We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan

Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan to your Saves list
Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   58/17 Moo 8, Haad Kruad | Salad Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 107 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“All Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed for 5 days, the guy who runs the place was friendly, as was everyone who worked there. It was quiet, which was what we wanted, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable, breakfast (included) was fine and the tofu burger was excellent.

The beach is down a steep slope but easily manageable and from the resort it is easily walkable to Haad Salad or Haad Yeo.

We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Sunset views are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gyor, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The resort is located in the quiet north-west of Koh Phangan, between Haad Yao and Haad Salad beaches. Both beaches are about 10 minutes walk. Hint: walk through Cookies resort for a shortcut. Dragon Hut has a small secluded beach too, Haad Gruad, a few steep steps take you there. You are welcome to use the swimming pool of Haad Gruad resort, please ask Rong, the owner of Dragon Hut. The bungalows are simply furnished, tidy, the colors will make your mood. The resort is 3 years old, the matrasses are in perfect condition, which is my biggest concern of all. The bedside table has a lockable drawer for your valuables. I have booked a fan bungalow with single beds. No need to use the fan, because the windows have moskito nets, just leave them open at night, cooling seabreeze blows in. The resort is in the woods, you can hear birds singing all day, but there's absolutely nothing to disturb your sleep at night. The owner Rong is very smiley and helpful, he's your local friend from day No. 1. His staff doesn't speak English, only a few words, but they are ready rush and help if you need something. This place is for people who want to slow down and enjoy the quiet environment. For party guys: best place to cure your hangover. You can relax in the hammock in your balcony, watch the waves and the magnificient sunsets. There's a big selection of delicious food, both Thai and Western for average prices. E.g. Pad Thai - 80BHT - the best one I've had so far! They also sell soft drinks and water. Your room will be cleaned in every 4 days or so - this is quite normal here -, but if you need more cleaning or toilet paper, don't bother to ask at the reception. Please be environmentally conscious in this wonderful island, lots of cleaning means pollution.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for six nights with my girlfriend. Could't be more happy. Wonderfull room, with great view, which all the bungalows have. A relax atmosphere, you can slow down here. And for real, the owner lung, great man! Really helpfull and friendly and above all a great cook. His curries were one of the better ones i've had. And then i dont count the normal resort touristy meals, which i tend to avoid.
To get around the island, rent a scooter from lung. The only rule is, dont crash instead of checking every inch for a scratch for extra money.
Do yourself a favour and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

After 3 weeks of traveling in Thailand, we choose dragon hut resort for one week of chilling. We could have not found any better place on koh phangang for this occasion. Dragon hut resort is sharing a small beach with one other resort, which is not busy at all. Sometimes we were all alone at the beach. We stayed in a new bungalow which was very clean and big, with a balcony looking over the sea (great spot to enjoy the sunset). The bungalow was the best one we had during all our travels in Thailand. Also the bathroom was very clean and brad new (with a great, strong shower). If you want to see more of the island, you can easily rent a scooter at the resort. But not only the bungalows and the great location at the small beach make dragon hut a perfect resort. The owner, Lung is one of the most friendly Thai we met. He treats you as his friend, takes the time to chat with you and makes you feel comfortable at his resort. It was a unique experience for us, to see the owner of the resort taking care of everything. Lung is also a very good cook. He takes his time to prepare the food, but at the end it was always well worth the wait. Everything was fresh and super delicious. He also gave us free authentic Thai treats to proof, which were lovely. I can just highly recommend dragon hut resort for everyone who is looking for some relaxing time and a unique Thai experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had originally booked a room at another hotel through a travel agent. We arrived and it was full so the owner took us down to Dragon Hut. It was night time and he's doing a bit of construction (building a restaurant) so we were a bit skeptical at first. We were taken down to the water front bungalow and blown away. A lot of stairs, so not recommended with bad knees or children maybe. It is all very nice condition and clean. The bungalows are spread out enough so no ones looking in on you ever. He's got some deal with the neighbor hotel (Lucky Resort) to use their restaurant, pool, and whatever other services they offer since Dragon Hut is not in full operation. It was a great price now, but I would think it will get quite a bit more expensive when its all finished. You can also walk over to the other beach to the north where there are a bunch more hotels/resorts for eating and just hanging out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

i can honestly say that the family that run this place are lovely.
i have been to this small and stunning resort 7 times now and wont go anywhere else.
although not good for toddlers as it is very steep it has become my favorite place with its own tiny beach and natural surroundings.

Room Tip: nice little one room mini villas built in to the rocks with the sea 20 metres away
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan

Address: 58/17 Moo 8, Haad Kruad | Salad Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.