We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Bungalows Thansadet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Bungalows Thansadet
Save Saved
You added Seaview Bungalows Thansadet to your Saves list
Thansadet Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

After travelling for what seemed like years we arrived at Ko Phagnan and was picked up by 4x4 pickup. Boy, do you need it to get here! These roads are dirt tracks that frequently flood, cutting gouges out of the earth. It takes an expert driver to negotiate and we had one. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the staff and the dogs! There's one crazy one but we won him round eventually. The place itself is just beautiful. Remote, quiet, peaceful and the staff are so friendly. My friend told one of the staff members that I played guitar so one evening, under the stars and by the fire she gave me the guitar and I played a few songs. I then asked her to play and she said she was just learning but played a Thai love song, which she then taught me. I felt very privileged. The food is excellent, the views amazing and the beach is not too far away. Big thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
53
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

this place was so unbelievably bad that we paid the night and left. we arrived at 2pm, and left half an hour later, paying for the night to avoid any disputes. the rooms were awful, holes in the floor, walls and a window that doesn't close. safety of my belongs was my second worry, first was the fear of being eaten alive by the plentiful insects up in the middle of nowhere. the room also smelt of strong urine, i asked the hotel receptionist and she said thats normal...heat stroke is probably common place with a crappy domestic fan which will go off at 12pm due to the stingy electricity. i was close to getting whiplash on the roads to the bungalows and close to a broken leg walking down to the beach (which takes much longer than the acclaimed time unless you're bear grylls). like the other review said, transport to anywhere is at least 300 baht each and forget about going to any full moon parties. perhaps the worst thing of all is with these excessively basic bungalows you would expect excessively low prices. the hotel we went to after leaving was much cheaper, much cleaner, safer and the location was second to none with 150 baht moped rentals and had a pool! it was also right by the beach (lime n soda). do NOT stay here, unless you feel like you deserve some punishment for a night or two...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay. The bungalows are basic, but good value for money: you have your private balcony with an amazing view, big mosquito net, fan (electricity from 6pm to 12pm) and a private bathroom in the bungalow with a cold shower, toilet and sink. It's really all you need. The beach is a five minute walk away and you can walk to a funky bar five minutes in the other direction. The people running the park are extremely friendly and the restaurant is known as the best restaurant of the region. The views from there are amazing too! Only reason for us to leave after a couple of days is the fact that it's difficult to get from here to other parts of the island. But I highly recommend Seaview for people looking for a couple of days of pure relaxation!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Thansadet Important notice - this place is the ideal place to disconnect from the world. It is back to basics with these bungalows. There is no hot water, no wi-fi (the owner can get you limited access), no air con, scoop water toilet,electricity is only limited to the evening. Do not expect your typical accommodation facilities.

However, what you have instead is a serenic views of the sea, a quiet and tranquil place to really relax and enjoy the gorgeous views from your bungalow. This is in close proximity to the nearest beach (quite secluded for those who are wanting a quieter spot on the island) and some of the most friendliest people working here.

The only downside to this is the route as the roads are super rocky but still, dont let this get in the way of real paradise.

The beach nearby has some restaurants and there is also a bar closeby (Hide on High) where the accommodation is (also with great views). My suggestion is to try this place for a couple of nights, avoid the beer and party scene for a while and enjoy the serenity, views and chill out to the max!

Food and drinks here are reasonably priced and tasty! They also do fresh seafood from the market in the morning. Many thanks Aom and your family for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Nice view and friendly staff BUT: the owner has changed and now it seems like the new owner tries to squeeze out the money out of the well rated bungalows. Rooms were not clean and run down. Beach is far away and you need to climb a rough way (10-15 minutes) to get there. After one night staying we decided to move to a bungalow directly at the beach (Mai Pen Rai). 190 Baht more per night but DEFINITELY worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcsfla
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Sea View after reading all of the rave reviews. Obviously they were doing something right to get such a high rating, I thought. After two days, we packed our bags and left.

The beach at Thansadet is nice... actually its really nice - but the hotel isn't on the beach. You have to walk about 10 minutes through the woods to get there. Once at the beach, you will see 3 seperate resorts that offer BEAUTIFUL bungalows that are direct ocean front, for a mere 100 - 300 Baht more per night. All of the beach front hotels have restaurants, kayak rentals etc.

Once at Sea View, we met 2 other couples who shared our exact sentiments. None of us hated Sea View, but we all agreed that it wasn't special. It was just another budget-minded resort on Koh Phangan.

The food was pretty good - not great - but just above par. Only one of the 4 staff members spoke English. They were all pretty friendly, but no one really seemed to be in charge. When we checked in, me, my wife and two other travelers all waited at the front reception area with no direction for about 5 minutes. After we were "checked in" we weren't told where our room was, how to get to the beach or what the opening/closing times were for the restaurant.

I look at my time at Sea View as an experience, just not one that I would probably repeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place is unbelievable. Aom is the nicest hostess ever, she is friendly, genuine, and her cooking is so amazing. Take the cooking course, I regret not taking it!

The bungalos are basic enough, it's a very relaxing area, small beach with not too many people.. Thankfully 2 restaurant bars on the beach and an amaaazing quiet bar next door to the bungalos (Hide on High). If you're looking for somewhere very accessible to everything, this is not the place. Or somewhere RIGHT on the beach. The roads are rough to get there, but it is 10x more relaxing and less teenagery than anywhere else on the island. I am so sad to have left!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaview Bungalows Thansadet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Bungalows Thansadet

Address: Thansadet Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Bungalows Thansadet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.