We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and cozy atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Hill Resort

Golden Hill Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Hill Resort to your Saves list
Golden Hill Resort
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   54/4 Moo 4, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Chernobyl
1 review
“Great and cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great and cozy atmosphere, the staff was very friendly & couldn't do enough for you. Amazing view from the deck on mountain and the sea.
Locates quite far from the beach, but taking into account that everyone move by bike it’s not a problem.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Koh -Phangan and when I return will definitely be staying there again. All in all, a great, clean, relaxing place to stay in Koh-Phangan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived yesterday and the staff were great, cold water on arrival (which was much needed), staff helped carry bags to the room which was nice, rooms are very good, comfy clean bed, AC in room is wonderful escape from the heat, cupboard/wardrobe to store clothes is good. The food is very good, eating area and swimming pool has a breathtaking view of the ocean. Very quiet and relaxing area away from traffic. Hotel offeres very good deals for taxi and tours so you can save a lot of money for day trips and full moon party. They also rent out scooters and suggest the best routes around the island. Overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted with smiles and a helpful hand, we were taken to a lovely little bungalow, clean and spacious and the pool was perfect, the view was amazing and altogether our experience was amazing!
Would recommend to anyone, however would probably need to rent a moped which you can do from the hotel for a reasonable price unless you can afford to take taxis everywhere!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted like family, the room was great apart from the sneaky ants in the bathroom. There was aircon and a fan, it was clean and spacious. No fridge or safe though. The view from reception and the pool was amazing. The bike rental was easy and safe. Laundry service was good. We were here over full moon too and they provided taxi service to hadrin beach. The food was great also . the pool was nice and clean. Would recommend getting a bike to get around the island but if you fancy walking then it's not too tong sala.

9/10
Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had read the reviews before booking this hotel and knew about the hill some people had to walk up upon arriving. Before getting on the tuk tuk I informed the driver to take us up the hill and he said yes Yes but was very angry when he just dropped us down the hill. Unfortunately we had to walk all the way up with our luggages just to go back down again for the room after 5 minutes.
We then rented a bike to travel around the island so the hill was not a problem from that moment on 

Our room was basically clean apart from some ants, lucky me I used to find dead ants on my pillow before going to sleep. I am not an insect lover but this did not bother me that much, I was just happy I did not find any roaches being that the island is infested with a lot of different creepy crawlers.

The staff are really friendly and polite.

If you re looking for accommodation for the fullmoon party this hotel is ideal. We where there for new years eve and the hotel had transport from the hotel to the party every half hour or so. It’s only around 20 mins drive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Where do I begin? We stayed at Golden Hill for 5 nights in late July/early August around the Full Moon Party. The resort was very quiet when we arrived but filled up closer to the Full Moon Party. The giant hill from the main road is a trek but the staff do greet you with a cold bottle of water. We stayed in a bungalow and the accommodation was great (only 1 plug though and no fridge so keep that in mind).

Fantastic view great pool and thê onsite restaurant makes a wide variety of tasty food (try the spring rolls - great value for money and some of the best we had in three weeks in Thailand!). Although not the best location for night life it's a great place to enjoy some rest and relaxation before/after the Full Moon Party.

Treacherous 'walk' to the beach down an unmaintained path - wear shoes or don't bother (the pool was fantastic anyway) - overall a fantastic place that we would gladly go back to in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in early March and all my initial doubts were washed away when I saw the amazing view!

Myself and some friends had booked to stay here as it was the only place we could find at a reasonable price around the time of the FMP. It was 30 mins from Haad Rin but it was cheap and looked okay.

We got a taxi from the harbour which took 10 minutes to the bottom of this massive hill - after trekking to the top and almost dying we were welcomed by the most amazing views and with a ice cold bottle of water from the wonderful staff.

There is a nice pool and our room P2 was perfect at £11 a night you cannot complain.

Just make sure you order your food as soon as you start to feel hungry as they take a while to bring it out!!

Room Tip: Get the deluxe suite P1 / P2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Hill Resort

Address: 54/4 Moo 4, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Golden Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.