We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would deserve 4 stars if had better maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Nature Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Nature Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Royal Nature Resort & Spa
32/9 moo 4 Ban Khai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly View Point Resort )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Would deserve 4 stars if had better maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights. This is really lovely place with breathtaking view. But the maintenance is far too careless. It is so sad, because this could be 4 star resort easily with just little investment.

The place looks really good, everything is decorated with good taste. The pool area is pleasant but it has lost it´s glory days. The terrace is in bad condition and it should be fixed immediately! There is holes on the terrace wood and if you move the sun beds (as we did) there is a real danger that you end up stepping on one of those holes. That happened to my friend and she hurt her knee on the terrace woods. She got some scratches and bruises. The staff saw the accident and helped my friend up from the hole. We told them they should fix the holes a.s.a.p. Also the pool should be painted just like some paint would be needed in the bathrooms sink area.

The staff is ok but not really that friendly. They seem to be frustrated and tired. There is one guy who is really nice. He is working really long days and taking care also of the night guarding.

Breakfast is not included in the room rate. I had omelette, fresh fruits, cup of tea and a glass of orange juice. They costed 330 baht!!! It is a lot of money of a breakfast. We used also their laundry service. They charge 40 baht for the normal service. But if you want to get your laundry back at the same day it costs 80 baht.

There is no access to the beach. And the Baan Khai beach is not worth to go. And the wi-fi is working only on the pool area and the restaurant.

If you stay in this resort, it would be good if you are able to drive scooter. Otherwise you end up paying quite a lot of money for taxis. The taxis at Ko Phangan aren´t the cheapest ones. From Thong Sala pier it costs 100 baht/person to Baan Khai and also to Had Rin. We tried to negotiate to get taxi with 50 baht to Baan Khai, but they all are charging the same price. If you take a taxi to Had Rin from ViewPoint Resort, do not pay more than 80 baht. Taxis try to charge you 100 baht but do not pay it.

We walked 3 kilometers to Pharmacy and 7/11 shop. Then we took taxi back to ViewPoint REsort and the price was once again 100baht/person.

We took a taxi to Thong Nai Pan Beach and he asked for 1000 baht to drive there. We negotiated quite a long time and made a deal with the driver. He took us to the beach with 900 baht and for the return drive he took only 700 baht. We checked both beaches on Thong Nai Pan and liked the southern one more (Thong Nai Pan Yai). It is cleaner and it has nicer restaurants and bars than Nai Pan Noi. There was also some construction work going on at Nai Pan Noi.

Taxis are charging much more at Ko Phangan than on the other islands in Thailand. You should be negotiating to get a lower price. Otherwise the taxi rates end up to enormous amounts at Ko Phangan.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

The owners where very nice, spoke good english and helpful. The view was amazing. The resort was only a five minute taxi ride to Haad Rin which cost 100 baht.

It was defently not a 'spa resort'. We went with a group and only one of the three rooms we used had cable TV. The free Wifi was only available in the restaurant. The restaurant consisted of two sets of table and chairs and a couch. There was no spa at all and we could not find a way to the beach from the hotel.

The hotel was on a very steep hill and therefore had very steep steps defently not good for children or when it's raining or with heavy bags.

Overall the hotel was a good place to sleep and good for not much else which would not have mattered if they where not offered in the first place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

5 min by taxi from Adrin beach .big room. lot of stairs . very good service . no spa only massage. not in commercial area

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

First I have to say the staff was friendly.

No wireless, no water, no toilet seat.... I would not recommend this hotel.

The view is nice but the managment seems not too interested in keeping things up to standard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This hotel is out of a travel and leisure magazine, with great views and great lay out. The rooms are quiet and relaxing, and staff speaks good English and is helpful. The downside, as I see it, is the location. The hotel is only 5 minutes away from Haadrin, but unless you have a motorbike, like I did, you might feel stuck, because you need a taxi every time you want to go somewhere. Also, unless you come around New Year, I would not count on the beach downstairs and go to Haadrin instead, which is better in this time of the year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This spa resort cannot possibly be referred to as a spa nor as a resort... there is actually no spa.. there is an area for massage however there are were no staff to provide this service, instead a local was contacted to come and provide massage. There is no sauna/steam room and no jacuzzi either.

When staying in a resort you would expect facilities.. i'e a restaurant/bar/cafe open for service.. whilst there is a bar/eating area this was not opened for the duration of our stay (5 days). When we tried to request 2 beers via room service we were informed that there was no beer as this was sold out (sold out for the duration of our stay!!).

To access the 'short walk to the beach' you actually have to walk down a very overgrown steep slope..

There are no facilities/shops/restaurants within easy walking distance therefore taxi's required for every outing 100baht each (this we found became very expensive!)

Cleanliness.. our room was not cleaned, sheets not changed, and no fresh towels for 2 days (we had to request for this service!!)

No staff present from 10pm - one none english speaking security guard on the main entrance.

We booked this accommodation via asia rooms pushing our budget and expecting standards to be reflected in the price.. we were completely disappointed. For our stay we paid £375 - if we had booked direct our stay would have cost £80!!

If you would like a luxury break.. look elsewhere!!

Regards.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had booked this resort in order to spend some days in Koh Panghan. Before booking we checked Tripadvisor reviews which were quite enthusiastic, a part from one. Unfortunately when we arrived at the resort we understood that the enthusiastic rewievs were made by the owner/manager (who is from Israel as most of reviewers) and/or his friends.

The view from our room was nice, but this was the only positive thing of our stay.

We were paying 2.500 BHT which should be considered an above average amount for Thailand, but we received very poor services:

1) The resort website says that: " The resort is only 30 meters from the idyllic white sand beach" but we could not see the beach at all (the resort is located on a hill and there is no path to the beach, see please pictures below enclosed);

2) There are nor restaurant neither bar at all (there are two tables near the reception, but there is no restaurant/bar service, see picture below enclosed);

3) There is no breakfast included; you can order breakfast in your room, but they buy it from other places and it arrives cold;

4) Room service (towels available and cleaness) is poor;

5) The resort access is on a dangerous road, far from shops and facilities; you always need to get a taxi or rent a motorbike for any movement;

6) It is plenty of steep steps; resort is not suitable for families;

7) There is a wifi free connection, but slow and seldom working;

8) There is a swimming pool with a nice landascape view, but its is small and dirty.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Nature Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Nature Resort & Spa

Address: 32/9 moo 4 Ban Khai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand (Formerly View Point Resort )
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Nature Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Nature Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.