We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aom is a fantastic host. Great cook, views to die for and all the peace and quiet you need.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Bungalows Thansadet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Bungalows Thansadet
Save Saved
You added Seaview Bungalows Thansadet to your Saves list
Thansadet Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Aom is a fantastic host. Great cook, views to die for and all the peace and quiet you need.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here March 2013 and am taking my boyfriend back this time (March 2014). He must see it. Aom is an incredible host and can cook like you'd never believe. a warm welcome and a beautiful view. Rooms are basic,and as clean as you can expect being jungle huts - but what do you really need when you have the serenity to entertain you. To be perfectly honest, most nights i would sleep on the terrace anyway. Too nice to be indoors
It's close enough to the beach to get your blood pumping on the walk down (or back up) but far enoug away to feel completely broken away from everyday life. It will depend why you go, on how much you love it. If you want to relax, see amazing views, eat gorgeous food, and learn how to cook it, feel 'lost' in the green jungle - this is your place. I LOVE it here. x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
52
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The owner and the staff (Aum, Noi and O) are amazing, they will do their utmost to make you feel like home. Fantastic view from the top of the hill, quiet and relaxed atmosphere, good social life (also depending on guests) and great food.
They also speak fluent english which is quite rare but really useful if you'd like to find out more about local customs etc.
The beach is 10 minutes walk (easy hiking) but don't let the remote location put you off - it's well worth it to experience this wonderfully peaceful environment.
Many thanks for Aum and Noi for their heart-warming kindness. :o)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We did not stay at the Seaview Bungalows overnight, but rather stumbled upon their facilities during a hike towards Than Sadet Beach. The kindness of the owners enticed us to stay for lunch and a beer. The food was good and the view from the "restaurant" very nice! The owners also offered us a drive back to town which was greatly appreciated! You can trust these people!

If you are looking for an off the path place to stay for a couple of nights in Koh Phangan, I would not hesitate!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Seaview at Thansadet has three major things going for it, the views, the price and the food. Waking up in the morning is a pleasure, knowing the spectacular ocean views from your private balcony await you, at approx $15 a night it was incredibly cheap and dining at the restaraunt under the stars and by the fire was gorgeous. That said, there are definitely issues. The mattresses are rock hard and our backs were sore. We'd been told elsewhere to try turning the mattress but it made no difference. The walk down to the (fabuous) beach is extremely steep and treacherous and getting back up is tiring (and a bit scary in the dark). The electricity is only on between 6:30pm and about 1am which is annoying but not dreadful. The huts themselves are extremely basic and the toilets are non flusing. The baskets provided for toilet paper are not changed during your stay, neither are the towels. In light of these issues, it is not the perfect stay, but you get what you pay for, and for the price, it was well worth while.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

I spent only one night in this place and it was a nice experience thank to aom. she and her brother are really nice and open mind people. she cooked us some excellent fish and drink beers thogheter on the lovely terrace. But i had a bad surprise the day after: during the night i've been picked everywere by bed bugs!! and that was painfull for the rest of my holiday because it hurts me a lot...so if y are sensitive at bed bugs better to avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

After travelling for what seemed like years we arrived at Ko Phagnan and was picked up by 4x4 pickup. Boy, do you need it to get here! These roads are dirt tracks that frequently flood, cutting gouges out of the earth. It takes an expert driver to negotiate and we had one. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the staff and the dogs! There's one crazy one but we won him round eventually. The place itself is just beautiful. Remote, quiet, peaceful and the staff are so friendly. My friend told one of the staff members that I played guitar so one evening, under the stars and by the fire she gave me the guitar and I played a few songs. I then asked her to play and she said she was just learning but played a Thai love song, which she then taught me. I felt very privileged. The food is excellent, the views amazing and the beach is not too far away. Big thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

this place was so unbelievably bad that we paid the night and left. we arrived at 2pm, and left half an hour later, paying for the night to avoid any disputes. the rooms were awful, holes in the floor, walls and a window that doesn't close. safety of my belongs was my second worry, first was the fear of being eaten alive by the plentiful insects up in the middle of nowhere. the room also smelt of strong urine, i asked the hotel receptionist and she said thats normal...heat stroke is probably common place with a crappy domestic fan which will go off at 12pm due to the stingy electricity. i was close to getting whiplash on the roads to the bungalows and close to a broken leg walking down to the beach (which takes much longer than the acclaimed time unless you're bear grylls). like the other review said, transport to anywhere is at least 300 baht each and forget about going to any full moon parties. perhaps the worst thing of all is with these excessively basic bungalows you would expect excessively low prices. the hotel we went to after leaving was much cheaper, much cleaner, safer and the location was second to none with 150 baht moped rentals and had a pool! it was also right by the beach (lime n soda). do NOT stay here, unless you feel like you deserve some punishment for a night or two...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaview Bungalows Thansadet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Bungalows Thansadet

Address: Thansadet Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Bungalows Thansadet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.