We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Parrot Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Blue Parrot Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Blue Parrot Beach Resort
100 / 45 m 1 | Ban Tai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 112 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Value, Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Blue Parrot a few times over the past two or three years and it has always been the same; a beautiful place to stay, great location and fantastic value.

The resort is located right on the beach with the bar/restuarant having beautiful views over the water to Koh Samui. The rooms are located behind the restaurant inside flowering gardens and are all roughly the same size with different room options - fan/aircon, double/single/twin etc.

All the rooms are nicely decorated and clean with big patio doors that let the light in during the day. There is plenty of storage space, the beds are comfy and the bathroom/shower is great.

During the day the restaurant area is great for chilling out, sunbathing, watching sports, playing pool (free pool table) and relaxing in one of the hammocks. The thai food is excellent (my favourite is the chicken and cashew nut, especially when made by pi maam!) and even though I try to avoid western food in thailand... I can't resist having a homemade pizza once or twice, made in a proper pizza oven.

All the staff are really friendly and make you feel at home. They are always on hand to help you with booking tours, renting a scooter, getting taxis, advice on where to go on the island etc. etc.

At full moon party time they always sell out so make sure you book early. It is a great place to start the party and most of the guests will be going to the full moon so they do drink deals, arrange group taxis etc.

For a drink at night the bar/restaurant is usually busy and open until the last guests leave. Drinks are as cheap as you will find on the island and they do great cocktails.

Wifi is fast and available in the restaurant area. They also have a computer you can use, if I remember correctly.

The location is good although you will need to use transport to get around everywhere, as you would for anywhere on the island as Phangan is quite spread out.

The owners are genuinely passionate about this resort and are doing a fantastic job; you will really enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and very similar, just choose the right room type for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
27
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

stayed here three nights, had wonderful meals twice (pizza is awesome - best in Thailand, breakfast is really good). staff was funny, friendly and very helpful with what to do and where to go on the island. only downsides were the bed is a little too firm and the beach isn't ideal. great value for the AC room otherwise and its easy enough to get around the island.

Room Tip: go with the AC room as it doesn't cool down too much at night (at least not in April)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan les Pins, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at another great resort just down the beach but wandered over here and saw the signs for "Fresh Handmade Pizza". We have had bad pizza all around Thailand but this pie was legit! It was made by a proper Italian and we watched him roll out the dough, top the pizza and cook it right on the beach. It was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a basic garden room with fan via agoda.
Comfy beds and pillows
Nice bar area
Cheap beer Leo 50b at happy hour.
Food a little pricey but a nice view.
Beach a bit seaweed strewn but nice to walk along.

Could do with black out curtains as sunlight wakes you up at 6am.

Full sun on the room all day so it's boiling hot when you come home, pay extra to get air con room if available.

Good shower but cold water (room M)

Cheap laundry nearby 35b a kilo

You have to Pay for wifi in your room but its only 10b a day (weak signal only 2bars) painfully slow and you must sign in every time which is a pain.

Good location for the sat night market in thong sala walking street, ten min walk

A decent base to go exploring if you want a good nights sleep - but only if you hire a moped otherwise choose a different resort with more amenities at hand.

Good place to start, get all your shopping/banking done in Thong Sala then head up west, it's much prettier.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an air con room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This charming resort is located approximately 15 minutes by foot from the Thong Sala pier, right on the beach. It offers excellent value for money - the bungalows were clean and roomy, bathroom was spotless and the staff were excellent. The owner, Conor, made us feel very welcome and was always willing to answer all our questions - he was also kind enough to recommend us best beaches on the island and explained us how to get there and he also bought our ferry tickets! The resort has a nice little beach bar with quiet music playing all day, perfect for relaxing. Overall, excellent value for money and I'd come back anytime. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangandaran, Indonesia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I highly recommend staying at the Blue Parrot. The aircon bungalow I stayed in was very clean and I found it to be a very pleasant 4 night stay. The gardens are attractive and it was relaxing to be sitting in the restaurant or on the beach. The food in the restaurant was quality western standard and if you stay there you must try one of their Pizza's!

I met some new friends at the hotel and last night we went to the 'half moon party'. The Blue Parrot was located a short drive away and thus in an excellent location.

The staff were friendly and helped with moped hire- they kept my passport at reception which I thought was a good idea. It was cool riding the bike along the coastal road checking out other area's of the island.

If you stay here you will return and stay again in the future. I know that I will..
cheers
tim d

Room Tip: Go for an air con bungalow for sure. They are cheap for what your getting in that location of koh ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I loved staying here, the staff were excellent, my bungalow was spotless, it was great value and it had everything I needed. The owner, Conor, made me feel very welcome and was always willing to answer any questions I had. The view from beach bar and restaurant is spectacular, the food is delicious and the location is superb, it's a stone's throw from Thong Sala pier so it's really easy to get there if you've just arrived on the ferry, it's right on the beach and within short walking distance of the good restaurants, bars and the night market but far enough away from the noise that you can get a good night's sleep! I will be coming back to Koh Phangan in a few months and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Parrot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Parrot Beach Resort

Address: 100 / 45 m 1 | Ban Tai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Blue Parrot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Parrot Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.