We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort with minor flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phangan Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Phangan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Phangan Beach Resort
111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort with minor flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Phangan Beach for eight nights. The resort is not directly located at the main road, a small gravel road leads to the resort. If you got much luggage and missed the shuttle service, ask the driver to let you out in front of the resort and not at the main street.

Phangan Beach is a very beautiful, clean and well-kept resort with nice owners and employees. They got some concrete bungalows and the standard wooden bungalows. We stayed at B7 and had a wonderful seaview with lots of kite-action.

For kite-boarders and those interested in that sport Phangan Beach is probably the best choice, if you prefer swimming and snorkeling you should do trips to better areas (Haad Salat, Koh Mao etc). The sea is pretty low there, so swimming is perfect for litte children, but maybe not so good fun for adults.

The restaurant has some nice snacks (Pizza, Honey wings) but was not as convincing as other restaurants we visited. A match billard costs 20 Baht.

An internet terminal is missing, but they got free wifi for those who bring their smartphones/tablets with them.

Concerning the room (B7): We thought the AC was placed a bit bad directly over the beds where the heads are rested, but it has probably to be there due to lacking alternatives. The room itself was ok, even though the small whirlpool-fridge a bit to loud. But overall: A beautiful room in a really nice resort with many awesome people and an incredible beachbar.

The only thing they could improve is the music, but thats just a matter of taste, right?!

And a word to Ban Tai: there are way more beautiful bays, beaches and villages on Phangan like Haad Salad or Haad Khom, Ban Tai itself is not the most beautiful village, located directly at the main street.But what makes Ban Tai really so special is the location: you can get to everywhere in no time. So it's really worth a thought about making Ban Tai the homebase for day trips to the rest of the island.

Room Tip: Concrete rooms are always better than wooden bungalows. The seaview is incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    53
    12
    14
    22
See reviews for
11
71
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good location-about 25 minutes walk or a short taxi ride from Thong Sala pier. There was a free transfer waiting for us when our boat arrived at the pier which was a nice suprise. We stayed in a beach front bungalow with good working air con, comfy bed and mini bar with prices no more than those charged at the bar. A really good place for a solo traveller to meet new people due to the beach bar which acted as a meeting point for most guests every evening. We hadn't done a lot of drinking during the trip until this point where we quickly made up for lost time! Relaxed atmosphere, nice pool with an adjoining massage area. The resort food wasn't the best we had eaten during our trip but there were plenty of good, cheap places nearby. Y

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed with a friend at Phangan Beach Resort during January, it was such a beautiful place. With our villa right on the beach, I didn't need to leave the resort to have a great time. The staff were so easy to get along with and were so helpful with everything, they also gave us really great advise for places to see and where to go diving. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days in November and found the Phangnan Beach to be a very relaxing place to stay! The location is unbelievable, right on the beach and an amazing place to watch the sunset!
The facilities were also really good, having a pool, a nice restaurant and also a bar that stays open until you can't drink anymore (thanks for that Adam!)
Adam arranged a car hire for the day and showed us the best places to go on the island and also organised for transport to and from the half moon party! Great service!

The accomodation was just basic but that's exactly what we paid for and if we had upgraded to another room then I'm 100% sure it would of been better but it was ok for us!

A great place to stay if you want a quiet getaway from haad rin! It's a bit set back off the main road but its only a few min walk to local restaurants and bars!

Definatly would recommend :)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed over Christmas and New Years and really rate the resort. My first day after long travels a free taxi was sent for me at the pier and when I arrived I wasn't disappointed. Walking straight through the resort to the lovely beach with hammocks I arrived at the bar and got the first of many of the lush cocktails at the beach bar. The rooms were just the right size and we had an extra person. We did fine with a fan at that time of year.
There was a christmas day dinner that was delicious and a full moon bbq too! We ate in the restaurant and the food was good. Resort staff were all very helpful. defo recommend staying here. Thanks team pbr

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for 9 days in December after reading such good reviews on Trip Advisor.
It certainly lived up to its reputation. We stayed in a beach front bungalow, the sea a stone’s throw away however I would recommend staying anywhere on the resort as you are never more than a few meters from the beach. If I had to use two words to describe our trip it would be idyllic and relaxing. Food was excellent, can’t recommend the Thai green curry enough. Staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. All in all a great resort ran by a great team.
Be prepared to get a taxi if you want to venture out or hire a bike. Taxi’s are approx £2 to local town and restaurants and you can easily flag them down. Don’t let the reviews about location of this resort put you off, it seems you need a bike or taxi to get anywhere in Kho Phangan . The resort isn’t in the thick of it but that’s its charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samui
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am back to Phangan Beach Resort after one year -Amazing Place.Long beach side , very clean bungalows, nice garden, many new renovations and most friendly owners. Definitely the best resort on island to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phangan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Phangan Beach Hotel
Phangan Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Address: 111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#33 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Phangan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phangan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.