We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for full moon party” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delight Resort

Save Saved
You added Delight Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delight Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   140 Haad Rin, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 106 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for full moon party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights this August for the full moon party.

The hotel is in a fantastic location for the party, it is 5 minutes walking to the beach but far enough away that it is not too loud late in the evening. The hotel is in the middle of everything and there is a shop across the road to stock up on water/ beers.

The food in the restaurant is ok but it is ridiculously cheap so you get what you pay for. The staff are very friendly and are always willing to help.

The rooms are very basic but are clean. I would recommend this to anyone looking to go to the full moon party due to the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very well located, 2 minutes walking from the beach... and from where the party happens! Nice place to chill after the mess! Staff is very polite and helpfull.
AC was not working properly though... and in July you will need it if looking for some sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and having come from a 5 star hotel in Samui I wasn't expecting this place to be top class but it did exceed my expectations. Rooms are very basic. Beds are very hard and not comfortable at all. The whole pad locking your door didn't make me feel to comfortable but thankfully everything was still in its place after we returned from a day /night out. If you want to leave your room key at the hotel you need to leave it in a locker, which every time we went down to do the lockers were all taken so we had no choice but to bring the key out with us. They only give you one key as well. The air com was really powerful in the room which was great as it was extremely humid at night. The pool was very small and very rarely busy. The food in the hotel bar was lovely and much nicer than some of the restaurants around the area. It's literally a 5 minute walk to the beach so very central and especially with the full moon party on it meant you could walk back to he hotel to use the toilet rather than some of the pubs which were overflown and very smelly. There's plenty of 7 11's close by as well to stock up on water n supplies for the room. The staff were really friendly and were able to give good advice getting taxi boats/tours/shopping etc and what to pay for them. We got a taxi box to a small beach beside us and spent the day there. It was so beautiful and around 12 people on the beach which made a change as the beach near delight resort was packed everyday. It's basic accommodation but very central and worth every penny spent on it. What you see is what you get.

Room Tip: If your looking for a quiet room do not get a room by the pool as most people hang out around there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I liked it here! I spent 10 days on Koh Phangan, all of them at delight resort. There is a pool, and I do not agree with fellow advisers that it seemed unclean and small. It's not a swimming pool for exercise, but you can relax there and sunbathe. The beach is 1 min walk away, so the hotel is quiet despite the parties going on on the beach. The doors are locked with padlocks yes, but I found this safe. You can leave your key in the reception area, or in a safety box provided by the reception area, or carry it around yourself. Room cleaning is done by request, and when I asked for it it was done immediately, and the staff did a great job. The bathrooms: They are a bit worn out, there was a pipe, probably from the roof, continuously dripping on the floor to the drain, there is no actual shower cabinet but a shower head from the wall, so when you shower the bathroom gets flooded. I really consider this a minor detail, but I understand other people being annoyed by this.
Staff is very friendly and helpful, laudry service is cheap, fast and good.
I never made it down for breakfast in time (I love sleeping, hehe), but I ate at the restaurant a couple of times. I must agree with the advisor saying that the restaurant staff need to move quicker. They were quite slow, but they smiled and spoke english well.
There is a shop in the hotel where you can buy glowpaint for the full moon party, clothes, towels, souvenirs etc.

I stayed in room 120, which had a view of the pool and a small patio where you could sit reading and hang your clothes to dry. It was also quiet, because its a room in the far end of the reception area.

There was really only one thing that annoyed me about this place, and that was that EVERY SINGLE DAY the power went out, and it took between 30 min to 90 min to get it fixed. This is really annoying when you try to charge up your camera/laptop/phone, or when you feel really hot and in need for aircon, or especially if it happens late as there is no light whatsoever, so you cant even go outside to read a book. The staff were always apologetic and tried their best to fix the problems quickly, but surely there must be a way for them to have this problem fixed permanently as it happened every single day I was there.

All in all I am really happy with this place, due to location, staff, and nice rooms. I would recommend it to anyone traveling here, but maybe not with children, as it is more of a party-hotel ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good location near the beach (1 minute walk) and shops/bars/restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. However, unfortunately a few negatives:
1) We developed bites very characteristic of bed bugs (however, staff were happy to upgrade/change our room)
2) Unsure if pool was cleaned and chlorinated overnight - did not seem to be as pool was open 24 hours and no notices to indicate when it was closed for cleaning. Additionally the pool was not that cold (i.e. not refreshing in 30++C)
3) The doors to the rooms are secured by a padlock, and you are supposed to leave your key with reception, however, keys were left in the front of the reception and customers could pick out their key freely. Therefore, this did not seem very secure/safe, as potentially anyone could take your key.
4) Very noisy dance music at night

Despite the above, good hotel for those on a budget and for full moon party due to location. Would like to reiterate that the staff were great-highly approachable and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noise at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hands down the best place to stay for the Full Moon Party if you arent on too tight of a budget. It is in the heart of Haad Rin, one minute walk to the beach. Has a pool and lots of chairs to lounge in. Our favourite part was that you could go back to the room if need be from the beach parties and then head back out! We had a four person room which was large and comfortable. Room was cleaned whenever you asked. Most rooms have a small patio, we were lucky enough to have the room right by the pool and had a larger outdoor sitting area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is my second time staying at Delight Resort and it was just like I remembered. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and an amazing location just steps from Haad Rin beach and the insanity of Full Moon. Prices are higher during Full Moon but the convenience and proximity to the beach, restaurants, bars more than makes up for it. I highly recommend checking it out if your travels bring you to this beautiful island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delight Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delight Resort

Address: 140 Haad Rin, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Delight Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Delight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delight Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.