We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Munchies Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Munchies Resort to your Saves list
Munchies Resort
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Ban Nam Khem, Ban Khai, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

After reading the reviews for Munchies I went ahead and booked/paid for it. Unfortunately, for us this ''resort'' did not live up to the reviews. There is a reason why this place is so cheap! You pay for what you get...

When we showed up at Munchies, there was not a soul in sight. There were dirty dishes all over the ''lobby bungalow'' and finally some guy emerged from a room and wasn't even aware of our booking. We had to wait twenty minutes for him to confirm our booking and clean a room for us. The rooms are VERY basic, including a self flush toilet and only a basic fan. The rooms are quite stuffy and the bed not comfortable. The beach did not look very swim-able and the location is not near anything which means you have to take about a 15 minute taxi into Haad Rin if you want to shop, eat, or see a decent beach. Needless to say, we took our losses on the prepaid room and went to a different accommodation in Haad Rin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The bungalows are located between two of the islands towns. That's the only downfall we found in this place. It took us 1 hr 20 min to walk along the beach to Had Rinn. We decided to try to it because taxi fares were adding up. We ended up renting a scooter like most people do, and that was perfect. With wheels running you 150 bhat a day, you can't go wrong. They have amazing food, we ate there everyday unless we went to town. The restaraunt area was also the area where you can sit and chill out with a drink or a good book. It is right on the water so was easy to go for a dip. The bungalow were standard. Bed: Hard Bathroom: Below Average. A bed is a bed and your basic needs are met. The price range was perfect. If this place is in your price range you won't be Dissapointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

First hostel I stayed at on Koh Phangan and remained my favorite. We were four girls and the owners treated us like princesses and we laughed and joked the whole time. Food was AMAZING, some of the best I had the entirety of my travels. Beach was beautiful, there were palm trees for shade if you needed it and not to mention the awesome relaxation area where there is a bar (with tasty drinks.) The rooms were fine, if you're a backpacker it's more than adequate, no air-con, but it was doable. If you're looking for something more spacy and perhaps more luxurious, this is not the spot for you. This is great for budget travellers looking for cozy beach front bungalows to call home for a few days with friendly staff. It's not like we even slept in the beds that much anyways, it is koh phangan after all.

Room Tip: All the bungalows seemed exactly the same except one closer to the ocean but they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was for me the most relaxing place I have ever experienced. The views are amazing. The bar overlooks the ocean and plays films at night. The food is cooked to perfection by the mother of the owner and the staff are friendly and kind. You really feel like one of the family. The bungalows are very basic but the whole experience in staying at munchies is magical !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a proper little backpacker resort. We stayed here for 4 nights on our 6 week trip around thailand..........

Good points:
Excellent location right on the beach front
In a great little resort with a few restaurants and bars
Close enough to get around to other beaches with transport
Great bar
Great food
Great owner

Now for the bad points:
Very uncomfy beds
Dark hot rooms (even with the 2 fans)
Nothing in the room other than 2 shelves a mirror and bed
Bathroom was a lean-to with cockroaches, frogs and ants as regular visitors
Toilet had no manual flush and you had to use a bucket to flush
The room or bathrooms do not get cleaned and the previous residents toilet paper was left in the bin

I wouldn't stay at this place again, however if you are looking for a fantastic location and are really not too fussy about your actual accommodation then you should enjoy this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

fresh and tasty food. great location; far enough away to have peace and quiet, but near enough to the action when you need it.
you'll have a very relaxing time at munchies, but you can also have a really great night drinking at the bar and heading to one of the many (in)famous shindigs held around the island.
I suggest renting scooters if you think you'll want to go exploring anywhere else on the island, aim for 200Baht for a day.

Room Tip: Check your room for towels, sheets and a blanket... unfortunately, we had none when we arrived. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had the most amazing time at munchies. It's a fantastic location right on a quiet beach front, but with easy access to local amenities and the busy town of Haad Rin. However Its really the chilled out atmosphere in the beach bar and the amazing, friendly, kind and hospitable staff that make this resort truly the most welcoming place I have visited in all of my travels around the globe. It's a definate must for all travellers to Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munchies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munchies Resort

Address: Ban Nam Khem, Ban Khai, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Munchies Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Munchies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munchies Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munchies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.