We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chantaramas Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chantaramas Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   123 Moo 4 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stay at Chantaramas for 5 nights, we got the room with the balcony bath and the sea view, the room is great and the hotel is very good in general.
few things that interrupt us:
Hotel is far away from everything in the Island - as many have said before me - taxi is 100 THB per person at minimum to HadRyn and Thongsala.
The breakfast was average.
NO SPA available during our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantaramasresort, Guest Relations Manager at Chantaramas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Sawasdee krub,

Thank you for taking your time writing us your review about our property. We are glad that it seemed you enjoyed your lovely stay here with us. However, we really apologize for letting you down in some particular areas and these are the explanations;

Chantaramas Resort and Spa aim at the tourists who seek for the quite place to stay, providing quality accommodation and great facilities. And the the amount that you had to pay for transportation is the same price with public taxis outside the resort.

Our breakfast quality has been improved effectively since we have recruited a professional F&B team and the recent response from overall guests are positive.

The Spa area at the time you stayed here with us unfortunately it was renovating to better the look to match the resort theme and the guest satisfaction from spa has been reached beyond.

Lastly we are thankful for your decision to stay with us and are glad that we became one part of your Thailand trip. I wish you all the best and we look forward to host you here at Chantaramas Resort and Spa again and this time we will not let you down even bit.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
7
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a beautiful resort and can not for one second understand why anyone would write a bad review!!! On arrival at the pier there is a van waiting to pick up guests at a cost of 100 baht each - which makes it easier than trying to barter with a taxi. The resort itself is situated right on the beach and the setting is just beautiful. Checkin and checkout is quick and simple. It made it even better that we were upgraded. The room itself is large with a very comfy bed, a separate toilet, shower and huge marble bath. And to finish it off an outside area with private outside shower. The rooms has everything you would need. The restaurant has nice food and they have offers on beers/cocktails. The pool is large and has small jacuzzi sections in it. The resort is a ten minute drive to Haad Rin beach (Full moon party) but be advised the hills on the drive to it r mental! We took a bike to it and it was an experience but would take a taxi next time. At the resort you don't hear any noise from the full moon party. Would defo return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantaramasresort, Guest Relations Manager at Chantaramas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Sawasdee krub,

We are really very pleased that you had a great memorable time during your stay with us at Chantaramas Resort and Spa, and we are thankful for choosing us to be one part of your Thailand trip.

Again we thank you so much, and we do hope we would be chosen by you again next time when you think about where to stay in Koh Phangan.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel and it is amazing. I didn't want to leave. The staff are fantastic and can not do enough for you. They are polite and just lovely. The room is stunning and the grounds are lovely. I am defo going to come back and I would advise anyone to... miss it already xxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

First of all, DO NOT listen to all the bad reviews. If you expect a Four Seasons service, go and stay at the Four Seasons! (and pay accordingly). This is a wonderful, local owned hotel. Beautiful rooms and huge bathrooms that put most of the so called five star hotels to shame. The facilities are good enough..good pool on the beach, beautiful sunset views everyday...good food in the restaurant and excellent BBQ at night on the beach. The staff tried their best to provide good service..some of them may not be fluent in English but hey, since when is it a requirement for everybody to be fluent in English? They do try their best to communicate..I definitely get better service here than most of the hotels in Europe.

Just stay and enjoy the hotel and the full moon party on the island. you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in Block D..you get beautiful view of the garden and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Everything is stunning there (Rooms - even the cheapest ones - pool, landscape...) exception made for staff people (and more precisely the manager). It was unbelievable how they tried to do their best to ruin our stay.

They are arrogant and treat people not as guests. It always seems you are making a favour to them. We didn't move since we had couple of days more to stay in Ko Phangan, but believe me I would moved to another place to don't give them my money any more.

The manager should be fired and the place should be run in a total different way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just a stunning beachfront experience. Stayed in a private pool villa with sea view. Got an excellent rate on gokohphangan.com so nothing to complain. Staff was attentive and friendly.

Pool was to die for !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Firstly I want to say that this hotel has so much potential but that the management are not getting it right. My husband and myself and a friend decided to go luxury for a few days and happened across this hotel online. Unfortunately there were a few things missing once we arrived like the spa and the pool bar that never opened. The rooms were very nice, with the best bed I have slept in in Thailand with the most awesome bath as well. But the restaurant left a lot to be desired. From the staff that could barely string a few sentences together in English to the fact that you would very often not have cutlery till you got up and found it yourself. And the restaurant manager constantly trying to peddle you this or that wine at a promised discount. I don't mind the fact that the island would often lose power for about an hour or so now and then as they have generators for the rooms and you barely notice it. The beach and pool were stunning with a view of koh samui. The main desk staff were helpful in organizing us scooters to rent. Overall it was pleasant enough but not worth the forced service charge we paid with our rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chantaramas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantaramas Resort & Spa

Address: 123 Moo 4 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chantaramas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantaramas Resort is managed by Epikurean Hotels & Lifestyle, located on Koh Pha-Ngan, in the Gulf of Thailand. The resort have 51 rooms on the private beach wider than 100 meters on “Baan Kai” Beach that is within easy reach from Thong Sala Pier, the main pier of the Island, just for 10 minutes and is shorten from Haad Rin Pier only 7 minutes. Getting to Koh Pha-Ngan is very convenient as it takes just 20 minutes by speed boat from Koh Samui. The resort offers transfers service at a charge . Chantaramas Resort & Spa is delicately designed in modern contemporary style according to the local knowledge to add to the Island one of the most beautiful boutique resorts where guests could fully enjoy the local uniqueness of the decoration and total privacy and comfort of individual quarter in a lush setting of natural ambient of flowers and tree, the natural surrounding have been reserved for more than half of the area occupied by the resort to give the guest the feeling of total natural living and the place to get away and enjoy peaceful nature.Chantaramas Resort & Spa resort is also carefully designed to be friendly to wheelchair persons as there will be worry-free for those to enjoy all the resort facilities as other guests. Contact our Reservations for special deals or special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Chantaramas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chantaramas Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.