We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Manali Resort

Save Saved
You added Baan Manali Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Manali Resort
210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room was nice. I think it's worth the price. Very quiet area, owners were very friendly. Too bad toilet wasnt working properly the time we entered the room. it was disgusting. The owner fixed it though. But I would probably go for another hotel next time I visit Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    37
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
91
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Superb! My favourite place to stay on Phangan!
Great food, continental and Thai, wonderful shady place, wonderful
reasonably priced bungalows, well-spaced amongst shady palms.'
Great beach views from bungalows and restaurant.
Professional yet very friendly atmosphere.
Hosts Seb and Liat went out their way to take care of us.
Can't say enough about this wonderful place! Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Most all rooms have great ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

PROS: The villa was clean, well laid out with a patio and a hammock on it. Simple and lovely. The resort was away from town and noise, so it was very peaceful. The beach was nice, but the water in front of the property was not something to swim in. So you could walk around to the other beach on the other side of the lagoon and enjoy the sun and swim. (Bring water shoes as there's lots of coral in the water. Not a nice sandy bottom.) The staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions on what to do nearby. Kayaks were available. They even had a few very sweet cats that would visit, which I loved! Close enough to town you could walk. (not a quick walk) The tour for the Islands and the taxi for full moon party picked you up at the resort. Loved it! I would definitely stay there again. Great hot water and aircon. The price for the villa was amazing! Loved this place!

CONS: No pool and the lagoon in front of the resort was stagnant and too shallow to swim.

Room Tip: No pool. Bring water shoes for swimming in the ocean across the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Baan Manali for 4 nights. Our Bungalow was clean-ish, not super clean.
The Thai staff were very friendly and helpful. The owners (French and Israeli) were rather neutral. Some interpret their attitude as being chilled and laid back, but at times I just found them both to be rude (an example to justify my critique: when I asked for a hair-dryer the owner told me that last time she gave out her hair-dryer, her guest never returned it. so no, i couldn't get a hair-dryer. her lack of trust made me angry). Anyway, you can get better accommodation for the same price in the area.
The place was good for exploring the lovely nearby beaches.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place is fantastic. It is in a great central location so you can access the beautiful and low key northwest beaches as well as night life in the south. The self contained bungalows are great, clean and private with a hammock out front. The property has a small secluded beach as well and you eat breakfast every day with an ocean breeze. The food is also very good and staff/owners extremely helpful. I would very highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Koh Phangon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed there for 8 nights in a family room, and had a great stay. With an interleading door (locked) between the two family rooms, and downstairs from the deluxe room, noisy neighbours could be annoying (kids yelling at 11pm) - some simple foam sound-proofing to fit between the two doors would probably fix it ?

Had cocktails during happy hour almost every day watching the sunset - very relaxing.

The staff were very friendly. Sebastien and Liat (and kids) were always around, very helpful with advice and arranging tours, taxi etc.

The breakfasts were nice, and we ate dinner at the resort twice, and were not disappointed.

The beach is kept very clean in front of the resort by the gardener raking it every morning. In June the water was very low, and very hot, so not a refreshing place for a quick dip, and certainly no swimming (it is only knee deep).

It is a convenient distance from Thong Sala, being nice and quite, but an easy walk in the evening. Access to the piers for ferries or tour boats was cheap and easy.

We would stay there again - good service, nice room, good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived at Baan Manali and loved it straight away. It's very chilled and such a relaxing place. The owners are lovely and make you feel very welcome. If you are unsure of where to go or what to do you can just ask and they are more than happy to help. The bungalows are beautiful - very modern and clean and each one has it's own hammock (which are very comfortable) The beach is right on your doorstep and the bar/restaurant is close by too.
The staff are all really friendly and the food is lovely.
You can hire a kayak and take it to a nearby island - which is like a desert island and it's very beautiful. These are very cheap at 2 hours for £4.00.
There is also a little town nearby which takes about 10minutes to walk to, not far at all - it has bars/shops/restaurants/salons etc. and by the time you keep walking and looking around your in thongsala. It really isn't far at all.
This is a very beautiful location and i can't wait to visit again in the future. Thank you to all the staff for looking after us. 3 nights was not long enough!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baan Manali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Manali Resort

Address: 210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 min walking from the main village of the island, Baan Manali Resort is a quiet and relaxing nest, surrounded by coconut trees, facing the lagoon. Spread in a tropical garden, our 11 cozy bungalows, built in traditional way, offer all the modern comfort (AC, hot water, new beds, private balcony and hammock). At our bar-restaurant facing the sunset, you will enjoy our cocktails, family Thai cooking or European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Baan Manali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Manali Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Manali Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.