We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Beach Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai Beach | Ao Bang Charu Beach, Thong Sala, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

room and bathroom was full of ants. found lizard in 1 room. only good thing is location and swimming pool. much better resorts down the road

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Holiday beach resort was disappointing stay. The information on the different web sites makes out for a good standard accommodation at a low price. The truth is it’s a low price with a poor service, ok facilities and good location.

We visited the island for the full moon party and had to book a minimum stay of 5 nights even though we were only there for 3 this wasn’t a problem as the price of the room was making up for the extra nights evening out the price. When we got there the booking website had a mix up with the resort placing us in a fan room instead of air conditioned room. The response of the receptionist was its the weekend of the full moon party there nothing I can do or willing to do. After a lot of arguing a little bit of luck as there was a cancellation and I think speaking to the owner we were allowed the A/C room that was on our confirmation email. Also the receptionist said they only require 4 nights minimum so be careful if you book here as we had to book 5 nights.

The room itself was disappointing our double bed was 2 single beds, the shower was seriously lacking in pressure, the electricity in the room would fade every so often making a hairdryer useless, the TV worked and had a reasonable range of channels. The room was generally clean but there was no cleaning by maids to give the room a once over especially as sand and ants get everywhere, and no one like sand in their beds. Food at the resort was ok good variety but the staff that serve you are useless took ages to order your food and served.

The highlights of the resort were the swimming pool and area around the resort was generally a chilled out atmosphere, the resort is situated in a good location especially for the full moon party and has enough locally to keep you entertained. the resort has great views of Koh Samui and the beaches surrounding the hotel were spectacular. The hotel did run a good shuttle service to the full moon party at a bargain price and free body painting but you don’t need to stay at the resort till 11pm like they recommend get there at 10pm theres plenty going on.

I think the holiday resort would be really nice if it wasn’t around the time of the full moon party but because the resort know you haven’t any options to leave as there is no space anywhere they play on this offering a poor standards of service which exceptionally unusual for Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The three things that 'Holiday Beach Resort' has going for it : the Pool, the AMAZING MASSAGE LADIES, and the central location, aren't enough to balance out all the negatives here.
*(It should be noted that the pool and the massage ladies can both be used if you AREN'T staying at the resort... so we wouldn't again)

The grounds were pretty enough, although it would have been nice if the attention paid to keeping the pool clean, was also paid to picking up the garbage strewn about by 21 year old's away from their parents for the first time.

We booked and pre payed a minimum 6 night stay(required during full moon) otherwise we would have left and sought accommodations elsewhere after the first night.

We were given a room with two twin beds, even after booking a Double Bed.
Initially of different heights, it wasn't even possible to push the twin beds together.
We were given a different bungalow with twin beds of the same height, after some arm twisting, dealings with surly office staff, and frankly, frustrated tears on my part.

We were told that since they were fully booked for the Full Moon Party they could do nothing to help us. But if it had "... been any other time of the month, we would have had our run of the place"
I now know why this place only books up once a month, and they seem to know it as well and over charge accordingly.

Our Bathroom smelled like stale urine, even though we washed it down ourselves nightly, as there is no room service to speak of.
The floor in the bathroom also never drained properly, and so the floor was always wet.
There was also a total LACK of hooks or tables to dry your towels or get your belongings up and off the ant covered floor.

Our water was turned off for a whole day - No flushing, no taps.

The doorways are only 6 feet high - DO NOT BOOK IF YOU ARE TALLER, it hurts when you forget to duck.

The photo's make this 'resort' seem like a nice deserted beach spot. It's not. The bungalows are all crammed together - and beware - if you book around the Full Moon
Party the average age of the other 'resort' guests is very young - book in the north end of the island if you truly want to stay away from the party crowd.

The 'Resort's' website boasts that this is a good spot to stay for a quiet visit, and yet they blast Dance tunes at the pool all day, and in the restaurant all night.

The food is edible, but the portions are small and the prices are high by comparison to even other bungalow operations right along the same beach.

Walk 300 yards north to 'Cosy Bungalow' for a better beach bar, better breakfast - and THEY have Muay Thai!

THIS IS NOT THE SECLUDED BEACH VACATION we thought we'd booked. Which admittedly is partly our fault, but partly due to the misleading information/photo's provided by the 'Resort' online.

Buyer beware I suppose - but I though a review of our experience might be helpful to others - Just be aware before you book.

Room Tip: Only book here if you are interested in meeting other traveler's 21 and younger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We did go to Koh Phangan mainly on the recommendation of friends for the Full Moon Party but we found that the Holiday Beach Resort was (for us) a great place to stay. The bungalow was spacious and clean......that was all we expected so no problems there! We did have one night which was rather noisy due to a "disco" close to our bungalow but we went at party time so only to be expected. The pool area was also very clean and not too full and the beach was not too busy so it was relaxing place to stay. The reception did not seem to be too well organised at the time we were there but that wasn’t any great problem to us......we only needed them for check in/out. We did not use the restaurant very much as we preferred the one at the accommodation a few doors down – the food there seemed much more authentic. Enjoyed a trip to the North of the island for a bit of snorkelling - definitely worth doing. Also if you do need a doctor while you’re here the reception recommended Dr Pat in town which was definitely correct – not overpriced and spoke excellent English. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011 via mobile

I can't understand why people don't love this place?! The communal area is comfy, has a tv with movies and some great food (panang curry is awesome). There's a pool and it's on a quiet stretch of beach and away from the mayhem and also the chavs. Met some nice people and the manager was a really nice and helpful guy. The rooms aren't great for the price, but when you're in Koh Phangan you're not spending much time in the room anyway! A room is for sleeping only and it was clean and comfortable, just not big enough for 3 people really. I would stay here again and encourage other people to! Hire a bike or jeep and see the north of the island as there's some pretty nice beaches around. Enjoy! x

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We only stayed here for one night, due to a full ferry on to koh tao and already checking out of our accomodaiton (Coco Gardens - just down the beach!).

We had seen the pool from our strolls down the beach and so had figured it might be a nice place to stay!

The pool is the only good thing about this place really. We had a deluxe bungalow and it was not very deluxe, lots of ants, old wood walls with holes were people have punched the walls. No sheets on the bed to sleep under, one on base of matress and then a massive towell is provided to use as a cover. We asked for a sheet and they said the towell is there for a cover on the bed. Weird!!! There were lots of mosquitos and other bugs in this place and we didnt sleep well at all!

Reception and restuarant are a bit of a joke, it took us almost 40 mins to check in despite booking online, and check out was the same. they make you pay a deposit for the room key, 300baht, and when checking out you have to remind them to give it you back.

Food is of poor standard and when we were there, there were only 3 or 4 tables occupied, and almost every table complained, one girl ordered a tomato salad, which came minus the tomato as they had run out. I ordered a BLT sandwich, which came with one piece of streaky bacon on the whole thing. Not good.

We complained, as did a lot of others, but most of the staff here dont seem bothered or were lounging around sleeping on the cushions on the floor.

They would not arrange transport for us to the ferry port for the 8am ferry, and we had to make our way into town almost and flag ourselves a taxi down.

I wouldnt reccomend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011 via mobile

It's probably a good place for people on the island for the full moon party. I wasn't there for the party time, so the resort was full of families and couples, so not too sociable for a lone traveller.

The bungalow didn't have hot water as advertised and it was quite damp and mouldy. The staff function ok in the restaurant and for booking the boat but a bit abrupt with room booking, you're not shown how anything works.

The food was ok but not so good by comparison with the rest of Thailand. The whole of the island has a ketchup on all the tables with burger and chips way of thinking, but that's what most people who are there want.

Not much around in the way of shopping and eating.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Resort

Address: 100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai Beach | Ao Bang Charu Beach, Thong Sala, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.