We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, noisy and not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beck's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beck's Resort to your Saves list
Beck's Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   152/1 Nai Wok Bay, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Expensive, noisy and not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked here to stay over Christmas as our options were low. Their cheapest room (fan room) was one of our more expensive rooms in SEAsia. Because it was a fan room, it didn't have proper windows and had mesh running along to tops of the walls. In returning to our room the first night we noticed two of the biggest spiders I have ever seen, sitting behind the mesh just sitting there. We had a terrible nights sleep as we could hear every noisy outside and our neighbours were shouting till 5am. The next morning we upgraded to an aircon room which was fine for the night. The next night, after being woken up by the sound of someone vomiting in the restaurant, they then tried to break into our room! We could hear these two guys just sat on our porch and then they started banging on the door and turning the handle! On the last night we had a cockroach in our room. My advice is if you stay here, do not go for a fan room. When we checked out, another couple were asking about an upgrade because they were unhappy. The bathrooms in both rooms we had were disgusting.

The beach is nice, but the beach bar doesn't open till mid afternoon and they keep the cushions locked up till then. They also insist on blurting our really loud music... Not really relaxing at all. The food is ok, chips were discussing.

The only helpful member of staff was the girl on reception. All the others seemed a bit moody and intimidating.
In the evening, most of the bar staff on the beach just sit around getting stoned.

Yes there is a bird that can speak... This is one of the only positives about this place.

Reviews I have read before have said how peaceful it was at this place and how it was far away from Hadd Rin. I totally disagree, nearly everyone staying there were out at the full moon parties and coming back late and making noise.

If staying on this island, save your money, book early and find somewhere cheaper and much better. One evening we took a tuktuk to Hadd Salad. It had more going on (more bars and restaurants) a better beach and seemed much more chilled out . For the price we paid for a aircon room here I sure we could of got something there for not much more money but quality if only we had booked further ahead.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
2
36
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Cant understand why there are bad reviews for this place.

Becks resort has a bird that can speak! Its in a big cage near the lobby and its always greeting guests in thai and English (: It looks well looked after happy.

Theres also an otter that wonders around - so cute! Doesn't bother the guests at all. In fact its a massive photo opportunity. Ive only seen them in Zoos.

The grounds of Becks is really natural and compliments the scenery perfectly. There are lots of trees, hanging orchids, dangliny plants, coconut trees etc. The sunset here is SO mesmerising.

The rooms are exactly what you need. Powerful water pressure in the shower ( have stayed at other places on the islands witg trickling shower heads). Comfortable beds that are made up everyday. Fresh white towels too. We also got our water replenished everyday (2 small bottles).

The beach bar provides sarongs for guests instead of towels. It doesnt pick up as much sand as towels do. The beach bar itself has 3 big roubd wooden raised platforms - perfect for suntanning without getting sand in my bum. Also got a masseuse to come by and we got massages on the beach deck under the coconut trees, right next to the shore. So relaxing.

Prices for food are pretty standard considering the quality. Best padthai I've had here. Street food in phangan isnt great. So I'd rather pay a bit more to know im getting good food.

The resort is located far from HadRin which is GREAT because its far less busy and safer for us to ride our bikes on the road etc. We went to the full moon party this month and when we came back it wasnt noisy at all. On the contrary we felt like we had the place to ourselves.

The kayaks are worth going for. Only 50bhat pp per hour (100bhat per kayak per hour). In Penang(Malaysia) we pay 120bhat PER PERSON per hour for kayaks half as good as the ones at Beck's so its really worth it. Also its the only place on this veach stretch that has kayaks and you can kayak to the island opposite Beck's. Bout 15-20mins each way.

Happy hour drinks at Beck's are much cheaper compared to outside. 7 bottles of singha/chang for 400bhat!

Oh a must order is the Chicken Burger with sweet chill mayo. Fresh cut fries and side salad. YUM. Chef definitrly has international experience.

Overall its a great place to be with a bunch of friends, as a couple or to bring the family.Would definitely stay here again.


Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were recommended this place through our muay thai camp, and we lucked out getting the cheapest room they had and it was also on the water! It is awesome value, beautiful view and the gardens everywhere are beautiful. The beach is good enough for swimming and sitting, although it's not the nicest beach on the island. Rooms are cleaned every few days if you stay a long time, which is nice, fresh towels and sheets. Common areas and new rooms look spotless. Our room was a wooden bungalow and could have used a bit of dusting but for the price, it was supreme value and we were extremely pleased. Love the balcony. They are also animal lovers with very well kept dogs and cats and birds. There is only wifi in the restaurant and beach bar but it's so nice to sit there that it's fine. The food is expensive but so very good. You can walk to town to eat too but it's easier to have a bike. The staff is exceptionally friendly and efficient. Love this place and we will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Room #1 is cheap and has a view of the water. If you want to spend more, there's lots of beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

No wifi in rooms. Patchy wifi in bar. Unhelpful staff who seem to wander about half asleep. Advertise a cheap "street food" menu, but say "its not available at full moon times". Very far from haad rin - 20mins taxi. Crap beach. Charge 100baht an hour for kyaks (last place we stayed these were free). Paid same price there for a room with aircon, here 700baht gets you only a fan. Night of full moon there were people screaming and shouting in the gardens til 8am - if you wanted to do that, stay in Haad Rin! Disappointing stay and a downer to our last days in Thailand. My advice: Stay at My Phangan Resort instead.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A great place for a drink and meal/snack. I never stayed here, but stopped by many times. There's a lovely platform on the beach that's great for yoga. Nice vibe, beautiful views and good for swimming when the tide is in. The resort next to Beck's has a pool so you can always visit them as well ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

the staff here are absolutely brilliant, we cant thank them enough for such a great stay! Tina was brilliant, spoke amazing english and helped us so much booking transfers and trips! the place has a relaxed, family run feeling which we loved. We spent the rest of our holiday saying 'if only this hotel had the Becks Resort staff!' so thankyou very very much and if we ever return to Koh Phangan we know exactly where we'll be staying!
The rooms are basic, but the pictures are definitely not deceiving, they reflect exactly what the rooms are like. They are clean and comfortable which is all you need and is reflected in the price. We had a beach front room and it was amazing to wake up and be right on the beach with such an amazing view.
The food here is great, its averagely priced with the thai food being alot cheaper, however the burgers are incredible, best western food we had for our entire trip!
There are little shops and restaurants about 10 mins walk away, turn right out of the resort and keep walking, sells everything you need.
Its worth mentioning that this resort is great for full moon party, they keep your valuables in a safe for you so they're not left in the rooms, with a list of everything you've stored. They have security on the desk all night, and do a taxi to the party for 100 baht.
Overall we loved it here and would recommend it to anybody :)

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had the best service in whole Thailand. The staff speaks very well english and is always there when u need help, information or just a great talk about the ins and outs of Thailand. The staff is really making the resort.

The rooms are good, the beach is okay (it is not a swimming beach) and the beach bar has a nice athmosphere.

It is a long travel (30/40 min) if u want to go to the full moon party but for only 100 Baht a person (€2,50) u will get there. Loved our stay here.

Greetings the six big guys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beck's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck's Resort

Address: 152/1 Nai Wok Bay, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beck's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Beck's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beck`s Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beck's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.