We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reefers Diving

Reefers Diving
57/1 Moo 8 | Haad Yao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
+66 87 894 0637
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to our 5 Star Padi Dive Resort.Located on Haad Yao Beach Koh Phangan our center has an onsite purpose built training pool,compressor facilities,comfortable private spacious boat and we offer great deals on accommodation with dive courses!Recommended by Lonely Planet as world class diving! Not only will you be having an amazing experience with our highly skilled staff,but you will also leave as a friend for life.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very good facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great diving school - good value day trips and excellent support from all staff members, particularly when I was feeling seasick!.

A shame we didn't see any whale sharks :(

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    9
    4
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great diving and a great set of divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Originally went for a day's diving and spent three days diving speaks for itself. First rate dive masters, kit and atmosphere. Mitch, my dive master, took the fumbling ol' man in tow and from there on in there was no looking back. Everything was excellent including the Skipper's wife's cooking for a great lunch between dives off Sail Rock.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reefers_Diving, Owner at Reefers Diving, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks a lot Spike for your review!!! We are really glad you enjoyed your time here with us and that you felt you were well taken care of. It's all part of the service mate!!

Go easy mate and we hope to dive with you again some day!!

Cheers

Vic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heavy breathing at Sail Rock...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've just spent a week on the island and three of that were spent diving with Reefers.
My first contact was by phone with Vic the owner, his easy and relaxed manner from the start made up my mind right away!
On arrival at the resort we were greeted by Ingrid, one of the DM's and got great advice on where to stay in Haad Yao and about what was going on for the week.
We returned later that afternoon and met with Vic and Mitch and immediately felt like we were in the company of good mates!
Organising the diving was no trouble, we told them what we were after and they were more than happy to accommodate us.
We were sized and fitted for gear that evening by Mitch the head of the dive team and our Dive Master for the week (who deserves a large shiny medal for putting up with me flapping about like a bull in a china shop!)
Mitch took us under his wing and with the aid of a lot of good natured ribbing and wind ups made the whole week the best diving experience I've had!

The whole set up is smooth and professional with but maintains a laid back island attitude that puts you at ease, nothing is a drama and they can pretty much provide whatever dive experience you want, the only things they can't control is the weather and the Whale Sharks!
The gear is in excellent condition, the BCD's look brand new, everything is taken care of by the staff, who set up the gear for you on the boat and do all the essential safety checks prior to the brief. All a diver has to do is a final buddy check then enjoy!

The boat is excellent with plenty of room in the wet area and also on the sun deck. The food served for breakfast and lunch is cooked by the Captains wife was amazing, every time! Just what hungry divers need after a hard day at the office! The captain has been sailing around the gulf for years and knows his business.

On our first day's diving the sea was unusually rough, which caused my wife some seasickness which went away during the dives and made it that I got double curry for lunch!
The visibility improved during the week along with conditions, this made for six brilliant dives with heaps to see every time.

Mitch looked after us and didn't rib us too hard about our heavy breathing, the average for mine and my buddy's dives was about 30 minuets with 50 bar left at the end!! We used it all (well, you're paying for it!)

Sail rock is home to heaps of marine life, we saw huge shoals of Barracuda, flocks of Bat fish and a collection of Groupers just to mention a few! Hungry Triggers and Parrot fish, a mean looking Moray and a Porcupine Puffer fish were stand out encounters.
The Chimney swim through always offers something to look at (ask about the sad tale of the shrimps...)

All in all our group had a wonderful time with Reefers, chilling out at the end of each day with a beer and great yarns from the day. Amongst our gang was a guy doing his Open Water course and a bloke with ear problems who was helped to discover SCUBA by Mitch, these guys really can't do enough to help people!

The only sad part of the whole experience was the Whale Sharks hiding out in the blue, not to worry though, there's always next time!

Thanks to all at the resort, a great team!
Vic and Mitch, thanks a lot fellas, it was awesome.

See you down the track,
Andy

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reefers_Diving, Owner at Reefers Diving, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
WOW Andy thanks so much for one of the best reviews we have ever had!!! It was great having you boys around the centre and on the boat. It was such a laugh myself and Mitch are still laughing now!! We wish you all the very best and if you are ever in this area again it would be our pleasure to take you diving again any time!
Take care mate

Vic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best experience ever !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Reefers is THE best place to go if you want to learn how to dive. Really nice people, great atmosphere, a nice boat and so much more. Everything was explained really good and clear so that you couldn't ever be afraid. I just want everyone to know that if you want a good time diving with experienced and nice people this is the place to go!
Vic and Emily are the best 11/10 ;)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reefers_Diving, Owner at Reefers Diving, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks Margot for possibly one of the nicest reviews we have had!! You guys were both fantastic divers and a pleasure to have around!
I wish you all the very best for the future!

Cheers

Vic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a wonderful day of diving with Reefers, really friendly staff and good equipment. Only downside was a very slow boat, but they promised new engines shortly!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reefers Diving also viewed

Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Reefers Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reefers Diving, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.