We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Bungalows Thansadet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Bungalows Thansadet
Save
You added Seaview Bungalows Thansadet to your Saves list
Thansadet Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

we really had a great time at the seaview bungalow! a quiet place with an excellent view and surrounded by jungle, run by patrik, his wife ganja and om. very nice and helpful people! best food, nice bungalows with a stunning view and the beach just a 5 minutes walk down the hill. free pickup from the ferry (the last part of the journey indeed is a "4x4 only"), electricity from 18:00 to 24:00. ..and you can leave your earplugs at home as unlike the other resorts at thansadet this place is in a safe distance to the (sometimes very) noisy waves..;-)
great value!
hopefully we will be back soon!

ps: I cant help it, I really do not understand the bad reviews of LittlestHobbos & r8nyy! if you want hot shower and all day electricity, if you want to be close to hat rin for the full moon party, why have you chosen to stay the seaview? you can´t blame someone else for not having read the description of the place you have booked!
...we have stayed almost 2 weeks and have not met anyone who was not pleased to be in such a great place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
53
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

This was the first place I stayed in Thailand as it was no 1 on trip advisor i was really excited about staying here. how wrong was I !!
I was looking for some were of the beaten track but not this it was on a tree top location with a 15 minute walk through a steep jungle to the beach. There was about 4 hours of elictricity a day all power went of at midnight so basically you are trapped up there with no light and no way of getting anywere the western toilet they claim to have is not great you have to fill a bucket of water to flush it near imposible to do in the dark no hot water anywere in the resort either.
If you want to go to a bar, the full moon party or even have a couple of restaurants to choose from then this is not for you as i said before you are basically stranded here until the owner agrees to run you back to town 1 hr away on a very bad road which he charges you 300 Baht per person for the pleasure. I met 9 other people at the resort who hated it and felt the trip advisor reviews were fictional. If you like back to basic and want stay in basic unclean accomodation with no electricity hot water or entertainment and like the idea of camping in thailand then this is for you.
The view were you eat your dinner from is very nice but maybe for a day visit . I left early and stayed in Sunset cove which was amazing just paradise I wish I had of stayed there from the start.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

i stayed here on the run up to the full moon party and left after two very long nights!!!!!! we got picked up by the owner at 5 oclock and he said we had to pick someone else at six which is not ideal after a full day of travelling but we said okay; then to find we had another pick up at eight at the other end of the island to make things better the boat arrived at 8:45. then the hotel review says a rough ride to the bungalows that was the biggest understatment ever!!!! it was like 4x4 on steroids! it was the worst journey you could imagine. the plus points i would say and there arent many is the view when you are there and the cooking! back to the bad we got shown to our bungalow which had only cold water none of the bungalows had hot water which im positive it said when we booked! then we found out you only get electricty from six at night till twelve at night. there are no lights whatsoever in the full camp (which it felt like) we then decided to go to the beach the next day and found out it was a ten minute treck through the jungle (really bad and dangerous). but to top it off no taxis could get near and there was no way to get anywhere so you had to stay where you were. so we decided to get a lift down with the owner and find somewhere for the night of the full moon party; which luckily we did the sunset cove and the difference was phenominal they fit us in even though everywhere was so busy. and we never want to leave here!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We visited Seaview Thansadet for two nights staying in a double bedded bungalow. We were keen to stay somewhere a bit more secluded than Had Rin during the full moon party and we were not disappointed.

Location: The bungalows are set up in the hills with a real green jungle feel to the area. Our bungalow faced out onto the water and it really was a view to be seen. Plenty of areas to go and discover around the bungalows on foot or if you hire a scooter you could do some great exploring. The beach was a ten minute walk downhill but make sure you put your mossie spray on if you cut through the forest. We didn't and were bitten by about fifty of the damn things! Unfortunately when we went to the beach, they had just suffered monsoon weather and it needed clearing up but I can imagine when it's clean it is beautiful and fairly private. Be prepared for the journey back and forth from the pier to be of reasonable length but that is the only downside to the location.

Accommodation: Our bungalow was basic but it had a nice verandah to sit on and sunbathe. Very peaceful and you can see and hear some great wildlife if you look out into the trees. Having electricity only the evenings was probably the only downside as it meant if you wanted to chill out in the room during the day, it got quite hot. There is a chillout area based in the main building which looks out over the water plus you can climb up the viewpoint which looks out for a fantastic view indeed.

Staff: Patrick was a warm and friendly person with great English. His wife was also lovely and they will make you feel very welcome. Nothing was too much for them to do for us and we were very thankful to Patrick to the journeys he made to take us places considering the roads had crumbled in the monsoon. When I say crumbled, I mean literally but I hear they are planning to concrete the roads out so fingers crossed!

Food and drink: There was a decent menu at their restaurant which is recommended by other places in the area. The food is cooked by Patrick's wife and is delicious. You can even ask them to buy in particular fish the day before and this is no problem. We tried the Barracuda cooked in the style suggested by Patrick and it was lovely. You can buy alcohol and water from them easily and you must try the Watermelon shakes as they are gorgeous! The Pad Thai was great also.

Value for Money: Really couldn't fault this. So cheap and for the location and great company, you can't ask for more.

If you're looking for something different to staying in a block of rooms or a built up area, this is surely the place to go. Take some strong mossie and bug spray and get involved with the peaceful and beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Our stay at Seaview Bungalows was a great experience. The owners provided a great level of service and were very friendly making the trip that much more enjoyable. The bungalows are simple but comfortable in a pristine quiet and relatively isolated location. It is a wonderful place for a getaway.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

When we were planning our Thailand vacation, we decided to make Koh Phangan our first stop. The hope was to find someplace to relax and take a break. And Seaview Bungalows ended up being better than we could have expected. Everyone was more than accommodating. Our bungalow was simple, but clean and with a gorgeous view. The food was delicious. It was 3 days of tranquility. In fact when we made it to Koh Tao for our next leg and checked in to our bungalow, my wife was disappointed because it didn't have "the uniqueness and wasn't memorable like Seaview".

For a longer review, feel free to check out this blog post http://deckonfood.com/?p=925.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

This place is absolutely perfect for people looking for seclusion and a 'lost' type holiday in Thailand, which is now very rare to find. Our host Patrick and his lovely wife, have created a little paradise located in the secluded Thansdet on Ko Phangan. I have rarely experienced such hospitality we were picked up and dropped at the ferry, cooked beautiful meals including hand-picked fresh fish from the local market, given a bungalow with a seaview that you only see on postcards and all for a price that did not burn the pockets. I almost want to keep this place secret but then I wish every success for this little place. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaview Bungalows Thansadet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Bungalows Thansadet

Address: Thansadet Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Bungalows Thansadet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.