We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longtail Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longtail Beach Resort
Save
You added Longtail Beach Resort to your Saves list
Moo 5 Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Blackpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Photos of this resort can not do it justice hidden away through the jungle from the party side of the island this is a perfect location for a getaway break. Arriving after 2 days travelling from England we walked down the steep incline into the resort (not all taxis will drive down into the small car park so be prepared) the view across the bay was stunning. The road is not all surfaced but the surface although dusty when riding in the back of a pickup taxi was no rougher than the surface of many british potholed side roads.

The huts are basic, the beds 'firm' but adequate if you know what to expect. Take a torch if you want to read in bed (or to stroll on the beach after dark to avoid the mooring ropes) and if you can afford go for the air conditioning as temperatures and humidity were high in April.

The restaurant proved as others have said to be the best and cheapest food on the beach although never expect all the meals to arrive at the same time (anywhere in Thailand!). Everything is charged back to your room and paid for every 3rd day, rooms are cleaned and bed linen changed also every third day.

The staff were all especially friendly and helpful although this might have been helped by the presence of our 20 month old granddaughter. If you want to arrange trips speak to the staff as they arranged a boat trip for snorkeling and hire of a taxi with driver for the day at competitive prices.

An artificial reef to protect the boats directly in front of the resort does mean some silt but a very short walk up the beach brings you to a perfectly clear shallow beach perfect for swimming in the warm waters.

The resort has a small number of deckchairs freely available and a collection of children's beach toys. The village where there are a number of shops, chemist and a small supermarket can be accessed along the beach not up the hill.

Can not recommend this resort enough as long as you accept these are 'huts' on the beach not 5 star hotel rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    51
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
115
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked a room which was a converted boat, this was a great success with my kids. The only downside was getting to our room required a walk up a short but steep hill. The resort is at the edge of the bay and next to the jungle. The experience was amazing and Thong Nai Pan Yai is beautiful. The food and service was excellent at the Longtail. The food was consistantly of high quality. Our stay was laid back and very relaxed. Worth the excellent reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Longtail

Clean and cozy bungalows, very comfortable rooms. Right on the beach. Food is very good - the whole island is a bit over priced we tried elsewhere but this is actually the best deal and quality of food on the beach.

Good service, staff are attentive. Not on the moon party beach but that beach area is dirty, loud and clustered. Only thing is to get from one place to another is 200 baht by taxi. Having said that its not much, there's many beaches on the island but if u plan on wanting quiet in one place this spot is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns, australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Justifiably popular, we booked on TA review/reputation and weren't disappointed. We were 2 couples, and stayed for 4 nights in side by side bungalows a bit back from the beachfront, as this seemed like a more private option with less foot traffic passing by. The huts nearer to the beach did look a little fancier, however, ours had all we needed for a comfortable stay. Air con a plus, as some rooms didn't have this option. All in all, our stay of 4 nights, including a few meals and drinks came to less than AUD$200, which is really great value- we did try a few other restaurants along the beach, but it was decided by all of us that they had the best food by a mile. Had a look around neighbouring Thong Nai Pan Noi, but it just doesn't seem to have the same laid back feel as Yai. Also a plus that Longtail is located at the end of the beach, so a little quieter. Great soft powdery white sand, and pretty lights at night above the deck chairs.

Room Tip: Air-con is great at night so you can keep the windows closed and the insects out, some rooms didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

After having spent 5 days in the North (Chang Mai), we visited Koh Phangan.
We stayed 5 nights at Long Tail Beach Resort. At our arrival, we were "welcomed" by a young LAZY lady, and Mister A ... after repeating 3 times that we have to pay our bill every 3 days, they showed us our bungalow...

Location of hotel is just perfect, on one of the most beautiful beach of phangan...bungalows are on the beach ! that is the good point ! Bungalows are quite small, but it's okay ... cleaning once per week ... it smells humidity, especially on towels ...

the worst thing is the staff, very lazy, you feel like you are bothering them ... they just don't want to work and they are not customer satisfaction orientated ! no smile, no thank you ... nothing pleasant from them !!!

so we were very disappointed, after the 1st night, we wanted to change, but we finally stayed because of the great location ...

we had only the 1st breakfast at hotel, after we decided to move to Baan Panburi, the hotel just next to Longtail ... there, the staff was MUCH better, pleasant, very welcoming, smiling people :))))
For diner, Longtail just propose a basic menu, nothing special ! Fortunately, all hotels/guest houses on that beach offered very very good sea food BBQ every night !!

at the end of our stay, we had a boat leaving at 10am from the peer, so we had to leave from hotel at 8.45 ... they were not even able to organize transport for us to the peer !!! no effort at all, not even to book a taxi !!!

So, if you have choice, go to BAAN PANBURI or Dolphin, but don't stay to Longtail :)

Just location is great, and price :)

Room Tip: BAAN PANBURI HOTEL is much much better (good staff, great BBQ, same bungalows - even bigger!!!) for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our first visit to Koh Phangan and we were certainly not disappointed either with the island or Longtail Beach Resort. We stayed in the boat house (excellent choice) which was a little more expensive but as we were staying for six nights considered it was worth the extra cost for the additional space and privacy. I don't think the web sight does Longtail Beach Resort justice because it was far better than the photographs show. Found getting around the island was not particularly easy unless you had your own transport - was quoted quite highly for a longtail boat to take us to another bay but the owner of Longtail Beach Resort arranged for us with another couple to have a longtail boat for about five hours and we were able to see several different bays at a reasonable price. Found the staff at Longtail very helpful and friendly. Except for one meal we used the restaurant at Longtail Beach Resort due to the good reviews which were justified. Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This place it's lovely! It's The best of The whole beach ( we tried other places but we didn't really like them), The food is amazing, the beach is nice and well equipped for what you need in a beautiful place like that : a shower, a chair and a few toys for The children. The staff wasn't over friendly but still very helpful, and above all they were cool people. We loved to spend 10 days at this resort, as well as our children ( 1 yo and 3 yo), they found many children of their age to play with and that was great. It is also cheap! I reccomend to book well in advance if you want a sea view bungalow, but in this way you will enjoy a beautiful view and not your own privacy as The restaurant's terrace it is right in front of those bungalows.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longtail Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longtail Beach Resort

Address: Moo 5 Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Longtail Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longtail Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.