We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Resort

Save Saved
You added Lucky Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lucky Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   59/4 Moo. 8 | Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 104 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Birmingham UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Landed on the pier from koh Tao and got handed a flyer for Lucky Resort and 300 baht rooms, wasn't expecting too much for the price but was pleasantly surprised! Had a wooden hut on the hill with a double bed and mozzie net with a fan. The resort is really peaceful and most of the time all you can hear is the sea. The resort has a really nice pool overlooking the vast gardens. It is tucked away so you will either need to get a bike or they run a taxi from the resort every day for 100baht.

I stayed in their lowest price hut but they had some pretty nice other accomodation there, pretty sure you will find something based on whatever budget you have :-)

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

First of all, I want to clarify that this place is in the north of the island and quite issolated. For us that was the point and what we wanted.
Most of the people come to Phangan for the Full Moon, Half Moon and all the daily parties around. It's a pitty if you loose the real island. Nice beaches and nice places to visit. For us the north was the best.

The place is AMAZING. Just in front of a small beach but not for swimming. Our bungalow had a balcony with sea views and we slept with the wonderful waves sound ;)
Also you can relax at the swimming pool watching the sea just in front of you.

Staff and people are really nice. Our advice is to rent a motorbike there (150 B) and ride over the island.

Food is also very good. Breakfasts are amazing.

They had 2 lovely dogs and they slept in our balcony ;)

For sure we'll come back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

+ friendly staff
+ comfortable rooms right near the water
+ good food at the restaurant
+ snorkel gear free to use

-a bit far from restaurants and bars, you will definitely need to know your way around a moped
- pool could use a cleaning

Very happy with our stay and would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

By mistake we happened to spend 1 night in January, 2012 in Lucky resort.
1. All what they show you on the picture is not true - you don t find sandy beach and nice surrounding.
2. The swimming pool is dirty, that is why they say as an advantage - you can use it at night - that is the only time when you don t see how dirty it is.
3. There are no window in bungalows and it is scary inside.
4. There is nothing around - closest village may be in 2 km
5. After we decided to leave the manager became very rude and offending. He was screaming on us. We were about to call the police. He refused to call us a taxi and said us to go to search on the highway, which is 15 min walking up hill.

Lucky resort almost ruined our holidays, hopefully we did not trust the manager, who said the rest of the island is very bad, and moved away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is a lovely place, by far the best I stayed in in Thailand. The fellow canvassed at the pier, and the resort lived up to everything he said. When you get there and realise it is quite a way from other shops and bars etc, I was worried prices might be hiked etc - they aren't , everything is very reasonable, and the food very good. When you get the lay of the land, you realise there is a nice deserted beach 100 metres along the coast, accessed by a bridge, and Hat Salad (amazing beach) and Hat Yao are about 15 minutes walk (though you have to be quite fit!!) The swimming pool (which I swam in at 1am) was lovely, and rarely more than three or four couples in it. It really filled up for the full moon party, and people who went did so in taxis.
There is a review on here about a green pool, dirty rooms and an owner who tried to stab them - this must be a pi** take - NOTHING could be further from the truth, they were so nice and helpful, there is NO way I could imagine them behaving like this in a milliuon years!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I booked a room for 5 nights. After checking in, the room was filthy, there was water all over the bathroom, the bed only had a stained fitted sheet, 2 pillows and nothing else Overall the room was in a disgusting state. The beautiful pictures on the website are false! The pool was completely green and in a terrible state. The next day I told the manager I was unhappy and would like to check out. He got very angry when I did not want to pay for the full booking. He swore at me and my sister and then ran into the kitchen, got a knife and attacked me and my brother in law. His staff had to hold him back. After that he got hold of a bottle, threatened to break it and stab my brother in law with this broken bottle. Again he had to be restrained by his staff! After this episode we payed for 2 nights and then they also refused to call us a taxi to leave.... Do not ever stay at this resort, you will have a horrible experience!!!

Room Tip: Do not ever book at this resort!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

perfect place for relaxation ! the staff are very friendly and chilled out.The resort is in a great location near haad yao and the beach bungalows are very reasonably priced starting at about 500 baht ! the beach isn't the best but you can rent a motorbike for 200 baht a day and there are some nice beaches nearby.the food is good and you dont pay straight away you are given a book to write in what you have eaten or drank and then you pay at the end of your stay which is very charming.im just watching the sun going down as i write this in the restaurant which is perfect ! if you book in advance and call the resort when you get to koh phangan they will pick you up and take you to the resort for free and they also provide a taxi service to the full moon party for 200 baht per person.so if you want very chilled out and quiet but amenities close by then lucky is perfect ! paradise !

Room Tip: we paid 900 baht for a very nice large bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lucky Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Resort

Address: 59/4 Moo. 8 | Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Lucky Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.