We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite place, great view from the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Resort

Save Saved
You added Lucky Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lucky Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   59/4 Moo. 8 | Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 104 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quite place, great view from the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights at the lucky resort. Unfortunalty the place has no real beach. But Haad Salad beach is nearby, this is a very nice beach.
It is a very nice place to relax. The restaurant/bar has a beautifull view over the bay.
When staying at the lucky resort, it is best to have a scooter, so one can go easily to the beach (or other places).
The 4 person rooms are a bit small to stay with four persons. Also there are not blankets on the beds; instead, you have to use a large towel. A bit strange, but not a real issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for tyre nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a room right beside the room. It was small and basic but that suited us just fine. The only problem was that there were holes in the mosquito net but we patched them up with tape.
It's not on the beach but there is an excellent pool with lounge chairs. You can also swim and snorkel around the rocks.
The restaurant is good and fairly priced. It also has a great view of the sunset.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I came to this hostel as there was not much availability throughout the island, but man was I impressed. Its very thailand style simple but super relaxed, friendly staff, nice pool, more than adequate accommodation for the cheap price and it was set in a quiet part of the party island which was also nice.
i have told many other travelers about this little place and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTPOORT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

this is a nice, family run resort. it's not about luxury, but has a snug atmosphere, and own mr pimol offers just enough service to keep his guests happy. no less, no more. get your own drinks from the fridge, use the computer, borrow the snorkel gear: nothing is a problem. the bungalows are clean, little problems were fixed immediately. the fred-flintstone hut is quite original! there is no beach, but the haad salad beach is a 5 min walk. or the owner is happy to take you to his brother's resort at haad yao, which has a beach as wel as a cold swimming pool. lucky's swimming pool was not really cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Lucky Resort because when I got off the boat in Koh Phangan a tout offered me a very good deal (300B/night with free transport there). I was excited to see the west coast as I had heard it was very peaceful and beautiful, but was disappointed that Lucky Resort did not have a beach. They have a nice pool but with no cushions on the hard wooden loungers. It is a very isolated location, not near anything else so is basically your only choice for food/drinks which are of course at hotel restaurant prices. The meal I had there was decent but service was lacking. I moved on the next day to Baan Tai beach which was closer to what I was looking for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Landed on the pier from koh Tao and got handed a flyer for Lucky Resort and 300 baht rooms, wasn't expecting too much for the price but was pleasantly surprised! Had a wooden hut on the hill with a double bed and mozzie net with a fan. The resort is really peaceful and most of the time all you can hear is the sea. The resort has a really nice pool overlooking the vast gardens. It is tucked away so you will either need to get a bike or they run a taxi from the resort every day for 100baht.

I stayed in their lowest price hut but they had some pretty nice other accomodation there, pretty sure you will find something based on whatever budget you have :-)

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

First of all, I want to clarify that this place is in the north of the island and quite issolated. For us that was the point and what we wanted.
Most of the people come to Phangan for the Full Moon, Half Moon and all the daily parties around. It's a pitty if you loose the real island. Nice beaches and nice places to visit. For us the north was the best.

The place is AMAZING. Just in front of a small beach but not for swimming. Our bungalow had a balcony with sea views and we slept with the wonderful waves sound ;)
Also you can relax at the swimming pool watching the sea just in front of you.

Staff and people are really nice. Our advice is to rent a motorbike there (150 B) and ride over the island.

Food is also very good. Breakfasts are amazing.

They had 2 lovely dogs and they slept in our balcony ;)

For sure we'll come back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lucky Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Resort

Address: 59/4 Moo. 8 | Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Lucky Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.