We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Manali Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Manali Resort to your Saves list
Baan Manali Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Castro Valley, California, United States
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for six days over New Years 2013. We traveled all over Thailand, and this was definitely my favorite destination. It felt like a family vacation, everyone was so laid back and friendly. Good service, good food, beautiful scenery, clean and well decorated grounds and bungalows... What more could you want? Oh, and the meal they made for us on New Years night was delicious! I will be recommending this to whoever I know that is going to Thailand. I love the music they play in the restaurant too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    45
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
113
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Traveled from California with our 3 year old son. Right away we loved the newly constructed bungalows under the shade of trees. Even better we were welcomed by a view of the ocean at our feet and a direct shot of the sunset. If tranquility with the ease of walking to the nearby town is what you're looking for, well, this is it. The owners are a young hard working couple and their pride shows in their well maintained property. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A real stroke of luck! A stunning setting, cozy bungalows with high standards and friendly staff. The place is family owned and they are service minded and very nice. The bungalows are located basically on the beach. Food is cheap and incredibly good. We stayed here for 5 days in early August. If you want to stay in a quiet place with good, cheap food, nice bungalows and incredibly beautiful environment you should definitely come here. It is also cheap to stay here. If we return to Koh Phangang we will stay here again. Baan Manali Resort are getting the best recommendations from us.
Thanks for the great 5 days! Sincerely Madelene, Larry and Julia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koh phangan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Found this resort to be excellent and would highly recommend it.
Staff are very friendly and really nice people, they made our small son feel very welcome.
Great setting with lovely views. Rooms are very clean and beautiful, will return for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked just a night in advance for 600 bath. Rooms are very good, European style- you can see, that the resort is owned by a french guy, the rooms had a really good standard. But when we arrived, he told us the price will be 600 for every additional night we stay- an hour later he informed us, that he was wrong and the rate will be 900.

It's in walking distance to the pier (10 min.) and moving is quite expensive with the luggage, so we decided to stay- and it was a good decision.

Bed was the best we had so far in Thailand, room was large, well maintained and location was great- had sea view, it was quite, a small beach, palms all over and near to the main village.
Downside may be that there's no pool and the beach has brown sand, not the white one- but that's not even an minor issue.
It's a small resort, and the service is great. We were told where to rent the motorbike without getting betrayed, I damaged the sink and the owner repaired it without charge and within a few ours.

If you don't want to party (if you do stay in the south) this is a great place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There is no other place like Baan Manali - the combination of the quiet atmosphere, gorgeous view, beautiful pampering bugalows and the sweet owners - made our experience there wonderful and we did not want to leave!
We found Baan Manali by chance, spent there five nights, and still could not stop admring the place for a second. The bungalows are a 5 star standard, there is amazing attention for details in all regarding comfort, service and decoration. It is also located in a comfortable 7 minute walk from Thong Sala pier and town, where there is a great market and all the neccesary services.
In short - do not miss this place !!

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My first impression at reception was just "Wow". The setting for Baan Manali is absolutely stunning. Facing out onto a lagoon with a stretch of white sand beach. Beautiful and relaxing even just to look at! It's about a 15 minute walk to the main village, and there are shops and a good massage place along the way, as well as an English pub called The Mason's Arms, who very nicely showed an Irish hurling game on tv for us.

The rooms we were in were lovely. Very clean, big bathroom, loads of light and good air-conditioning. There was a hammock outside each room, and also more down at the beach. There were very comfortable open sided huts on the grass by the beach where you could just chill out and relax, or head down to the sand and lie out there. The water is shallow, but you can still swim there in the late afternoon when the tide is back in.

Breakfast was included in our stay, and there was a good range of choices. We had pancakes a few days and they were tasty, if a little bit on the cool side. We got lunch when we arrived and I didn't really enjoy the chicken and rice I got, it was too greasy for me.

The place seemed family friendly, there were children's toys around, and some very friendly kittens running around, which is a big plus for me!

It's an ideal place to just unwind. Not the best location for anybody looking for mad nightlife, but I was very happy here, and would return in future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Manali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Manali Resort

Address: 210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Manali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 min walking from the main village of the island, Baan Manali Resort is a quiet and relaxing nest, surrounded by coconut trees, facing the lagoon. Spread in a tropical garden, our 11 cozy bungalows, built in traditional way, offer all the modern comfort (AC, hot water, new beds, private balcony and hammock). At our bar-restaurant facing the sunset, you will enjoy our cocktails, family Thai cooking or European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Manali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Manali Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Manali Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.