We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 107 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
3.5 of 5 stars 113 Reviews
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chilled out resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at Da Kanda for 5 nights in July 2012, the hotel staff were extremely helpful with trips, booking transfers to other islands, laundry etc. The resort resturant is also very good, reasonably priced and tasty food both western and thai. We stayed in one of the villas which are spacious and very private. The outside bathrooms are a little bit strange and mosquitoes were around. The swimming pool is really good and again the hotel staff are always on hand to serve you drinks when the heat becomes too much.

Really loved our stay here and hope to return one day, can't praise this resort enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    19
    7
    16
See reviews for
4
54
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lombok, Indonesia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

the hotel located near the Thong sala pier. When i booked the hotel it doesn't mentioned that they provided pick up service. A guy gave me a flyer once i'm off the boat and when i saw it, it was the hotel that i choosed. so it turns out i don't need to find a transport to take me to the hotel. The hotel looks fine from the outside. Small but tidy reception area, the receptionist was quite helpful.She asked me to pay a deposit of 500 baht for the key which i questioned as i've never been asked like that, but the receptionist guy explained its for the hotel belonging etcetera..before i depart, they will return the money to me, which is true.
She had my voucher on her desk so obviously she knew that i'm arriving. My room is near the reception area. But when i enter the room it is obvious that they haven't done any dusting on it. The room is quite big, build in cupboard with huge shower area. The other down point is the water is smelly!! You have to run it for at least 10 minutes so you don't have the stinky smell like a wastage coming out of it. its not only smelly, it also run very small so i didn't feel clean after shower. I told the receptionist guy about it and he said he'll check about the water smell and quantity but nothing has been done till the day i depart.
Room amenities is average, i found the empty mini bar is handy though. the tv is small but it has fox channel so that's quite entertaining. I suppose to have a tea/coffee maker in my room but i didn't and i was wrongly thought that i have it on my next hotel so i didn't check it with them. Please checked carefully what your entitlement is other wise they wont be bothered to prepared it for you. The garden has many banana trees with some of them has the fruit in it. It makes me feel like i'm living in a green house, in a positive way..except for the smelly water of course. The swimming pool is big enough and the water is quite warm on a warm day but compare to the beach, its still swim able..the restaurant served tasty food, from tom yam, mixed veggie and the rice was just soft, with bottle of chang beer, sit in front of the beautiful and quiet beach, its a very relaxing moment.. morning time the tide is very low and you can walk as far into the sea as the shallow water allows you. Thong sala beach is very quiet but on the main road the Tesco lotus is just nearby. motorbike rental is just in the corner, not even a minute away from the hotel. Hotel also provides motorbike rent cos 250 bath whereas just around the corner only 200 baht. Phantip night market is close by where you can get local food with touristy environment. I enjoyed the pork satay which sold by the old lady, only 10 baht a piece, very tasty. After a long ride around the island and visiting the crowd haad rin beach and parties, i found going back to the quiet hotel is very calming. Enjoying cold chang beer from Tesco lotus that i kept in the mini bar with pork satay from phantip market and fox movie on, that's consider a great holiday..If the water improved, i think i'll be back and stay there again.

Room Tip: the room in front of the beach is bigger and has better view. The quiet beach is just perfect for re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

First impressions of this place was how lovely it seemed. OH SO WRONG!

We booked the room through Agoda as they had a 'flash deal ' going. Once we arrived we requested an upgrade as we were to be there for 11days and wanted a little extra space. One might think that during low season when the hotel is only a quarter full, they would oblige and give us a good rate. In her defence, the receptionist did her best, calling the manager several times but the manager is a halfwit and refused. We wanted a rate the receptionist said we could have gotten if we went directly through the hotel but because we booked through Agoda they weren't going to give us this rate. For the record, we had been travelling around Thailand for 6 months and had an extremely good idea about hotel pricing around the country! 

Wanting to settle into our smaller room, we found it packed with Mosquitos, an A/C that had pieces of cardboard all around it in an attempt to stop it rattling, a toilet that was disgustingly filthy and wardrobe doors that don't open because the handle simply comes off in your hand.  Not at all good enough for a hotel of this supposed standard! We asked to move to another room, inspecting it first. The receptionist spent 10 mins scrubbing that toilet too, before it looked acceptable and the handy man had to fix the wardrobe handles as well. It was also full of Mosquitos and we had to get the room sprayed which we are not in favour of with all the chemicals, but 5 bites in the space of 5mins wasn't going to make the following 11 days any more pleasant.

First night going to have a shower, we were exposed to the putrid smell of the water. It really does smell like poo! We'd stayed at 2 other locations on this gorgeous island and nowhere else did we have this problem. Then there was the bed- ROCK HARD, one step up from wooden boards and extremely uncomfortable! We did ask if they had a soft top layer for us as we had encountered the same issue during our travels around Thailand and other places always had a solution but not Da Kanda.

The staffs' hands are tied behind their backs at this place. Restaurant for breakfast will not accommodate people with gluten intolerance, giving you an extra egg instead of all the bread for example. Don't even get me started on the bacon, where you get one rash only and if you ask for an extra side of bacon it's still only one rash you get. Maybe they're sensitive about the consumption of bacon seeing as the owner has a pet pig that has its own human size bed it sleeps in, inside the bedroom next to the owner.

 You get the idea.... Run a mile there are loads of other lovely places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel is situated about 30 mins taxi from haad Rin where the full noon party is, but walking distance to thong sala, the hotel offer complimentary pick up/drop off to this pier! And complimentary water each day, I stayed in B10 and the room was ok, bed was hard but clean, the bathrooms are horrendous!!! No paint or tiles they have printed a flower in the dark plaster which is awful, they also have windows that are open and you can't close them, lizards and all sorts can get in! But close the door and ull be fine! Staff were helpful however after the FMP came back to see all the keys laid out unattended on the desk, I could have gone into anyone's room! Apart from that it was ok! Booked ferry here! And the pool was good. DO NOT HIRE MOPEDS FROM THIS HOTEL!!! They were awful standard and consumed more fuel than I've ever known!!!! And when we complained we were confronted by a very aggressive guy that threatend us with our passports etc!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in the Da Kanda in June, 2012 for 4 days over the full moon party period. Originally we had booked into another resort but on arrival it was disgusting and we checked back out immediatly.

Da Kanda is a beautiful resort with lovely bungalows (plenty of space). The beach on Koh Phangan is a little dissapointing though as the tide does not come in until late evening so it can look a little bare during the day.

The restaurant in Da Kanda is ok, probably better for breakfast than dinner to be honest (food can be a bit hit and miss in the evenings), good value though!

The only downside I can think of in this resort is the beds, my god the beds, i dont think i have ever slept (or tried to sleep) so badly in all of my life, the beds are awful - rock solid!

All in all, it was a lovely resort, 5 mins walk to thongsala and a 30 min taxi to Full Moon Party (great to chill out next day).

I woudl recommend the hotel but would warn people about the beds.

The staff are lovely (especially Bang Bang on reception) and will do anything they can to help!

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows rather than the main building - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed in B14 (Standard with sea-view). They have A/C, balcony, minibar - 2 daily free water, safe, reliable WIFI in-room, 2 towels - 1 for beach + 1 for bath (new everyday), hot shower, massive rooms.

We stayed there for about a week, I think it's better than the villas because the bathroom isn't outdoors. Our room got a good view and wifi is pretty good. Staff are friendly.

The only thing I didn't like is their bathroom, nothing to do with the decor, it's the water. It smells like rotten egg which I self conclude that it might be traces of sulfur.. I have to let the water run until I get the non-smelly water.

For breakfast, it's fine but their tea and ovatine taste funny.. I think it's the water.. it makes my mouth furry and dry. Feels like it's burning my throat dry.. and it stays there for a while so I only order juice only.

Other than that, I was satisfied with my overall stay. Thong Sala is a great place to hang with cheap and good food which is walkable (a bit of a walk but doable) from Dakanda.

The beach is really shallow and super hot, I suggest swimming in their swimming pool. It's good size and has a deep end!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Dakanda for a week, and we did like it.

Location is in Thong Sala along the beach, which means it's about 5-10min walk into Thong Sala and a trip anywhere else. You really need to factor in getting a scooter if you stay here. And it's not the kind of resort that you would just stay here all day. Nice place, but it isn't luxury pools and dining everywhere.

The wifi was very stable form the rooms, about 300KB/s. But your mileage might vary from the villas which are further away from reception.

The pool was great because as many might comment, the beach itself is incredibly pictureque, but also very shallow. The pool is nice and deep.

The rooms are all quite spacious. The rooms above reception are well equiped, and all have their own balcony space with chair and table. All rooms have aircon, bar fridge, free bottled water and tv. The rooms furniture is all concrete built into the room.

The tap water smells of sulphur, which I assume is from ground water. This is perfectly common but rotten egg smells every time you turn on the water might be unpleasant, but completely harmless...

Breakfast was fair.

Room B14 is centered above the walkway to the beach, so it is the only room that will actually have a beach view, the others are blocked by the banana trees.

There are also villas are much bigger, but the bathroom areas are not enclosed with a cieling. So it's not that pleasant and only a couple villas at the very front can see the sea. But your privacy is so very low, you might end up keeping your blinds closed.

Staff were a tad too casual, friendly, but not entirely professional.

Room Tip: Villas are less likely to have decent wifi coverage, also have minimal privacy since they are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Address: 19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakanda Villa Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.