We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Charm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Charm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   101/2 Moo 1 | Baan Tai Rd, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 112 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Charm Beach for about a week, its a pity we could not stay any longer because of our visa. Anyway, the English guy working there was amazing. Whenever we needed any help we knew we should ask him instead since he would do anything for us, unlike the Thai usually do. He was a great help and friend throughout the stay constantly and patiently advising us on all products and in situations. despite previous comments (which I find riduclous in terms of the British manager, who is not an owner) our stay was extremely good, great customer service, perfect location and awesome set up!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    12
    13
    9
See reviews for
12
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Charm Beach is in a pretty great location, right on the beach - which while not great for swimming, is still nice - and a short walk from plenty of restaurants, night life and a Muay Thai gym (that does classes!). There's a good sized pool for swimming, and the Thai staff were also lovely and welcoming.

That's about where the positives end! The British owner and his sarcasm and idiocy put a damper on the rest of our stay there. We were there for a good several nights, and right when he arrived he set about weaseling us out of the room we'd originally booked into one of the bungalows, claiming that they were bigger, cleaner, etc. and showed us both the rooms.

We accepted the bungalow in the end because it had a fridge and we didn't want to have to eat out all the time, but he was INCREDIBLY smug and condescending about it. He seemed to act like we were personally attacking him every time we came to the front desk to ask a question or to get more toilet paper - they would only give us one roll at a time, and those disappeared quickly with four girls sharing a toilet, and the room was not once cleaned during our week or so long stay.

Sleep quality was pretty average because of the place's proximity to other nightlife; one night there was a music festival or something going on a stone's throw away and we had to rely on earplugs to get enough rest before the Full Moon party the following night. Of course, we expected it to be noisy, because Phangan is a really lively place!

We had to give a sizable deposit, and the bloke reassured us that we would get it back at the end of our stay not matter what time we left - there would always be someone at the desk. Guess what? No one at the desk at 7am, despite us waiting around, shouting and hunting around the grounds with at least one or two other groups of guests who were planning to catch the same boat out as us. Basically, he conned us and several other guests out of their deposits, and his general behaviour throughout our stay led us to suspect that it was a rather common occurrence.

Had we not encountered this guy, I would've been happy to rate Charm Beach 4 out of 5 and give better ratings for service, but he really took the p***.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jizan, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have been going to Charm Beach Resort for the past 4 years and I love it. The English guy who is the manager is a great guy and I don't understand the negative feedback on here about him. Yea, he might not slap on the "Thai smile" like you are use to but he is helpful and friendly The resort is great. It is right on the beach, has a nice pool, and it is quiet at night. The location is perfect as it is close to the "real shops" not the overpriced places you see in Had Rin. Also, many of the resorts and bungalows cater to the all night parties and drunk idiots screaming and carrying on all night. I choose Charm Beach again and again because it is clean, quiet, and located very conveniently to the night life on the island. I have been a teacher on the mainland and have come to Koh Phangan well over 100 times. Charm Beach is the place to be for me. Tell them you read Teacher Steve's review on Trip Advisor and give them a shot. They also have a really cool bungalow in a tree the over looks the sea and you can see Koh Samui. It has a nice balcony that you and a few friends can sit on and enjoy the evening. It is also a resort that gives you privacy. Bungalows are not stacked on top of each other and they are not rickety shacks. All and all, I give Charm Beach ten points out of 10. Also, try the Cordon Blue, it is awesome. The Thai family and the English chap that will ensure your trip to Koh Phangan is EVERYTHING you want it to be. If only other resorts knew about taking care of their customers like Charm Beach Resort.

Room Tip: I go for the cheap bungalows because I am a poor teacher. I have found bungalows for 100 baht less a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend has not long left the charm resort and we can say we throughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed a few days either side of full moon and pretty much had the place to ourselves for the first few nights. When booking I had some problems as my card wasn't accepted by the system that they use here but I was able to go to a bank on koh Samui and pay that way. We were greeted off the ferry with a sign with my name on and driven to the resort. The first impressions were a bit unnerving when you drive off the road as the sign in old and you cross a dubious looking stream of water. But try not to judge a book by its cover. We were in the cheapest of all the bungalows and it was the closest of all of them to the beach. The view out of our window and from our patio(particularly at high tide) was beautiful. We stayed for seven nights but paid for six, so worked at at about 566 baht between the two of us. The beach isn't ideal for swimming as it is based on a reef, but the resort pool was a saving grace. It was cleaned and tested every morning we were here. The bungalow itself was basic, and is crying out for a bit of paint. The wet room was clean, if not dated. Bedding was similar but it was so hot we slept on top of the sheets anyway. Two fans in the room which served purpose. The room didn't get cleaned once in our seven days, in fact we emptied our own bins, but I think this is the norm from our experiences in Thailand, you need to ask. The food was good and drinks were reasonable. The Thai owner even gave us a cool box for the night with ice in to keep our drinks cold after she had gone to bed. There are lots of outdoor areas to sit, and they all have wifi signal. Minimal sunbeds round the pool, but this was never a problem. A ten minute walk to thongsala town which has a great and cheap food market. 15 min taxi to had rin for full moon, there is a decent beach there too. Going rate for scooters is 150baht a day. We rented some and went to total wipeout which was great.
In summary a nice resort run by a lovely Thai family and a grumpy English man. It served purpose for us in being cheap and close enough to full moon without being noisy.

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 is the closest cheap one to the sea. You cross the sand to get to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iida-shi, Nagano, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We booked New Years accommodation for a very reasonable price, and ended up staying two nights longer than we'd planned. A nice place right on the beach, not too far from town (a bit of a walk but fine if you plan on hiring bikes). About a 20min taxi drive from the full moon party, but one of the guys who worked at the resort was really nice and drove us to where we needed to go numerous times! Staff were very helpful and the beachside restaurant was awesome.
The only downside was that the water gets shut off overnight, quite a pain if you get home in the early hours of the morning and want a shower!
Also, beware of the monkey tied to the tree! He has as a fondness for shiny objects, and remarkably fast reflexes!
A good place to stay though, relaxing, quaint and affordable.

Room Tip: We got a room with a/c, well worth it apparently, some friends had a fan-only room which they regret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

my son and myself went here for his 21st birthday and the people here really gave him one to remember.it was fantastic,
the boss (no.1 cook) prepared a special dinner for him (complete with candles) which was very much appreciated.thai green curry especially nice.
the poolside room we had was very comfortable ,just right for relaxing in the afternoon and within hailing distance of the spacious dining area.It was serviced whenever we asked,the staff being attentive without being in your way.
for me the location was just right,on the beach (the whole of the area was swept every morning)and five minutes from a main rd bar where we could sit at a pavement table to watch the world go by,or a 10/15 minute walk to town that was worth wandering about in.if asked they,ll arrange for hired motorbikes to be delivered.The pool (also cleaned every morning) was really welcome after a day out
i liked best , the fresh home cooked food,the beach,the food,the staff, the food and the general atmosphere,,,oh and the food.
i disliked,,,,nothing
maybe the cockeral at 6 in the morning,so get a room at the beach end of the resort,and the monkey,,who didn,t speak english

Room Tip: at the beach end of the resort,better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

had booke and paid for this resort over full moon for 5 days.. we arrived quite late from koh tao cos the ferry was delayed ! when we got to reception the english guy there seemed bemused, did not have a booking confirmation of any sort, hardly made any effort to greet us and referred to it all as 'a hassle' did not even know what a family deluxe room was! for the duration of our stay he was moody and unapproachable.. dont really quite know what he is doing there to be honest as he doesnt seem very happy to deal with foreigners which is a real shame cos the thai family are absolutley lovely ! couldnt be any nicer and more hospitable! the beach was beautiful, the pool was not how it looked on the pics tho, bit murky! they also have a monkey tied up to a tree there ALL day which just looks bored and couldnt help but feel sorry for it... the rooms however were really nice, comfy beds, clean, spacious with fridge! overpriced tho for what they were.. :-) 2000baht a nite 5 nites AFTER full moon was over.. so we moved somwhere else more affordable.

Room Tip: rooms by pool are quiet and have good views to the sea and close to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Beach Resort

Address: 101/2 Moo 1 | Baan Tai Rd, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm Beach Resort is a classic thai resort with that genuine feeling and a well known name on the island. The resort has been around in one shape or another for almost thirty years. During this time the bungalows and the other building has changed, but the wonderful beach has stayed the same. Today is a perfect mix of tradition and modernity, featuring AC, Wifi and swimming pool. Today the resort holds about 30 bungalows and a restaurant in the main building. One of the bungalows is set up in one of the trees, with an own balcony where you can enjoy the sunset. It also features one of the widest beach strips for one resort on the whole island. This is the place for beach activities and evening happenings. BBQ, music and cocktails are offered several nights in the week. For the young ones there's a playground in the shade, and even movie time on the beach certain nights. We hope you come and visit us and this marvelous place on one of Thailands most spectacular island, with extraordinary nature. Be sure to ask for the special day trips that are offered in the jungle, at the sea or in the mountain. There's much more to this island, beside the full moon party.From May 1st 2014 the resort has changed ownership and are now managed by a Swedish owned company. The resort is now undertaking a facelift and modernization by the new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Charm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.