We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phangan Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Phangan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Phangan Beach Resort
111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mellbystrand, Sweden
1 review
“Really good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I like this hotel a lot. Nice people, after a day all people at the hotel are like family:)! Bungalow on the beach, perfect! A small place and and it feels like the beach is for the customers only, so not many people on the beach, good. Really good service. i will come and visit again. =)=)


/Mikaela

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    71
    20
    18
    26
See reviews for
15
97
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

great stay, great people, great location on a lovely island

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

The staff here were great espically Adam who is general manager and a great tour guide. He knows everything about the island. So do speak to him about anything and having an English family running the resort gave us some needed home comforts.

The staff were great the pool is lovely and the location is incredible. After a heavy night there can be no better resort to wake up on.

We opted for the cheap fan rooms. Now these are basic units but the bed was comfy and it had wifi so what more do you want for 550bahts a night, split with a friend. I loved phangang and loved this resort and will be going back.

All in all if you want an amazing room pay for the air con units, if you just want an amazing stay get a fan room and just enjoy the resort. Also food there was good.

Can't wait to go back.

Adam and the London Lads

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had booked a stay here for the weekend of a full moon party. On arrival the receptionist first pretended that we didn't have a booking. When I produced a confirmation email he went away and thirty seconds later came back with a printout of the same which he clearly had before. He then explained that there are regularly overbookings due to issues they have with online booking companies and that they wouldn't honour our booking. We were offered a room in the resort next door for the same price. The air conditioning there was broken. We ended up moving resort and at our next resort we met people who had had the same experience so this was not a rare event!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Enjoyed this place, we were well looked after from the free pick up from port right all the way to the free drop off again when we were leaving. Owners were very friendly and helpful. They were always on the premises and ran a great business. Beach and grounds are cleaned ever day and the place is immaculately clean! The night before we left the fan fell off the locker and broke in to pieces, we informed the owner's the next morning, they did not charge us anything extra and were very understanding! Food service in the restaurant is a bit on the slow side but well worth the wait. I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort!

Room Tip: If I were to stay here again I would pay the extra for an air con cabin as it does get very hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I just traveled back to the Soviet Union, but it is now located in Ko Phangan, Thailand.

I was excited to spend two nights in Ko Phangan to partake in the Half Moon Party.

I emailed Andy, the owner, a couple of times before I arrived with questions. I took the ferry on 3/15, and called the hotel before I arrived. I spoke with Adam, he shared with me that he did not have a reservation for me. I shared with him my confirmation number from booking.com. He affirmed there was no booking on his end. And his hotel was sold out.

I arrived at the hotel. Adam asked me to wait in the restaurant while he checked in other guests. After waiting for ninety long minutes in the hot afternoon Adam walked me over to the adjacent hotel and left me there to my own devices. This hotel resembled an abandoned set used for a zombie movie. A room was shown to me that was similar to a dilapidated shack that the Unabomber would hole up in.

The hotel owner was quoting me the same price as quoted in my reservation at the Phangan Beach Resort. But it was not the equivalent room. The abandoned zombie camp was not somewhere I wished to stay.

I traipsed back to the Phangan Beach Resort and found Adam. I shared with him my confusion. I said it seemed unfair that he was not honoring the reservation that I made. If he did not a have a room available at his hotel, I believed it was his responsibility to find me another hotel option at the same cost with the equivalent quality.

Adam then shared with me that it was not his fault. He said booking.com was at fault, and he was not responsible at all. He mentioned that they have had problems with booking.com in the past. I asked him if that was the case why would he continue to have a relationship with them and allow themselves to be represented by them.

At this point, Adam called the owner Andy, who in an aggressive tone reaffirmed that Phangan Beach Resort was not at all responsible for a confirmed reservation made through booking.com and I was on my own. He directed me to call booking.com directly.

Imagine, buying an airplane ticket on Expedia.com, arriving at the airport, and the airline denying you a seat on your confirmed ticket, because they do not necessarily honor reservations from Expedia.

Or imagine, buying a steak at a restaurant, and finding out the piece of meat is spoiled. When you approach the manager, he denies any responsibility, and tells you to call the farmer who raised the cow. “It is not my problem!!! You figure it out!!”

This sounds like the service level reminiscent of Soviet Union.

But now you can find that level of caring and warmth from Andy the owner of Phangan Beach Resort in the year 2012.

As you have figured out, I am highly recommending that you do not patronize this hotel. This type of service should not be rewarded, but should be shunned.

Customers should be respected and helped.

More ammunition. I finally took Andy, the owner's advice, and contacted booking.com after my stay. (they sent me of the confirmation number of the fax they sent to the hotel) Booking.com is a very professional organization. They immediately took my information and investigated situation.

They contacted Andy, who not suprisingly, told booking.com that I was very satisfied with my experience. I am not sure why he is so dishonest!

Booking.com then emailed me their policy...On the rare occasion that a hotel becomes overbooked, we require the hotel to take all necessary steps to ensure that your reservation is transferred to a suitable alternative hotel or we will do so ourselves so as to not inconvenience you more.

I guess Andy beats to his own drum in the Bizzarro World. Since his response was "it is not my fault or problem", hence dear customer you figure it out.

Sadly, we are talking about such a small amount of money. Booking.com again demonstrated their professionalism and just offered me a $20 credit. I would advise booking.com to not partner with people like Andy and Phangan Beach Resort. They do manage their manage their business like the honest professionals at booking.com.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhanganBeachResort, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
to be fair there was a mistake regarding this booking and i apolopgise if you may feel if it was not corrected to your satisfaction, as you well know i was not on the island on your arrival as i was away in bangkok on business .we at phangan beach resort never received the confirmation fax from the agent mentioned, we had many problems earlier this year with a breakdown of communication from the netherlands main office ,they have rectified this problem now and we have had no problems since.as i understand adam had shown you more than one resort we could have accomodated you in ?and one of them is actually on trip advisor rated in the top ten?but you chose not to take it?and finally decided to stay at our resort for 2 days in a slightly downgraded room?i am happy that you stayed at the resort and i will take your comments seriously and make sure that no zombies enter my resort from next door..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

What a place....if you are looking for full moon party antics, you will find them, if you are looking for chilled out beach paradise, you will find it.
The beach and setting is idyllic, the rooms are cute bungalows on the beach, with decent showers and facilities. The bar is open as long as you need it to be, the food service is very good offering all tyes of cuisine, from thai salads to lasagne, to home made pizza.
You are treated as if in a huge family, everyone is super friendly and made us feel very welcome. Hats off to Adam the best bar man on the island! Prices very competitive. I would definately recommend this resort and if I visit KP again this is where i will be staying.

Room Tip: definately go for beach front, if you can't cope with creepy crawlies go for a cement build
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phangan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Beach Resort

Address: 111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phangan
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Phangan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phangan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.