We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious mexican!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ando Loco

Ando Loco
Thongsala, Ko Phangan, Thailand
08 7773 3911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 229 Restaurants in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Authentic Mexican food at backpacker prices. Imported spices, slow cooked family style flavors incorporated by an American Chef with over 15 years in the business. Killer Margaritas including out Jumbo 650 ml Margarita made only with real tequila. Come see for your self!
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“delicious mexican!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

fantastic food and great value for money. service was fast and friendly. would definitely go back! try the sweet potato chips and jumbo margaritas :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    43
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Mexican food for decent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with my veggie burrito from Ando Loco, it was a good sized portion and had a tasty combination of cilantro rice, beans, and was topped with sour cream and cheese sauce with a side of salsa. Service was typical for what u would expect here, I just went up to the bar to order and pay since no one was coming to the table - the reason I gave service a "poor" was that on the bottom of the menu it requested you to tip the servers since it's an "international restaurant"! I found it ridiculous they would ask that without backing it up with decent international service. But the food was pretty good, decent value (135B for my veg burrito) so if you're craving Mexican food or margueritas it's probably a good choice.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The fat Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The drinks were fine, but the service was very slov, the food was ok, but no more than that, we like the place nice like a mexican garden, the chaires was very old and worn, a hard sit

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington nz
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was disappointed after reading all the good reviews. Good was good but service was poor and garden area in need of upkeep. Ordered a fresh made cocktail of 3 juices but they deliver juice out of a box. Never in Thailand have I been serviced boxed juice! If they dont have fresh they should have said when I ordered. also ordered 2 identical main courses and got one main dish and one entree. Sat next to type of old pond with slimey water and rubbish in it. Not impressed with this restaurant

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good burritos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

After 2months in thailand I was needing a change from the adorable thai food, and this was just perfect, i had a vegetarian burrito and was amazed at how good it actually was!!! They also have a stand in the night market which although doesn't have all the menu what it does have is just as good as in the main restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ando Loco also viewed

Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Ando Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ando Loco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.