We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very nice place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J.B. Hut Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added J.B. Hut Bungalows to your Saves list
J.B. Hut Bungalows
54/2 M.B. Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ko Phangan, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly and very nice place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We are staying at j.b. Hut at the moment. It's the best place to stay we think! The people are so friendly, the food is so good ( and cheap) and it' s clean. On the other side of the street is the beach ( really nice beach) and the bungalows have see view. It's a taxi ride to the full moon beach ( around 200 bath), better to stay not so close to that beach. Haad yao beach and the j.b. bungalow is the best!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I'm not sure where to start as there are so many wonderful things I could say about this accommodation. Bella and her family are so friendly and welcoming and nothing is any trouble. Bella trusts you with food and drink and the accommodation is definitely reasonable.

Myself and my two friends stayed here over the full moon party in November and Bella arranged our transport ( about 40 mins to an hour ) to Haad Rin. It suited us being further away bearing in mind a lot of hostels get burgled during full moon.

The beach is close by and the room we had was a big room with two double beds, bathroom ( with hot water ) air con, and we had a balcony with a hammock. It was lovely to be able to sit in the restaurant and relax and feel so at home and Bella was so friendly to us we were really sad to leave.

I cant recommend this enough if you are planning to stay in Koh Phangan for a while then definitely check this out as you wont be disappointed and tell Bella we said hi!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed here over the full moon period and chose this place mainly because of the stipulations a lot of other hotels have over that time ( staying at least 5 nights, more expensive etc) but boy am I glad I did.

J.B. Huts is in the peaceful Haad Yao area, about a 5 minute walk from the beach (be warned it’s at the top of a STEEP hill so it probably won’t be suitable for people with disabilities and it also looked pretty dangerous for anyone hiring a moped!

We stayed in a triple room which was an individual hut with its own bathroom and balcony. The room had plenty of space, two double beds, a hot shower and a hammock on the balcony.

The owner is really lovely and will do anything she can to help you. The restaurant serves lots of tasty food for breakfast, lunch and dinner and they can help arrange transport to the Full Moon Party for you.

The beach itself is beautiful, the sea is great for swimming in, and there’s plenty of restaurants on the beach for lunch, at night time they even have fire twirlers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the sea, some beautiful sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I can't say enough good things about J,B. Hut. Hands down our favourite stay of our entire trip.
Whenever I visit Koh Phangan this is where I will stay.
Run by Bal & her family, J.B. offer amazing service and what I rate as the best kitchen on the island.
Located on the hill behind Haad Yao, the bungalows are a short (relatively steep) walk/scooter ride from the beach. Lovely ocean views can be enjoyed from each bungalows' private balcony.
Plenty of bars located on the beach, and a far more relaxed atmosphere than Haad Rin (the Full Moon beach).
Rooms at J.B. are always clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.
The kitchen is open every day, early until late, and Bal is always ready to prepare your favourite meal from her home kitchen. Everything I have tried from the menu was superb!
The service is impeccable and whether you need to hire a scooter or book a diving trip Bal will make sure it is organised. Within no time you feel like part of the family.
I recommend J.B. Hut to anyone looking for a relaxing stay with amazing food and the friendliest of service!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I arrived here at night, with no reservation. They only had a bungalow with 2 double beds with a fan, for 550 Baht. However, the next 3 days I had switched to a bungalow with 1 double bed and a fan. It was 350 Baht. Very happy with it! I didn't have hot water, but some bungalows do. However, during mid-day the water sure heats up...
The staff were very nice and very attentive. There is a good restaurant on the premises, and it will stay open until everyone has left (at least 10-11pm). It's a laid-back friendly place, lots of young people around, a guitar is available, free internet in the restaurant, you can just hang-out there and watch movies at night, etc. The beach is close by, just down a steep hill. The walk back up can be tiring! It is right in the town of Haad Lao.
The staff are great, and prices in the restaurant very reasonable. Beer and fruit shakes always available !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J.B. Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.B. Hut Bungalows

Address: 54/2 M.B. Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your J.B. Hut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.B. Hut Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.