We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel on Koh Phangan, felt like a second home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phangan Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Phangan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Phangan Beach Resort
111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best Hotel on Koh Phangan, felt like a second home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

When booking the Phangan Beach resort we were looking very forward to getting there. On arrival the Staff were very friendly and showed us strait to our room. The room had all the requirements you expect, air con, a fridge, tv and comfy beds. The best part of the Bungalows obviously are them being rite on the Beach! What more could you ask for waking up to the sound of the sea!

The owner (Andy) made us feel rite at home, we loved the hotel that much when travelling round South East asia we returned to Koh Phangan and The Phangan Beach resort on numerous occassions, we didnt even think of booking any where else. When ever we felt home sick the resort felt like our second home. While we were there it was my sisters birthday and they even arranged a cake and a small barby on the beach for us. If thats not good customer serivce i don't know what is!

We chose the Phangan Beach resort as we didnt really fancy staying in Had rin. And for the full moon trips they will always arrange taxis and different times to come and collect you to take you to Had Rin. They also arranged for a massive barby to be put on for the full moon nights....a full roasted pig being the best part!

Andy also arranged a boat trip for the day which was also fantastic!

Benefits of the hotel.

Close to the boat
Near restaurants
The food being FANTASTIC ( Some of the nices meals we had in Thailand )
Rite on the beach (which is lovely)
Best customer service we recvd in Thailand
Nice Bungalows

I couldn't fault the resort at all and can't wait to head back there! If there are any bad reviews on here IGNORE THEM :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhanganBeachResort, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
we from time to time as with most resorts receive bad reviews online and sometimes hurts both myself and our team at pbr ,i keep my team up to date with customer remarks and when we receive reviews like this makes all the hard work worth every minute , we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at pbr ,it was a pleasure to spend time with you guys , if you are ever coming over this way again in the future just email me or even pop in for a coffee and a chat and have a catch up on your adventures , once again i would like to thank you from us all at pbr for your touching comments ,your pbr team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    64
    16
    17
    25
See reviews for
12
90
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011 via mobile

Just spent 7 nights at pbr with my girlfriend... booked a fan bungalow online and for once in Thailand the rooms where EXACTLY as they are in the pictures. Very well maintained and very clean and simple. All the staff where fantastic and speak excellent English... which was a great help as it was our first time on koh phangan. Andy the owner and his wife where excellent hosts and could never do enough... even down to making sure you weren't getting ripped off by local tour operators and taxi drivers!

Very chilled out during the day which is exactly what we wanted but with a decent gathering around the beach bar every night!

I think what I liked the most was that the owners were always wanting to get involved with their guests and interact with them... even just having a beer on a night with us all made it feel very hospitable.

Hope to see you guys in the future either on the way home from oz or maybe just a two week holiday next year! Keep doing what you do. It works!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhanganBeachResort, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
apart from only answering and explaining when we have the odd bad review i think it is very important to thank you personally for writing such a lovely review for the resort ,its people like you who have made phangan beach resort the resort it is today , it has taken us 5 long years and a lot of very hard work to be where we are today and we all at pbr would like to thank you for your kind words and support, we very much hope that our paths will cross again in the future,even if you are in thailand but not coming to phangan please feel free to email me and i will try and give you as much info that you need,again a bi big thank you from us all @ pbr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Hands down the best place i have stayed in Thailand! Amazing location, beautiful and pristine accomodation and excellent staff. Andy and Dace are the most welcoming hosts and go out of their way to make you feel most welcome. If your travelling alone or in a group this is one of the places i recommend to stay. Have been back twice so far and every person i have recommended loves it as much as i do! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhanganBeachResort, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
a real pleasure to meet you guys , i/we cant thank you enough for the kind words, look forward til the next time , have fun and happy travelling, pbr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Phangan Beach Resort is a basic hotel. My husband and I chose the deluxe beachfront bungalow. At 1700b/night it was way way more expensive that other hotels we stayed in in Phuket, Bangkok, and Ko Phangan. Unfortunately there is no swimming there - the beach is stagnant and shallow and no pool either. This was disappointing as we love to take a dip to escape from the heat. We chose this hotel after reading the glowing reviews and wanted to feel welcomed like a person - not a number. We did not get this. The owner Andy was nice and helpful on the couple times we asked him for things. We did not get the same vibe from hs wife. We were not asked once about our experience there which was sad considering how much of our budget was spent on the room. The lack of wifi was disappointing too. Finally, it seemed like there was not much design that went into the room - see points below about lack of storage and materials.

Pros:
-Nice beachfront location if you don't like to go in the water

-Nice property - very laid back and chill

-Nice owner Andy

-Nice bartender O

Cons:

-Bathroom smelled of urine - I think a little bit of sewage was backing up from the drain next to the sink. Cleanliness in general was superficial. The fixtures were really grubby and scaley.

-No separate shower area - just a head over the toilet - this gets really wet when you just want to use the bathroom

-There is nowhere in the bathroom to put your things. Literally - there is a pedestal sink with zero space to put toothbrushes/soap/whatever No shelf, no hooks. Just on top of the toilet where things get wet, including the toilet paper.

-There are signs everywhere warning about the cost of things if you mess up. Everything has a fine associated with it. I get it - they have prob been burned by irresponsible partiers - it just added to the feel like a number vibe. We were refused extra towels but instead instructed to return during business hours to exchange.

-This is a big one - there is no wifi in the rooms and the wifi in the restaurant is spotty - it did not work when we needed it.

-Materials and maintenance of bungalow was not good. The plastic door had holes in it and the lock was broken. The handle for the shower broke while we were showering and sprayed water for a good few minutes while my husband rigged it back on.

For backpacker full moon goers or single travelers, one of the basic rooms here is probably better value in the budget range, but if you have a bit higher expections and more needs, then this is probably not the place for you.

We just moved to the Salad beach resort on the Northwest side of the island. I would recommend this one - their standard rooms for 900b are excellent along with free breakfast,free wifi everywhere, a lovely pool, and swimmable beach front location.

Room Tip: Basic room probably better value. No-frills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhanganBeachResort, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
reading this review i have spoken to my maintenence department and the remark regarding the bathroom door was correct and we apologise for this and this problem has now been resolved with a new door and fittings , the plumming and sewerage has been checked and as an ex builder and construction business owner i and my team have found no relevance to the remark regarding the smell and alledged sewerage ,it suprises me to hear that the service the customer received wasnt what they actually expected? i personally meet and greet 95% of phangan beach resorts customers on arrival, this perticular customer has an incident with a motorbike accident after drinking within the resort complex and came to me as soon as he understood that there was going to be charges from the motorbike rental operation (nothing to do with the resort as we do not reccoment motorbike rentals on the island as we see so many accidents ,we always reccomment jeeps if within the customers budget)in my own time and nrgotiations with the rental company i managed to save the customer a little over 7000 baht and this is why i feel very suprised why the heading of this review shocks me , we are commited to our customers and their opinions to improve the resort constantly , we never pretend to be any thing more than we actually are but i think because we are such a well known and highly respected resort people expect a 5 star hotel with budget prices. the review also comments on the ocean? the result of a low tide is purely timing, the island of koh phangan has a tide change for 3 months a year where the high water is during the night time and the low tide is during the day,this normally switches by the middle of july ,the resort has had plans to install a swimming pool but we are now only waiting for a window in our busy schedule to start construction to minimize disruption to our guests,the pool should be completed by the end of june,if the customer in question has any more queries or points of view they would like to discuss please email me
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Run by the nicest, most helpful people you can ever meet, who I would like to think of as friends.
Amazing location on the beach and relaxed atmosphere. Allows you to enjoy the big parties on the island, but then get away and recover. Or just stay there and enjoy a little slice of paradise.
Great for solo travellers, friends and couples!
I will be going back!

Room Tip: Just enjoy one of the friendliest places on the id
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011 via mobile

This place is amazing, owned by a lovely young family. I felt right at home for the first time in Thailand. Very clean bungalows and a terrific reasonably priced restararaunt. Beautiful beach. I can't say enough about this place, I'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Booked a beach hut with a/c and hot water and it was just how we imagined it would be!
Right on the beach, just steps from the sea, inside was traditional wooden hut-style and very cute. Had an open air bathroom but the shower was excellent, as long as you don't mind the odd gecko watching you!
The bar and restuarant were also excellent, cocktails galore and a good choice of food.
The owners were very helpful and informative, they organised a fab bbq the night of the FMP, then sorted taxi's for everyone, including to pick us up which was just what we needed at 7am after a night of dancing!
All in all a fab trip, I would not hesitate to recommend and/or return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phangan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Beach Resort

Address: 111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phangan
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Phangan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phangan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.