We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation we had in Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 112 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best accommodation we had in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great hotel with a lovely pool with a view to the white beach (but the sea is very shallow). Nice clean rooms - AC, small fridge, TV. I like "concrete design" very much. Wi-fi is free and works only around reception.
You can stay in a villas in the garden or rent a room in the hotel. Both looks great. We had a room in first floor - and were completely satisfied, no noise...just a relax.
We ate a very nice thai food in their restaurant, saff is very friendly and helpful.
Rent a bike and go through the length and breadth of the island - elephants, jungle, waterfaals, night markets...and paradise beach in the north (Not sure - Mae haad Mae?).
Definitely recommend to all travelers - price for a night is 700Bahts when you stay 3 nights.

Room Tip: Higher floor will be the best choice - great view to the banana´s garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    24
    8
    17
See reviews for
7
66
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great hotel in Ban Tai in Koh Phangan with a nice pool and access to the beach.
Rooms were OK size with AC and balconies. Wifi is free and works in most parts of the resort (not in the rooms tho, but in the corridor, restaurant and lobby the signal was good).
Breakfast was enjoyable too, you can chose either American, European or Thai breakfast.
We also had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was very good! I'd highly recommend chicken with cashew nuts and rice!
As for the location, is close enough to the pier and you can catch a songtaew to Had Rin etc from the road outside of the hotel. We had a car, so the distance wasn't an issue for us.

Overall good value for money, clean rooms and a good restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have now stayed at Da Kanda twice and I enjoyed my stay both times. We rented a villa; the villas are individual houses with a large bed, small entry sitting area, tv, outdoor restroom, and cushioned window seat. The beach in front of Da Kanda is quiet and feels like a private beach. The pool is wonderful with a view of the ocean. The first time I stayed at Da Kanda the service personnel were extremely nice and we participated in a Buddhist holiday celebration with them. The hotel has expanded a bit since that first visit and the staff (especially the desk ladies) were a lot colder and unhelpful. The restaurant on the beach serves decent Thai food and very good western options. The wifi is pretty good although not entirely consistent.

I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to be in a private house, choose a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

While in transit we stayed only one night and therefore ordered only a room for 800 Baht and not a (more expensive) bungalow.
But we expected to get at least a fully functional guest room.
Instead all was a mess. We had a permantely running toilet, the shower head was only partly working and the sink - oh my god - had a blocked drain! We experienced that only in the night bevor we went to bed, so we kept it like it is and complained the next day, but it looked like they were not interested at all, to hear that.
In the evening we had a power cut (what is acceptable at Koh Phangan), but the hotel did not started a generator, so we sit in the dark for about 20 minutes. Big resorts like this should have a (working) generator, imho.
The service was not friendly at all, we felt like we disturb the receptionist, while talking to her.
Also we were astonished to find a list of all items in the room with prices, how much you have to pay, if you make something broken. It looks like the usual guests are rather rowdies than normal hotel guests?

Room Tip: We recommend to check the room / bungalow very closely, before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice rooms, basic bathroom. Restaurant very nice with good food. 10 minute walk to thongsala, pool is excellent place to cool off. Few stray animals but are rarely any bother. Staff are very friendly in restaurant made us feel very welcome would recommend to a friend, we stayed in a villa for two nights.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent 9 Nights here and loved it! The food was great at the restaurant and the staff are always willing to help with advise in what to do an how to get there. I was in a villa and it had a huge bed and was clean the bathroom was very basic but the hot water worked well and it was clean. Yes there are gaps around the top of the roof in the bathroom but I had no issues with the bugs in the bathroom. My AC did stop working at one point during my stay but they had a technician there within 30 minutes to repair it. I would defiantly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our room was not cleaned properly and when my wife and I went to complain the receptionist, whose name is Ping, said she was also the manager and owner, Basically called my wife and I liars. She prefered to believe her staff. She constantly interupted my wife and I so I raised my voice a little and she shouted at me. This woman is a disgrace to the hotel industry and the highest position she should have in the industry is sweeping the floor although I doubt if she could do that correctly. She doesn't seem to understand that when guests complain they do it for valid reasons. She should have at least come to our room to confirm our complaints.
My wife found large cockroaches in our shower/toilet room which were around 1 inch long that scared her so I had to catch them and throw them out.
The shower/toilet room has just grey bare plaster walls which is very depressing and should be tiled. The tap in the sink was loose and the shower heater didn't work.
The water in the swimming pool was murky, green with algae and clearly wasn't cared for as it should. I've had a swimming pool at my house in Africa for years and know how easy it is to keep a pool clear.
The hotel has potential with a fantastic location but sadly it is let down by the staff and the rooms not being completed to an acceptable standard.
Until this is recified I would recommend people stay away from this hotel. Pity because the outside of the rooms is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Address: 19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakanda Villa Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.