We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet beach, charming resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longtail Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longtail Beach Resort
Save
You added Longtail Beach Resort to your Saves list
Moo 5 Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet beach, charming resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This friendly, peaceful resort is located at the end of a beautiful beach that is perfect for families. We staying in a family bungalow on the hill - a bit of a hike up but we had a lovely veranda with a hammock that made the trip worthwhile. Only downside is the huge cost of a taxi to get there or travel anywhere else around the island. Food was only average but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Provided independent advice when asked about tours and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    63
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
124
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in the family bungalow, but it was just my husband and I. Our son decided not to join us..however we kept the air conditioned room instead of changing it to the cheaper 1 bedroom bungalow. Good thing because it was hot! Restaurant at the resort was convenient, and we ate breakfast there daily and some dinners. It is a pretty popular place, and food was good. Service is very friendly. We walked to the village and rented a scooter from an honest woman and her mother across from the bakery towards the end of the street (right side) for 200bht. We left our passport at the resort but they were willing to take a deposit and drivers license, so I'd definitely recommend them.
Our bungalow was clean and had a nice deck and hammock to relax in. Beach was beautiful and we walked down every day. We were here during the school fundraiser event so that night all the local businesses and hotels were selling food and drinks to help the community. Definitely recommend this place for relaxation! Its quiet, and not much to do, but we liked it alot! Also took the scooter to Bottle Beach and the sister beach nearby

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I didn't stay in the resort. We had a very cheap bungalow on the same beach few minutes walk away but we used to go there for a dinner. Its absolutely amazing. Original thai food, beautifully served and really tasty. Prices are really reasonable. I had a massive 3 course dinner with delicious coconut shake for about 300B. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. One of the best experience in Thailand! Must go there if you are in the village

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We originally had booked four nights at Longtail Beach Resort but we added two more nights because we loved it so much! We stayed at one of the garden bungalows with aircon and fan. The bungalow was very clean and sufficiently in space. We had the possibility to shower with warm water (not necessary though due to the heat). The bed was fairly big and had a mosquito net. Matress an sheets were very comfortable, pillows a bit to stiff for my taste, but quite good for sleeping. The bungalow was cleaned every second day. There was one big towel per person. I asked for another towel to use for the beach. It was no problem and they didn't charge anything for it either. Grounds were beautifully taken care of. Staff was very helpful, friendly and attendive. They really spoiled us. The restaurant was at the beachfront, so cozy and welcoming, nicely decorated with fishing nets and beautiful light setting. The food itself was incredibly good! We ate our way from Bangkok over Chiang Mai to Chiang Rai and the food in this Resort is comparably authentic, very tasty and fresh. It only lacked the spiciness if not ordered any different, but you could always order the dish in the regular Thai spice version. Also the western food was surprisingly good. So were the wines they served. And the prices were really little, too. It was the best restaurant on the whole beach, which was proven by all the guests from other resorts coming to Longtail Beach for dining. The beach itself was really clean with beautiful finegraded sand. It was decent for swimming aswell with the water beeing fairly shallow, clear and green. For really ambitioned swimmers the middle part of the bay was the best option. Since the bay itself isn't very long one could walk to the other side of the bay within ten minutes. There are lots of bars and restaurants at the beach. Also the resort has a library containing lots of books in different languages and a reading corner with pillows and tables! The Resort arranged a Taxi for us to take us to the ferry, which wasn't overpriced at all. Actually it was only half the price (200,- baht p. Person) we payed getting to the resort in the first place. We really enjoyed staying here and we can recommend this place for anyone seeking his peace and quiet, who wants to relax and enjoy the beauty of the island and also for families with children since the place is very child safe. Even the resort dogs are very friendly natured, well taken care of and good with children. We will definately return here!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Briliant Location
Brilliant Food
Brilliant Atmosphere
We thought we are in paradise

But....
the second time we went to this resort the paradise atmosphere spoiled when our son was bitten by a stray dog that hangs out in this resort every day while trying to play with it.

The reaction of the management was that this dog is somebody roaming in between the resorts therefore they are not responsible for it. Main feedback was that things like that happen in Thailand from time to time but never heard of on this beach with this dog. We guess the dog is still there so if you have small kids watch out! I obviously acts funky therefore easy to tell which one we refer to. As this resort mainly has either couple travelers or families that keep coming back we find this is a very poor reaction to the incident. Our son is still waking up during the afternoons scared in his sleep this is why i write this review to warn others not to experience the same thing in this place.

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in a fan bungalow for four nights. The bungalow was basic (as you would expect for 500 baht per night!), but it had lots of nice touches and it was very clean. Definitely the best beach bungalow we have stayed in! The staff were really friendly and we also loved the restaurant. The food was reasonably priced (although cheaper food can be found in the village if you are on a strict budget) and there was a great selection of dishes, it was our favourite place to eat on the beach. There are dogs on the resort but we found them to be very laid back and mostly left the guests alone during our stay. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a budget option - it exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: The rooms towards the beach
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent 5 nights in the Grand Family House in late April. It was pretty much what was described on the website and we weren't expecting luxury. The rooms were clean and the bedrooms air conditioned, which was a must at the hottest time of year especially if the resort has no pool.

The balcony could probably have benefitted from an overhead fan as being quite deep into the jungle, the mosquitos were rampant. That said, it was nice to spend some time out there on the seats and hammock.

The staff were very pleasant and we had no cause for complaint in that department. The food in the Longtail restaurant was extremely good and very competitive pricewise. The Thai dishes were very tasty.

There were 2 issues which meant our stay wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been. The first was the amount of dogs that live there and are allowed to roam freely around all areas of the resort including the restaurant. One of them attached herself to our party which wasn't so bad most of the time as she was very quiet, but later on another dog joined which was more temperamental and covered with battle scars. It nipped at my partner's leg and bared its teeth which made her nervous for the remaining time we were there.

The other issue was the hammock slung beneath our bungalow that was used by workers at the resort. We told the staff that we weren't happy having people sleeping under our accommodation, but nothing was done. Again it's something that took the edge off our enjoyment of the resort.

It was a nice enough place at the end of a very nice remote beach. Quite expensive for what it is though when you consider the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#1 of 90 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#2 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
0.1 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#31 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longtail Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longtail Beach Resort

Address: Moo 5 Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Longtail Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longtail Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.