly bed cloth after a request

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Haad Yao beach is on the west of Koh Phangan meaning you get some stunning sunsets. The beach is a nice size and the sand white and 'au naturalle' i.e. has rocks and drift wood etc which washes in. Unfortunately the sea here is not for swimming... It's protected by a reef meaning its really shallow and there are loads of rocks and urchins just offshore. If you walk (with shoes) through this though you get to deep water which is great for a swim and snorkel.

The beach is majorly quiet and if you visit when the full moon party isn't on there is barely anyone else n the beach. It's lined with bars and restaurants all serving up quality fayre at good prices.

The hotel itself is a little corker... For around 1000 baht a night (maybe a tad overpriced) you get a lovely spacious and tastefully, yet minimally decorated room with huge and majorly comfortable beds and quality aircon and strong wifi connection. The pool here more than makes up for the shallow sea. I'd definitely recommend this place for some serious R&R. Oh, and there's a 7/11 right next door in case you need your sliced hotdog 'fix'!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haad Yao Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Yao Villa

Address: 53/3 Moo 8 Haad Yao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Yao Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Haad Yao Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haad Yao Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.