We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place but not realizing it's full potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chantaramas Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Chantaramas Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   123 Moo 4 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 106 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning place but not realizing it's full potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Firstly I want to say that this hotel has so much potential but that the management are not getting it right. My husband and myself and a friend decided to go luxury for a few days and happened across this hotel online. Unfortunately there were a few things missing once we arrived like the spa and the pool bar that never opened. The rooms were very nice, with the best bed I have slept in in Thailand with the most awesome bath as well. But the restaurant left a lot to be desired. From the staff that could barely string a few sentences together in English to the fact that you would very often not have cutlery till you got up and found it yourself. And the restaurant manager constantly trying to peddle you this or that wine at a promised discount. I don't mind the fact that the island would often lose power for about an hour or so now and then as they have generators for the rooms and you barely notice it. The beach and pool were stunning with a view of koh samui. The main desk staff were helpful in organizing us scooters to rent. Overall it was pleasant enough but not worth the forced service charge we paid with our rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    11
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
7
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timmorim, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here with my family (couple + 4 kids) in August. We took two side-by-side Deluxe rooms with outdoor shower (we chose this over a jacuzzi). Our stay wasn't bad, but we had several disappointments.
- The beach is excellent for exploring (the kids and I found lots of shells and crabs), but (at least while we stayed there) swimming is virtually impossible: the water is no more than knee-high even in high tide, for a distance of at least 200m from the shore.
- The pool bar wasn't active - it was just an empty concrete structure near the pool. The pool itself, on the other hand, is an excellent one, with an area for children as well as a long deep stretch and several nooks with jacuzzi.
- Location: far away from anywhere else (Haad Rin to the east or Baan Tai to the west), the hotel car costs 100 Baht/person each way. A free ride once a day to Haad Rin would've been a great perk, but since there wasn't one, we just went outside and stopped a songthaew each time (for 200-250 baht for the entire family of 6). Nowhere nearby to do laundry, say, or purchase groceries and basic stuff.
- The outdoor shower, which I was really looking forward to, turns out to be (at least in the Deluxe rooms) under the roof of the upper-story rooms, so instead of showering under the open sky, you are standing between four walls and under a roof of concrete, with a small backyard garden for scenery. Not really what I expected.
- On the positive side: reception staff assisted us in finding and ordering tickets for a ferry back to Koh Samui on our departure date, including a (non-free, again) ride to the pier.
- Breakfast is good, and the view from the breakfast terrace is quite beautiful.
- Another plus: we registered for two side-by-side rooms. When we saw one of them had a connecting door to another room, we asked whether we could have the other, connected room instead. We were told that room is in repairs and cannot be used, so left it at that. However, the next day the hotel staff told us they finished the repairs and we could move to the connected room if we wanted to. We were glad for this offer and accepted it...
- However, it turned out not all repairs were finished. The bath faucet in the new room was not working (there were still the two showers though), and the air conditioning - vital in Koh Phangan in August! - was faulty. They eventually fixed the A/C, but not the faucet.
- Which brings me to my biggest complaint - being told things are fixed when they are not. As with the "repairs finished" new room, which wasn't actually fully repaired. Or the non-functioning faucet, which I was told was repaired (after I complained), and then I checked again and the problem was still there. Or, most annoying, the free Wi-Fi (standard in nearly all Thai hotels) which was not working (in our rooms) for our entire stay. We complained several times, and were told each time that they are fixing it, or that they have fixed it (then went back to the room and found out it was still not working), or that they see no problem... this is a terrible way of addressing complaints. Better to admit that it'll take time to fix, or can't be fixed, or whatever, than saying "it's ok now" and letting the customer find out that no, it's not ok. We did manage to use the Wi-Fi from rooms further away, but to do that we had to sit just at the right location, and settle for a very weak signal... no fun, really.

All things considered, this place has the potential to be excellent, but personally I would not pick it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel itself is right on the beach with stunning views. On the face of things the hotel overall looks fantastic. The rooms are also very easy on the eye. However a few things happened throughout the stay that suggests there are a few underlying issues:

- We lost power a few times
- There were problems with the toilets in our area of the hotel which meant we had to move rooms as the contents of the toilet came up through the drains into the shower!
- Service from the bar staff was painfully slow at times

To be fair to the staff, they moved us into a room with private pool and were friendly throughout our stay. The front desk staff were very helpful.

With a little bit of a tweak, this could be an outstanding hotel, however due to the issues, we felt average was about right.

Room Tip: Order drinks before food to ensure you get them before your meal arrives! They seem to want to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My now fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the chantaramas resort! Great service with a smile, great views of the bech, beautiful rooms and the outdoor showers make you feel like your in heaven! My partner proposed At the restaurant, which was personally decorated beautifully by the staff! Overall I honestly could not say one bad thing about the chantaramas resort!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had we of read the reviews beforehand, I really dont think we would have bothered staying here, however on a recommendation from friends we decided to give it a go. The verdict: best hotel we stayed in by far! I honestly cannot understand how people have faulted this place!? The 1* reviews are so far from our own experiences, I wonder whether they have reviewed the right hotel- there seems to be two hotels on the island with the same name! For us, we could not fault the service- everyone we encountered spoke English and were more than helpful- they even organised our transfers and trips for us. Initially we were planning to spend one night in a standard room, however upon arrival we were offered the private pool villa at a heavily discounted price. It was the best decision we made all holiday! We ended spending the rest of our holiday here as we enjoyed it so much! Pure luxury. Yes it was quiet, but that was exactly how we liked it! However it is only a 10 minute drive to the full moon party, for those who like a busier nightlife. The pool villa is probably the best hotel room I have ever stayed in- truly beautiful!! (& extremely well priced!!!) if you stay in one hotel on Phangan make it Chantaramas!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

we got to hotel and it was empty , all the facilities were closed and the staff was not nice and dont speak english.
we had to leave before and they didnt want to refund us the money...
the hotel is realy far away from anywhere

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for her birthday. As soon as we turned up the staff were very friendly and helpful, we were shown to our room which was spacious with tv dvd player fridge and good wardrobe space and a massive bathroom. A bath tub which could easily fit to adults, side by side! Indoor and out door shower. The pool on looks the beach were the resort is. Nice little beach not amazing tho. Pool was lovely. We ate here on our first night the food was brilliant. More than you'd pay in other places but for the quality we were happy to pay it. We ended up eating a few meals here!! We needed to go to the shop and asked if there was anyway we could rent a bike for only 1 hour(we knew it was a tad stupid) but one of the hotel receptionists said we could borrow his free of charge. The staff on the whole were amazing with us so friendly and helped us with what ever we needed. We got speaking to the hotel owner and she was just as amazing and helpful. We booked an extra night! Absolutely loved every moment. They have seen the previous reviews and acted on them. They really are trying hard to make this a great resort! I would recommend this resort to anyone I encounter. What's the point of trip advisor if not for the hotels to learn from the reviews people give. If your thinking of staying here I would deffenatly give this place a chance. You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chantaramas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantaramas Resort & Spa

Address: 123 Moo 4 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chantaramas Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chantaramas Resort is managed by Epikurean Hotels & Lifestyle, located on Koh Pha-Ngan, in the Gulf of Thailand. The resort have 51 rooms on the private beach wider than 100 meters on “Baan Kai” Beach that is within easy reach from Thong Sala Pier, the main pier of the Island, just for 10 minutes and is shorten from Haad Rin Pier only 7 minutes. Getting to Koh Pha-Ngan is very convenient as it takes just 20 minutes by speed boat from Koh Samui. The resort offers transfers service at a charge . Chantaramas Resort & Spa is delicately designed in modern contemporary style according to the local knowledge to add to the Island one of the most beautiful boutique resorts where guests could fully enjoy the local uniqueness of the decoration and total privacy and comfort of individual quarter in a lush setting of natural ambient of flowers and tree, the natural surrounding have been reserved for more than half of the area occupied by the resort to give the guest the feeling of total natural living and the place to get away and enjoy peaceful nature.Chantaramas Resort & Spa resort is also carefully designed to be friendly to wheelchair persons as there will be worry-free for those to enjoy all the resort facilities as other guests. Contact our Reservations for special deals or special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Chantaramas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chantaramas Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.