We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phangan Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Phangan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phangan Beach Resort
111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. Unfortunately the weather was terrible when we were there so we were unable to utilise facilites such as the pool and beach.
We were upgraded for free to a beach front villa.
Room was clean and well furnished with effective air conditioner, dvd player and good showers with a reliable h20 supply.
Owners are european and some staff also native english speakers which was great. Free wifi in communal areas but because of the weather, wasn't always reliable.

Nice eatery and bar offering thai and western foods for good prices. Owners happily organised pick up from the pier as well as a taxi to take us back the following day.
Location was good for us as we didn't want to stay in the main town but maybe a 20-25 minute walk to town.

Overall, good accomm and would definately stay there again./ Hopefully in better weather and for longer :)
Overall

Room Tip: lovely private villas :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhanganBeachResort, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
thank you so very much for your kind words within your response, i assure you i will pass on all the praise to the staff at phangan beach who are dedicated to making sure you have a wonderful holiday while staying with us ,if you are ever on this side of the world again please pop in and see us or if you need any help or ideas regarding travel in thailand please feel free to contact me directly,have a wonderful holiday and safe travels,your pbr team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    58
    14
    15
    26
See reviews for
12
79
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kl
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a hut made of zinc for 450 baht,as other comments says pay a bit extra for a room with ac due to the hut is like sauna in day or night time even with a fan.hut is without hangers,table,chair,plug point or any other thing you might think should be in a normal room. Have you own bathroom but not attached to room about 10 steps from the room. It has a nice landscape,pool which you can't bring any f&b items and beach. Beer is at 60 baht which is about 60% higher than normal shops. Reception only work till 6pm which if you arrive after this time you need to search for the person in charge. Has 2 unfriendly guardian dogs until they are familiar with you. Rent a bike once you arrive at the pier at 200 baht a day caused you do need a bike wherever you stay so that it easy for you for you return to pier unless you have big bags

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here over full moon period. When we arrived we were a day late (my fault booking the wrong dates) and luckily they still had room. We originally were booked into twin room but had none left. They offered to give us fan room or we could pay extra for beach front. Was quite a lot so opted for fan. However after mentioning it was my birthday the next day they generously gave us the beach front for nothing.
The room itself was lovely with good air con, fridge, comfy bed and tv. Shower was good and all clean. The only minor thing was the lock, a little annoying having to open an lock everytime - maybe something easier can be used? The location was brilliant, we much prefer staying in baan tai when visiting the island - far enough but close enough to full moon and close to the pier, jungle party and restaurants. The grounds are lovely and looked after greatly (more than once a day) and they have plenty of furniture on the beach. The staff were all brilliant both the Thai and western staff (sorry didn't get any Thai staff names), always would ask how you were doing. Aaron and Adam both brilliant, interacting with the guests and good drinking buddies. The lady (manager I think) also lovely and always asking if things were alright. The restaurant was clean and nicely decorated, the food we ate was good (best masaman I've ever tried) my only criticism would be too expensive for portion size for example. Beach bar brilliant and loads of different drinks, was lovely for them to have free BBQ on full moon night too. We also went on the boat trip run by them, it was good to see other parts of the island and we had a small group of about 12 on a fairly large boat. Again my only criticism would be it was slightly overpriced.
Overall we loved our stay here, one of the best resorts we have stayed at over a year long trip. I would definitely recommend Phangan beach resort and will definitely return when I'm back on the island.
Cheers guys!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We loved our stay here, it felt like somewhere we should be paying lots of money for but it was very reasonably priced. Excellent swimming pool with massage area at the side (you pay for treatments) and the beach is right infront of the hotel with hammocks and bean bags on for you to use. The food and drinks were great and the bar staff were really friendly. We stayed here while the Full Moon was on and got a taxi down to Haad Rin each night (100 baht each), we never had to wait for a taxi and we much preferred doing this than staying in an over priced and noisy hotel in Haad Rin.
The only bad things were that there wasnt many places to eat other than the hotel when we wandered on to the main road. Also you could only use the wi fi in the restaurant, there was no signals in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

this place is brilliant, we didnt know what to expect when we got there and we had paid for ahut. the huts are great you dont even need air conditioning the huts with fans are cool enough at night anyway andthere clean, everything here is clean.

the food is great and fairly cheap, for any british travellers, they sell pork sausages something that isnt easy to find over here.

the bar staff adam is a top lad and i have never met anyone that can go out every night and still turn up for work the next and get on with it. a hard worker and a great laugh.

same goes for aaron the guy who has put some new things on the menu, good food he has brought to the place hope he carries on with it.

thanks to all the staff we will be back at some point

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Awesome place! Will for sure return there.
Great service and accomodation with a western touch.
Clean and friendly. And it's on a super beautiful beach.
Just don't lose your room key .. :-) it's 2000Baht! hahaha

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Thanks to the friendly and knowledgable staff at Phangan Beach resort our stay on Koh Phangan was a memorable one. The resort is on the beach and has a relaxed feel to it. Massage beds, swimming pool, beach bar and great hands-on owners. Adam and Aaron were extremely helpful and great company.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phangan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Beach Resort

Address: 111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phangan
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Phangan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phangan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.