We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, Wonderful People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chantaramas Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Chantaramas Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   123 Moo 4 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 104 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel, Wonderful People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel and it is amazing. I didn't want to leave. The staff are fantastic and can not do enough for you. They are polite and just lovely. The room is stunning and the grounds are lovely. I am defo going to come back and I would advise anyone to... miss it already xxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
6
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

First of all, DO NOT listen to all the bad reviews. If you expect a Four Seasons service, go and stay at the Four Seasons! (and pay accordingly). This is a wonderful, local owned hotel. Beautiful rooms and huge bathrooms that put most of the so called five star hotels to shame. The facilities are good enough..good pool on the beach, beautiful sunset views everyday...good food in the restaurant and excellent BBQ at night on the beach. The staff tried their best to provide good service..some of them may not be fluent in English but hey, since when is it a requirement for everybody to be fluent in English? They do try their best to communicate..I definitely get better service here than most of the hotels in Europe.

Just stay and enjoy the hotel and the full moon party on the island. you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in Block D..you get beautiful view of the garden and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Everything is stunning there (Rooms - even the cheapest ones - pool, landscape...) exception made for staff people (and more precisely the manager). It was unbelievable how they tried to do their best to ruin our stay.

They are arrogant and treat people not as guests. It always seems you are making a favour to them. We didn't move since we had couple of days more to stay in Ko Phangan, but believe me I would moved to another place to don't give them my money any more.

The manager should be fired and the place should be run in a total different way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just a stunning beachfront experience. Stayed in a private pool villa with sea view. Got an excellent rate on gokohphangan.com so nothing to complain. Staff was attentive and friendly.

Pool was to die for !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Firstly I want to say that this hotel has so much potential but that the management are not getting it right. My husband and myself and a friend decided to go luxury for a few days and happened across this hotel online. Unfortunately there were a few things missing once we arrived like the spa and the pool bar that never opened. The rooms were very nice, with the best bed I have slept in in Thailand with the most awesome bath as well. But the restaurant left a lot to be desired. From the staff that could barely string a few sentences together in English to the fact that you would very often not have cutlery till you got up and found it yourself. And the restaurant manager constantly trying to peddle you this or that wine at a promised discount. I don't mind the fact that the island would often lose power for about an hour or so now and then as they have generators for the rooms and you barely notice it. The beach and pool were stunning with a view of koh samui. The main desk staff were helpful in organizing us scooters to rent. Overall it was pleasant enough but not worth the forced service charge we paid with our rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmorim, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here with my family (couple + 4 kids) in August. We took two side-by-side Deluxe rooms with outdoor shower (we chose this over a jacuzzi). Our stay wasn't bad, but we had several disappointments.
- The beach is excellent for exploring (the kids and I found lots of shells and crabs), but (at least while we stayed there) swimming is virtually impossible: the water is no more than knee-high even in high tide, for a distance of at least 200m from the shore.
- The pool bar wasn't active - it was just an empty concrete structure near the pool. The pool itself, on the other hand, is an excellent one, with an area for children as well as a long deep stretch and several nooks with jacuzzi.
- Location: far away from anywhere else (Haad Rin to the east or Baan Tai to the west), the hotel car costs 100 Baht/person each way. A free ride once a day to Haad Rin would've been a great perk, but since there wasn't one, we just went outside and stopped a songthaew each time (for 200-250 baht for the entire family of 6). Nowhere nearby to do laundry, say, or purchase groceries and basic stuff.
- The outdoor shower, which I was really looking forward to, turns out to be (at least in the Deluxe rooms) under the roof of the upper-story rooms, so instead of showering under the open sky, you are standing between four walls and under a roof of concrete, with a small backyard garden for scenery. Not really what I expected.
- On the positive side: reception staff assisted us in finding and ordering tickets for a ferry back to Koh Samui on our departure date, including a (non-free, again) ride to the pier.
- Breakfast is good, and the view from the breakfast terrace is quite beautiful.
- Another plus: we registered for two side-by-side rooms. When we saw one of them had a connecting door to another room, we asked whether we could have the other, connected room instead. We were told that room is in repairs and cannot be used, so left it at that. However, the next day the hotel staff told us they finished the repairs and we could move to the connected room if we wanted to. We were glad for this offer and accepted it...
- However, it turned out not all repairs were finished. The bath faucet in the new room was not working (there were still the two showers though), and the air conditioning - vital in Koh Phangan in August! - was faulty. They eventually fixed the A/C, but not the faucet.
- Which brings me to my biggest complaint - being told things are fixed when they are not. As with the "repairs finished" new room, which wasn't actually fully repaired. Or the non-functioning faucet, which I was told was repaired (after I complained), and then I checked again and the problem was still there. Or, most annoying, the free Wi-Fi (standard in nearly all Thai hotels) which was not working (in our rooms) for our entire stay. We complained several times, and were told each time that they are fixing it, or that they have fixed it (then went back to the room and found out it was still not working), or that they see no problem... this is a terrible way of addressing complaints. Better to admit that it'll take time to fix, or can't be fixed, or whatever, than saying "it's ok now" and letting the customer find out that no, it's not ok. We did manage to use the Wi-Fi from rooms further away, but to do that we had to sit just at the right location, and settle for a very weak signal... no fun, really.

All things considered, this place has the potential to be excellent, but personally I would not pick it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel itself is right on the beach with stunning views. On the face of things the hotel overall looks fantastic. The rooms are also very easy on the eye. However a few things happened throughout the stay that suggests there are a few underlying issues:

- We lost power a few times
- There were problems with the toilets in our area of the hotel which meant we had to move rooms as the contents of the toilet came up through the drains into the shower!
- Service from the bar staff was painfully slow at times

To be fair to the staff, they moved us into a room with private pool and were friendly throughout our stay. The front desk staff were very helpful.

With a little bit of a tweak, this could be an outstanding hotel, however due to the issues, we felt average was about right.

Room Tip: Order drinks before food to ensure you get them before your meal arrives! They seem to want to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chantaramas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantaramas Resort & Spa

Address: 123 Moo 4 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chantaramas Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantaramas Resort is managed by Epikurean Hotels & Lifestyle, located on Koh Pha-Ngan, in the Gulf of Thailand. The resort have 51 rooms on the private beach wider than 100 meters on “Baan Kai” Beach that is within easy reach from Thong Sala Pier, the main pier of the Island, just for 10 minutes and is shorten from Haad Rin Pier only 7 minutes. Getting to Koh Pha-Ngan is very convenient as it takes just 20 minutes by speed boat from Koh Samui. The resort offers transfers service at a charge . Chantaramas Resort & Spa is delicately designed in modern contemporary style according to the local knowledge to add to the Island one of the most beautiful boutique resorts where guests could fully enjoy the local uniqueness of the decoration and total privacy and comfort of individual quarter in a lush setting of natural ambient of flowers and tree, the natural surrounding have been reserved for more than half of the area occupied by the resort to give the guest the feeling of total natural living and the place to get away and enjoy peaceful nature.Chantaramas Resort & Spa resort is also carefully designed to be friendly to wheelchair persons as there will be worry-free for those to enjoy all the resort facilities as other guests. Contact our Reservations for special deals or special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Chantaramas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chantaramas Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.