We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.... Amazing from start to finish!! Did not want to leave!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phangan Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Phangan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phangan Beach Resort
111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Birmingham,UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow.... Amazing from start to finish!! Did not want to leave!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at phangan beach resort. Literally just arrived home today and the place is so good we had to share our review ASAP! The beach is amazing, lovely pool, perfect location and clean rooms for a really good price!! We even cancelled our flight to Bangkok so we could stay an extra 3 nights. It was so worth it! The staff are amazing! Especially the bar man who is called "Boy" A special thanks to Adam, Andy and co for looking after us and making our holiday fantastic! This is not a 5* resort... But it was the best hotel we had stayed in after travelling round all of thailand. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting ko phangan! Luke and Gemma x

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    56
    14
    14
    25
See reviews for
12
77
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayeid four nights in this small but very confortable resort.
We have choosen a beach bungalow which is really one steps from the water.
Beautiful bar to take some aperitives on the beach, very friendly staff, ample choice of breakfast.
very good position not far from haad rin and near to different good restaurant and stores.
Very good services: they can arrange directly for you excursions, scooter rental, transfers etc.
We had great days, higly recommended!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 3 days in one of their bungalows. Yes, the price was good, but the vibe was off.
First- the techno dance music that plays every night completely ruins the vibe. At one point, the music on the beach was different from the obnoxious musi playing steps away from the restaurant. I asked them to maybe at least sync up the music, but the apathetic English man working there did nothing.
Also, while we there, there had clearly been an issue with the management and her staff. We knew because she was berating her staff loudly in front of guests. The same management who never said hello, but were always drinking at the bar. The same management who screamed at us when we ( a grown, pretty boring couple) were splashing in the pool. If you want to party and listen to something off dance mix 99, go here. If you'd like to be treated like an adult on vacation, I suggest Le Devine Comedie just down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhanganBeachResort, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
thank you for your comments and your review ,if possible i would like if you could please email me regarding the staff "shouting at you " for splashing in the swimming pool?,i find this very hard to believe as we have a family friendly resort and i have never heard of this ever in the history of the resort and find it very difficult to believe,but i would like more info regarding this comment if possible , i agree with your comments regarding the music and i have now instructed the barman with new play lists to suit the mood throughout the day and evening ,2 other comments that i do not agree with are ,1,any disputes with staff at the resort are delt with in the appropriate manner and place ,languages sound very different from other peoples tones and this can get confused by tourists listening to local peoples tones ,but i understand your confusion so i can accept your mistake ,2. your comments regarding management at the bar? is this wrong? we have a very close relationship at phangan beach resort with its cusotmers and by your own admission you have explained you are boring ? not every visitor at the resort is this way and enjoys time with its staff and management team giving them a personal insight into island life and advise for their future travels in and around thailand ,if the management are not working and have finished their working day then i have no problem with the staff or management drinking with the customers and or taking the guests out and showing them our beautiful island .one thing also i can agree with is your comments on the other resort mentioned? a very nice resort but 3 times the expense of phangan beach resort, different vibe /different feel and very different prices but i am happy that you found your little haven on our beautiful island,i look forward to reading your comments that i have requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here in January.its the 5th time we have been to the resort.the staff are very friendly.we wanted to see the island but not on a motorbike,so they arranged everything for us by getting a pick up truck with a driver who had extensive knowledge of the island,we had a great day.they also arranged and advised us on the best way to get up to Bangkok.they really do make make you feel welcome.the food was really nice,western and Thai.we spent alot of time around the swimming pool and the beach bar,for us it is the perfect place to have a real relaxing holiday.oh and I can't forget how great the massages were.we had one nearly everyday.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place had a really nice atmosphere with really friendly staff. The resort is right on the beach (hence the name) with cool little bungalows. Although if I was going again I would definitely go for the air con option. Food was nice although slightly above our tiny budget (although didn't find anything much cheaper on the island!) The only problem was that we had to stay at least 5 nights (3 would have been enough for us!) There is a nice pool to help you recover from the full moon party antics... and a bar on the beach when you're ready to go again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

stayed at phangan last month. top beach resort with pool, bar and restaurant. friendly staff who are always ready to help you for onward travel, taxi or hiring a scooter. would definitely recommend and come back to this little paradise, just so chilled out. Andy and co, it's a thumbs up from me see ya soon guys!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsganj
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here 4 days, 2 couples. This place was the best time in our whole trip to Thailand. It was just the ambiance of the resort together with the weather which made all so good. Rooms were good, and we never asked for any housekeeping. Though we all were vegetarians but the still we had few options in the restaurant. Food was also good. Cannot say more about this place, just go and enjoy one of your best times in life.

One thing which we didn't like about the hotel was that, while checking out the owner charged us for the transport to the pier while she provided free while we were checking in. When we reached the pier we saw most of the tourist were coming on the resorts own transport and free of cost. Its not about the charge but its about attitude and service.

Room Tip: We had the most expensive room in the hotel so all was good with a sea view. But I think other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhanganBeachResort, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
thank you for your kind words, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at pbr , i will pass on to our team your comments ,our team work very hard to make sure you have an unforgettable experience and it makes it all worth while when we receive such kind words, a big thank you from us all, i would just like to explain to you that we do offer a free pick up service from the pier ,a lot of other resorts do not offer this service at all,or they add this into the price of the stay at the resort , we just believe that on arrival to our beautiful island it helps with a swift and easy transfer into the resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phangan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Beach Resort

Address: 111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phangan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Phangan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phangan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.