We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Charm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Charm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   101/2 Moo 1 | Baan Tai Rd, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 112 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Place is run by a Swedish family who are so nice and helpful, makes you feel at home. We had the cheapest option, a bungalow just by the beach, no AC and only cold water, quite run down but the surroundings make up for it. They clean room when you ask them to. Reception staff always helps with excursions, motor bike rentals, taxi etc. Lovely beach bar with attentive and professional staff. Good food and cocktails. Great location 20 min walk to Tong Sala with the great evening food market, and a quiet area a little bit off the main road. On the main road you find lots os bars and restaurants and a great big supermarket, Big C. 20 min taxi to Haad Rin or any of the jungle parties. Huge beach front. Would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: The cheapest bungalows are closest to the beach, you can hear the waves in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    12
    13
    9
See reviews for
12
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My partner and myslef stayed at the Charm Beach Resort over Christmas and we had a bad experience with the staff. On the day we arrived, we asked questions about their cancellation policies. The receptionist became very aggressive and threatened to call the police.
Also we had booked a beach front bungalow. The Swedish owner took us to a bungalow in the middle of the garden. When we objected it was a garden view bungalow and not a seeview one, he answered, pointed at a piece of blue behind the trees: "we don't have garden view bungalows, only seeviews, look!". After we asked him to check our booking again, he came back apologising and took us to our "seaview" bungalow. And that was only the first day! The staff was unfriendly, the owners dishonest (they told us it was not possible to cancel our booking because the resort was fully booked since June. False as we had booked only one month before and during our stay, half of the resort was empty). Also, the bungalows were way to expensive for what it was. Not systematic cleaning of the bungalows. You even have to go to the reception to ask for toilet paper. We even had to eat our breakfast with the owners' kids watching a loud movie in the background. When we asked the receptionist if he could lower the volume, he simply answered no.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a great time here. We are a family of three, our daughter is about two years old. The beach is great, a big shop is close (Big C with Dunkin Donuts, Mmm..), their bar is nice with good music. Restaurant is ok, althought we preferred the one next to the resort wich offers a better vegetarian selection. We also got a scooter with reasonable price. The staff was super helpfull!

The only minus was water quality and cleanliness of the bathroom. The water really smelled bad, didn't want to spend any extra moments in there. They really should fix this somehow.. We also ordered a taxi from the reception for the morning we were leaving for the pier, but it didn't show up in time (never?)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great resort,awesome views,no hassles,stayed ten days beach front bungalow with wife,very close to everything,cheap cab ride to town or nice walk, Friday night beach BBQ very nice,nice beach bar,awesome margaritas,resort staff very nice,owners never bother guests and are helpful with any questions,had friend hang out every day and was always welcomed,good food at resort,lots of restaurants near by for variety,had to leave because never booked longer and others had pre booked it,rooms along pool very nice but we wanted beach front for view,will be back in Thailand for 6weeks next year and will make charm beach resort another visit for 3 weeks ,,great place to enjoy , Steve and Anna,and there hammock swinging friend terry

Room Tip: All rooms had nice views,we loved beach front,great value ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were a group of 7 guys doing a bit of travelling around Thailand, coming to phangan for one reason - full moon party.
We paid I think £3 a night for the basic package,you get what you pay for - an old fan as AC, an OK bed, OK shower and a self flush toilet.
But every hut gets a hammock outside overlooking the sea which is beautiful.
You can pay more to get a nicer bit of accommodation but we made the decision to spend more on beer than comfort. We feel we got value for money!

The restaurant is good. Decent value and the food is good, it might take a while to get cooked but who cares, the view is brilliant.

The staff are really friendly and are happy to chat and give suggestions about what to do. I think they were Scandinavians living their paradise. We arrived and they were throwing a bbq for everyone and helping everyone get to a jungle party which was a really good way to warm up for the next night...

Rooms didn't get cleaned but you get a broom to get rid of the sand and the towels dry pretty much instantly in Thailand so we weren't bothered by this at all.
The pool is nice, refreshingly cold. However the sea just doesn't get deep for ages and it's really warm and clear, great place to recover from the FMP.
All in all, a great place to spend some time in Phangan, really good value and if you want to spend more you can live in more luxurious, air conditioned surroundings as couples and families probably should.
Don't let us put you off if you think you're going to be surrounded by party animals. They last til sunrise so you won't get woken up at anything other than a convenient time if at all...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

At 500 Bt per night the bungalow was perfect. Getting off the boat the tout on the wharf found us this place got us the 100 Bt taxi and all in the rain. Right on the beach firm beds (normal in Thai). The pool was wonderful for a swim and just a 3 min walk to bars, dining and supermarket. We found the desk very helpful even providing me with a phone charge after my genuine apple charger died. We will definitely be back next time we are in town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tegelen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was here with my wife in August, who gave her opinion while we still were in Thailand
The sad thing it is just a beautiful spot, what whit a little bit more enthusiasm you can make something great.
It is characteristic that the manager replies the way he does: We were a day early but did not request for that day the tree hut as he says, we were supposed to get a hut at the beach, we were told to get a special price for the taxi (the driver lives next to the hotel) the day after we asked if we did understand it wrong, that was not the case, we would get the money back, still waiting for that.
Nobody told us about running the water for 15 minutes, this is just made up
Just a shame
To end positive the girls from the kitchen are great and serve good food

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Manager at Charm Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello

I remember you and your wife (who gave us another bad review a couple of weeks back). We really sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations, and we hope that we will get the chance to impress you with our improvements next time you visit the island.

You are referring to a conversation with them manager and since you and me never had that conversation i'm a bit curious to whom you spoke?

Regarding the Tree House we only have one room like this, and if you arrive one day early we can't really provide you with that room since you didn't book it for that date.

As we tend to tell all our guests and inform on the internet, we only had this resort for about 9 month when you stayed here. We have done a tremendously amount of work. Even after half a year the resort looks completely different and we have set our aims high to improve even more. But everything must be one step at a time.

How people who runs business outside of our resort we can't be accounted for. The taxi driver is not employed by the resort, neither can we supervise what's going around outside the resort. Everybody needs to use their common sense and act out of respect and understanding.

About the water we informed all guest that we will be upgrading the water supply system during the day and there would be in interruption of water for some time. Then we asked all guests to leave their taps on to flush the new system. We are constantly trying to upgrade and improve, and the new water system was part of that plan. I guess that is what you were requested in your criticism?

We are truly happy that you liked the food and that you where enjoying your visits to the local restaurants that we recommended to you. Hopefully you will come back one day to see the changes this place is going through. Thank you for your feedback and we have taken this information and will use it for some future ideas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Beach Resort

Address: 101/2 Moo 1 | Baan Tai Rd, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm Beach Resort is a classic thai resort with that genuine feeling and a well known name on the island. The resort has been around in one shape or another for almost thirty years. During this time the bungalows and the other building has changed, but the wonderful beach has stayed the same. Today is a perfect mix of tradition and modernity, featuring AC, Wifi and swimming pool. Today the resort holds about 30 bungalows and a restaurant in the main building. One of the bungalows is set up in one of the trees, with an own balcony where you can enjoy the sunset. It also features one of the widest beach strips for one resort on the whole island. This is the place for beach activities and evening happenings. BBQ, music and cocktails are offered several nights in the week. For the young ones there's a playground in the shade, and even movie time on the beach certain nights. We hope you come and visit us and this marvelous place on one of Thailands most spectacular island, with extraordinary nature. Be sure to ask for the special day trips that are offered in the jungle, at the sea or in the mountain. There's much more to this island, beside the full moon party.From May 1st 2014 the resort has changed ownership and are now managed by a Swedish owned company. The resort is now undertaking a facelift and modernization by the new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Charm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.