We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ando Loco

Ando Loco
Thongsala, Ko Phangan, Thailand
08 7773 3911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 229 Restaurants in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Authentic Mexican food at backpacker prices. Imported spices, slow cooked family style flavors incorporated by an American Chef with over 15 years in the business. Killer Margaritas including out Jumbo 650 ml Margarita made only with real tequila. Come see for your self!
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Best Mexican food outside of Mexico-period! Margaritas rock too! Met the owner. Nice bloke from Chicago. Great information regarding what's happening on the island. Will definitely come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    43
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phangan, Thailand
1 review
“Best Mex in Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Was SHOCKED by how tasty this Mexican place was on Koh Phangan! GREAT margaritas,
( we had the mango and the strawberry), AWESOME tacos, esp the home made chorizo version.
Ando cup was cheap and filling at about $1, and service was friends and excellent.
Easy to find, in Thong Sala across from the huge Sri Chai hardware store, on right side.
Owner went out of his way to make sure we were happy with food and service.
Clean place, festive atmosphere, reasonably priced drinks, great tequilas... Can not say enough
good about this place. will be back for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food I've had in my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Food was amazing. I had the steak burrito with some kind of special sauce (not on menu but my local friend who took me there said I should ask for it on it, so I did and whilst eating it I had to close my eyes as it felt like my taste budds were having multiple orgasms) and it came out being so big (very long/wide & deep) that I just stared at it, thinking theres no way I can eat all of this, but it was so amazing so how my stomach made room for it and I ate it all. A few people at my table were intrigued watching me eat it as I at times had my eyes closed as I was in food heaven. The owner/manager is super nice and he's originally from America somewhere so his english is perfect. He also serves beers that are so cold (tweaks the freezer to a specific temperature so it's just below the beer freezing point) that the beer comes out in the bottle with frost on the outside but no frozen beer inside. He's (Ando is his name) is a beer artist in my opinion. The restaurant also has chill out hammocks, a free pool table (for paying customers of course) and an amazingly wide variety of fantastic tasting and value for money, cocktails. I'm a guy and never drink cocktails, but gambled on one, a Pina Colada, and was blown away, giving it a 10 out of 10! Loved the place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Big mexican dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Ando Loco is the only place around here you can enjoy a real mexican dish. The portions are large and the price fair, especially for the beer. The place is not one of those fancy places, just a simple outside cantina. Here what matters is what you get in your plate and in your glass. Good place to meet up new fellows in a friendly atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“delicious mexican!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

fantastic food and great value for money. service was fast and friendly. would definitely go back! try the sweet potato chips and jumbo margaritas :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ando Loco also viewed

Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Ando Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ando Loco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.