We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Manali Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Baan Manali Resort to your Saves list
Baan Manali Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked a bungalow in the Baan Manali Resort and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bungalows are clean, nicely furnished, you've got your own veranda out front and a very comfy hammock. Bathroom among the best we've seen in Thailand. The resort is right next to the beach, wonderful sunsets included. Water might be a bit too shallow to swim during low tide but still nice to cool down a little. The restaurant/bar/breakfast area is beautifully furnished and looks lovely, especially at night with the lights on. Very relaxed atmosphere, not the partying crowd that might be associated with full moon parties on Koh Phangan. Room service is only every second day but that didn't bother us at all. If you need anything at all anybody at the reception is very happy to assist you.
The resort is just a few minutes walk out of town and not far from the ferry terminal. There is a gorgeous massage place just a two minute walk away that you should definitely try: pure relax - best massage ever, very pleasant, clean and beautiful place.
Contrary to some tripadvisor reviews we thought the owners were very nice and helpful whenever we needed anything. Breakfast is delicious. Do try the muesli (it's homemade) with fruit salad and yoghurt, it's very yummy. Also the crepes and the toast are great, everything homemade. We had dinner there as well a couple of nights and the food was very good. You should like dogs and cats however because there a some around, very friendly though :).
Would definitely come back and highly recommend this gorgeous resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    42
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
107
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for six days over New Years 2013. We traveled all over Thailand, and this was definitely my favorite destination. It felt like a family vacation, everyone was so laid back and friendly. Good service, good food, beautiful scenery, clean and well decorated grounds and bungalows... What more could you want? Oh, and the meal they made for us on New Years night was delicious! I will be recommending this to whoever I know that is going to Thailand. I love the music they play in the restaurant too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Traveled from California with our 3 year old son. Right away we loved the newly constructed bungalows under the shade of trees. Even better we were welcomed by a view of the ocean at our feet and a direct shot of the sunset. If tranquility with the ease of walking to the nearby town is what you're looking for, well, this is it. The owners are a young hard working couple and their pride shows in their well maintained property. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A real stroke of luck! A stunning setting, cozy bungalows with high standards and friendly staff. The place is family owned and they are service minded and very nice. The bungalows are located basically on the beach. Food is cheap and incredibly good. We stayed here for 5 days in early August. If you want to stay in a quiet place with good, cheap food, nice bungalows and incredibly beautiful environment you should definitely come here. It is also cheap to stay here. If we return to Koh Phangang we will stay here again. Baan Manali Resort are getting the best recommendations from us.
Thanks for the great 5 days! Sincerely Madelene, Larry and Julia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koh phangan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Found this resort to be excellent and would highly recommend it.
Staff are very friendly and really nice people, they made our small son feel very welcome.
Great setting with lovely views. Rooms are very clean and beautiful, will return for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked just a night in advance for 600 bath. Rooms are very good, European style- you can see, that the resort is owned by a french guy, the rooms had a really good standard. But when we arrived, he told us the price will be 600 for every additional night we stay- an hour later he informed us, that he was wrong and the rate will be 900.

It's in walking distance to the pier (10 min.) and moving is quite expensive with the luggage, so we decided to stay- and it was a good decision.

Bed was the best we had so far in Thailand, room was large, well maintained and location was great- had sea view, it was quite, a small beach, palms all over and near to the main village.
Downside may be that there's no pool and the beach has brown sand, not the white one- but that's not even an minor issue.
It's a small resort, and the service is great. We were told where to rent the motorbike without getting betrayed, I damaged the sink and the owner repaired it without charge and within a few ours.

If you don't want to party (if you do stay in the south) this is a great place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There is no other place like Baan Manali - the combination of the quiet atmosphere, gorgeous view, beautiful pampering bugalows and the sweet owners - made our experience there wonderful and we did not want to leave!
We found Baan Manali by chance, spent there five nights, and still could not stop admring the place for a second. The bungalows are a 5 star standard, there is amazing attention for details in all regarding comfort, service and decoration. It is also located in a comfortable 7 minute walk from Thong Sala pier and town, where there is a great market and all the neccesary services.
In short - do not miss this place !!

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Manali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Manali Resort

Address: 210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Manali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 min walking from the main village of the island, Baan Manali Resort is a quiet and relaxing nest, surrounded by coconut trees, facing the lagoon. Spread in a tropical garden, our 11 cozy bungalows, built in traditional way, offer all the modern comfort (AC, hot water, new beds, private balcony and hammock). At our bar-restaurant facing the sunset, you will enjoy our cocktails, family Thai cooking or European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Baan Manali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Manali Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Manali Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.