We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special but good for full moon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai Beach | Ao Bang Charu Beach, Thong Sala, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nothing Special but good for full moon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here just a couple of nights over full moon. Great Pool, biggest i've seen on the island, and nice big resort spread out, not right next door to everyone else. Great location but too far to walk to 7/11 or Thongsala. You get what you pay for basically. Like every other bungalow along Baan Tai beach. One little thing, the staff all seem rather grumpy, especially the girls behind Reception. Also the ceiling fan rotated and so had to move the bed into the middle of the room otherwise got very hot at night

Room Tip: Best to pay a little more and get a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst waiting for the Full Moon Party.
The location is good, and to be honest the price is worth what you get.

The staff were all very friendly and drinks and food were cheap.
Obviously there are different standards of rooms, the nicest (and probably cleanest) rooms are directly on the beach.
We stayed in G5, which was a pretty decent room considering we were paying about £8 a night.

The only problem I had with this place, was the bathroom.
The sink was broken and everytime it was touched I felt as though it was going to fall over and i'd be charged.
The shower had no hook so you had to hold it, and there was no pressure or heat at all. (heat wasn't really a problem) but the pressure was. Also the water, quite frankly reeked. It was as if you were washing with pond water.
Being on an island and paying what I did, I didn't expect any luxuries, but to wash with water that smells stagnant is something I won't repeat.

Apart from that, it's a nice little place to stay for a few days!

Room Tip: If you want more luxury choose the rooms directly on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Where do I start with this place. Jesus. Unfortunately we were booked into the beach holiday resort after getting ripped off through a TAT office in Bangkok. After 24 hours of travelling we arrived to a horrible room but the location seemed quite nice with a big pool. However we later found out that the beach here is probably one of the worst on the island, head over to the East coast near Malibu for the perfect beaches.

Our room was horrible, the bathroom was small and the shower head didn't even have a hook so you had to hold it with one hand. The room was bright orange but at sometime there had been some pictures on the wall, you could tell this because they had obviously painted around them due to the huge white patches. The patterned bricks had holes in the walls so we got bitten by misquotes at night. When I approached the receptionist and explained that the room next to us had a mossie net she suggested they had put it up themselves! It had obviously been there for years, who would bring their own net on holiday?!

The Thai staff seemed helpful enough but there was one particular American woman who can only be described as the worst hotel worker on the planet. Because we had paid in full through the TAT centre she didn't seem to care about anything. Our next problem arose when we had breakfast, with our booking we had it included but my girlfriend is a vegetarian. When I asked if we could swap eggs and bacon for a bowl of cereal we were told this was impossible and we'd have to pay extra, even though a few corn flakes clearly cost less than eggs and bacon. As we expected the breakfast was terrible apart from the coffee and fresh fruit.

After one night we complained about our room and she said because we didn't complain straight away, she assumed that the room was fine. What sort of resort EXPECTS you to complain and then give you the option of a better room? We were moved to a better room slightly further away from the beach. Although it seemed to be the only room without the option to put your own padlock on the room. There are also no lockers in the rooms, there are small ones in the reception which is a massive pain and all the staff can see what you are putting in there.

When we came to leave the island we were given the option of the 6am or 12pm ferry, not wanting to be up too early we chose the 12pm one. On the morning that we were supposed to leave we woke to a man standing in our room at 5am shouting taxi taxi! At first I thought he was robbing us but we later realised he was trying to get us up for the ferry. So we went to reception to find that the stupid receptionist had booked us onto the 6am ferry! She then told us that if we left at 12pm we might not make it to our next destination in one day, meaning we'd be dropped in a small town and have to find our own accommodation for the night. So not only did she book us onto the wrong ferry, she shouldn't have given us the option for the later one in the first place. She also tried to charge us 400 bht to change it, even though there is no charge from the ferry company. This particular woman is an absolute demon, her attitude towards paying customers was atrocious, damm right rude and unbelievably unhelpful. By the end of the week I had to deal with her several times and I can actually say I hated her on a cellular level.

The only good thing about this place is the pool, it's big and the water temperature was really nice. We hired mopeds for the week and found a really nice hotel on the east coast called Haad son resort, stay there instead!

Room Tip: Look on the East cost, ideally the Malibu beach resort as the beach huts look lovely and the sand is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This resort is a nice enough place in a good location (within walking distance to the main town) with a very nice pool. The beach is pretty average. Our fan bungalow had lots of character and was cool and clean (although they have a real mix and match of bungalows on site). The thing that really let us down was the day before we left our room was cleaned (asked around lunchtime and it wasn't done until around 5pm so we actually didn't think it was going to be cleaned) and my prescription glasses were taken from the room. We went for a swim with me leaving my glasses on the bed then half an hour later and just after it was cleaned we came back and they were gone. We can't see why they'd take them as we had sunglasses as well in the room so we can only think that maybe they were damaged and they took the evidence? I checked with the cleaners immediately who said they didn't see them and told management as soon as we saw them the next morning (didn't seem too concerned at all). Overall its not a bad place but we felt very let down this event.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

room and bathroom was full of ants. found lizard in 1 room. only good thing is location and swimming pool. much better resorts down the road

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Holiday beach resort was disappointing stay. The information on the different web sites makes out for a good standard accommodation at a low price. The truth is it’s a low price with a poor service, ok facilities and good location.

We visited the island for the full moon party and had to book a minimum stay of 5 nights even though we were only there for 3 this wasn’t a problem as the price of the room was making up for the extra nights evening out the price. When we got there the booking website had a mix up with the resort placing us in a fan room instead of air conditioned room. The response of the receptionist was its the weekend of the full moon party there nothing I can do or willing to do. After a lot of arguing a little bit of luck as there was a cancellation and I think speaking to the owner we were allowed the A/C room that was on our confirmation email. Also the receptionist said they only require 4 nights minimum so be careful if you book here as we had to book 5 nights.

The room itself was disappointing our double bed was 2 single beds, the shower was seriously lacking in pressure, the electricity in the room would fade every so often making a hairdryer useless, the TV worked and had a reasonable range of channels. The room was generally clean but there was no cleaning by maids to give the room a once over especially as sand and ants get everywhere, and no one like sand in their beds. Food at the resort was ok good variety but the staff that serve you are useless took ages to order your food and served.

The highlights of the resort were the swimming pool and area around the resort was generally a chilled out atmosphere, the resort is situated in a good location especially for the full moon party and has enough locally to keep you entertained. the resort has great views of Koh Samui and the beaches surrounding the hotel were spectacular. The hotel did run a good shuttle service to the full moon party at a bargain price and free body painting but you don’t need to stay at the resort till 11pm like they recommend get there at 10pm theres plenty going on.

I think the holiday resort would be really nice if it wasn’t around the time of the full moon party but because the resort know you haven’t any options to leave as there is no space anywhere they play on this offering a poor standards of service which exceptionally unusual for Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The three things that 'Holiday Beach Resort' has going for it : the Pool, the AMAZING MASSAGE LADIES, and the central location, aren't enough to balance out all the negatives here.
*(It should be noted that the pool and the massage ladies can both be used if you AREN'T staying at the resort... so we wouldn't again)

The grounds were pretty enough, although it would have been nice if the attention paid to keeping the pool clean, was also paid to picking up the garbage strewn about by 21 year old's away from their parents for the first time.

We booked and pre payed a minimum 6 night stay(required during full moon) otherwise we would have left and sought accommodations elsewhere after the first night.

We were given a room with two twin beds, even after booking a Double Bed.
Initially of different heights, it wasn't even possible to push the twin beds together.
We were given a different bungalow with twin beds of the same height, after some arm twisting, dealings with surly office staff, and frankly, frustrated tears on my part.

We were told that since they were fully booked for the Full Moon Party they could do nothing to help us. But if it had "... been any other time of the month, we would have had our run of the place"
I now know why this place only books up once a month, and they seem to know it as well and over charge accordingly.

Our Bathroom smelled like stale urine, even though we washed it down ourselves nightly, as there is no room service to speak of.
The floor in the bathroom also never drained properly, and so the floor was always wet.
There was also a total LACK of hooks or tables to dry your towels or get your belongings up and off the ant covered floor.

Our water was turned off for a whole day - No flushing, no taps.

The doorways are only 6 feet high - DO NOT BOOK IF YOU ARE TALLER, it hurts when you forget to duck.

The photo's make this 'resort' seem like a nice deserted beach spot. It's not. The bungalows are all crammed together - and beware - if you book around the Full Moon
Party the average age of the other 'resort' guests is very young - book in the north end of the island if you truly want to stay away from the party crowd.

The 'Resort's' website boasts that this is a good spot to stay for a quiet visit, and yet they blast Dance tunes at the pool all day, and in the restaurant all night.

The food is edible, but the portions are small and the prices are high by comparison to even other bungalow operations right along the same beach.

Walk 300 yards north to 'Cosy Bungalow' for a better beach bar, better breakfast - and THEY have Muay Thai!

THIS IS NOT THE SECLUDED BEACH VACATION we thought we'd booked. Which admittedly is partly our fault, but partly due to the misleading information/photo's provided by the 'Resort' online.

Buyer beware I suppose - but I though a review of our experience might be helpful to others - Just be aware before you book.

Room Tip: Only book here if you are interested in meeting other traveler's 21 and younger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Resort

Address: 100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai Beach | Ao Bang Charu Beach, Thong Sala, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.