We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lotus Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Lotus Resort to your Saves list
Blue Lotus Resort
29 / 3 Ban Kai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 113 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great staff, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were staying here during the full moon period in august 2012 and stayed here for 6 nights. The bungalow is very, very basic. I think you could get better bungalows for the same price on the island (we had some better for the same price around Thailand). The bed was hard but the room was spacious. The bungalow is okay if you only need it to sleep in it. We enjoyed our time at Blue Lotus Resort. Especially Pong is very welcoming. The restaurant has a nice menu with a couple of good Mexican dishes.

Pong offers scooters for a good price, we hired one, and we found out that this was the best scooter we hired with good maintenance! So we felt pretty safe on it. The location of Blue Lotus is very convenient on the island. With scooter it is a 10 minute ride to Haad Rin and also a 10 minute ride to Thongsala. The 7-11 is at +/- 2 km. During the full moon Pong offered us cheap rides (cheaper then shongtaew/taxi) to the party. Also a big plus: at Blue Lotus it is quiet with no noise of the parties at Haad Rin.

When we left Blue Lotus Pong offered us a free ride to the pier! High service! I would highly recommend this place (also when there is no full moon because of the location).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
29
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here during the half moon, went of a basic sea view fan room 400bhat a night, and have to say was well worth the money, we were the only ones staying on our first night and were treated like royalty it was like having out own private beach, the owner and his wife are really welcoming and willing to take u anywhere for a small fee, beach is lovely but it's abit out of the way for most things so taxi or moped is a must! remember this is a budget hotel so you get what you pay for, but it was clean and comfortable. And the food was amazing! You need to try the chicken baguette its huge and so cheap! Really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Pong and his staff are fantastic. They were so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The food is great value and very tasty! I would recommend booking one of the rooms with AC when the weather is very hot.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

the best place in koh phangan!
i went with 7 of my friends and we had an absolute blast at blue lotus.
Pong, his family and staff were wonderful and caring people with the most amazing food menu on the island!
they have a range of all sorts of foods and put a lot of effort into making sure everyone was always happy with the service.
It was about a 10 minute drive from Haad Rin where the full moon party is and was a perfect distance away from all the noise if you wanted a quiet night in.
Pong also has scooters you can hire for 24 hours.
It was an amazing place with amazing people and I highly reccommend blue lotus. It was one of the highlights of our 5 week adventure!
Thanks Pong, Family & Friends

Elizabeth

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a perfect place to relax, play with the dogs and do nothing. It is right at the beach although there isn't much water in June, when we were there.
The service and Mexican food are great, the owner is a really nice guy. We were in a room across the restaurant and got WIFI in the room.
We would come back and recommend it for sure!

Pamela
www.theweegs.com

Room Tip: Get the room with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Me and a friend stayed here whilst travelling over thailand on a 2 week trip. when we got to the resort we were both a bit apprehensive as it is very basic. but in fact just what we needed and for the price we paid, couldnt complain!
it is a 10min journey into haad rin where the full moon party was held but only cost 100baht (about £2) sometimes less into town if you bartered with the driver!!
Pong and his staff were so welcoming, and they really made you feel like part of the family. with a great selection of food from all corners of the earth, they were always happy to cook you up whatever you wanted anytime of the day.
On our last day in koh phangan, Pong the owner even gave us a lift to the ferry port!
All in all very basic accomodation.. but didnt spend too long in the room as the beach was literally on our doorstep... most days we were the only people on the beach! heaven!!!
would highly reccomend for a peaceful getaway!!

Room Tip: Would suggest an aircon room as it is very hot with a fan room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

if you have a walk around the beach you can see how well chosen this spot is. its right next to a resort that costs almost 10 times as much. Pong is a great guy who really treats his guests well. i was here for full moon and i think since it is a bit smaller maybe it is better for a group of friends, but he even offered us a ride to the parties in his truck and the food was delicious! best mexican food on the island! lol

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
4.7 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#1 of 90 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
7.9 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#3 of 113 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
8.2 mi away
Benjamin's Hut
Benjamin's Hut
#8 of 113 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan
Dragon Hut Resort Koh Phangan
#12 of 113 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
4.1 mi away
Green Peace Bungalows
Green Peace Bungalows
#13 of 113 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#16 of 113 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lotus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lotus Resort

Address: 29 / 3 Ban Kai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Lotus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lotus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.