We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on the beach, great pool but staff a joke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows
6/4 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best hotel on the beach, great pool but staff a joke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Starlight is by far the nicest place along the beach and its pretty much the only place with a pool. Rooms reasonable, however the bathroom slightly dodgy and felt a bit dirty. Main issue was the staff. 'Lady' in reception potentially the rudest person I've ever experienced in a hotel or hostel. Extremely unhelpful and made us feel unwelcome. Tried to charge us 1000b for something that was already broken before we arrived as we were leaving.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights with my boyfriend. Our original plan was to only stay for a few days and then move on to Koh Tao, but we ended up extending our stay as the beach was incredible, and the hotels on Koh Tao way more expensive. We were on a budget, so we paid 500bt a night for a room with a fan. Unfortunately with this option, there's no TV or fridge. Just the bedroom and a great en suite. Probably the best we used in Thailand!

The resort in general is quiet at this time of year, only 2 or 3 other couples staying at this hotel, so there was plenty of room round the pool. The pool and surroundings were always clean, and the beds were comfy. There is no on site restaurant or cafe, but there are plenty down the beach to choose from, or its a 5 min walk to the 7/11 which we did most days. You can buy drinks, toiletries and souvenirs from the little market they have on site. (i think a chang was 40bt and a leo 45) Receptionist wasn't the friendliest, she was not budging on price! But she did book our ferry and transport for us which was convenient.

The beach is beautiful, there are a few stray dogs, but they are so friendly and inquisitive, never threatening! It's a lovely walk down at sunset, and there are a few bars to choose from, and some hotel beach restaurants. It's a half hour walk (granted its on the main road! so do it in daylight!!)to the next bay which has a few more upmarket restaurants and hotels, worth a visit.Definitely get a taxi back. No streetlights on the main road!

Overall fab budget stay on a paradise beach worthy of much more expensive hotels!

Room Tip: Fan room 500bt in the block of rooms on 1st floor - perfect for us, next step up to have air con was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanagawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I asked a pickup by email. Strangely Phangan info (must be the famous booklet publisher) responded it. I did not understand what was happening. Anyway, it seemed they were kind to contact the hotel. In the long run, I could get a pickup from the hotel. At checkout, I saw the reception lady touched a tablet. So if you want a pickup by email, it would be better to contact by email before reserving. Or calling might work.
At check in, I had to deposit 500B.
Free wifi was available at poolside.
The swimming pool looked good, but water was very warm. I was uncomfortable with warm water, as I had hot days.
The cheapest fan room was very spacious and clean, but heated. I do not know what was the reason, but it might come from a concrete building. I could use a hot water in the bathroom.
Cleaning staffs were good. I assume they clean room everyday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Starlight for 8 nights, 3 girls in total. We shared a bungalow room which was nice as it was quiet and fit the 3 of us perfectly. The room had two double beds, a ceiling fan, air con, tv, small mini bar fridge, a small closet/wardrobe - big enough to hide away two backpacks.
That being said the room was quite small but we didn't mind too much as we weren’t there to laze around in the room all day. The main light in our room had a mind of its own, it would never switch on, sometimes would come on its own and flicker. We did report this to the reception twice but it was not fixed. We got used to living with daylight only. If you are tall you will find the beds to be quite short, I am 5ft’4 and found that my toes almost overhung the bed. The pillows were hard. Not for my liking.
The hotel is situated right on the beach, and everything you need is in walking distance. There is a convenience store on the hotel ground which stocks everything you will require, food, drinks, alcohol, clothing, shoes, sunscreen etc.
The pool is lovely, looks out onto the beach. A downfall about the pool is that other guests were leaving their belongings on the sun beds reserving them for the day, there is only 15 chairs at most around the pool and it was quite frustrating when you would go down there for a tanning session only to find that families had taken over all the chairs. Even at 8am.
Yes, there are a lot of stray dogs roaming the hotel grounds/beaches. As harmless as they are, they are just after a belly tickle and will probably sit by you as you soak up those sun rays but will quickly move onto the next person.
The WIFI is free but can only be accessed from the swimming pool areas. If your room is directly next to the pool I am sure you would be able to pick it up. Often it wouldn't work but I was able to log into the restaurants next door from the pool area as a backup ;)
The staff that looks after the hotel grounds did an immaculate job, I never saw them not working, same with the housekeeper. As for the two ladies who worked the reception/tour desk a smile wouldn't have hurt.
No café or restaurant on the hotel grounds. I do recommend going next door to Nice Beach Bungalows as they were always great on service and a very diverse menu.
In my opinion the location isn’t ideal as we would spend most nights in Haad Rin which is approx a bumpy, windy 45 min journey. It got quite pricey heading in there nearly every night. From a families, couples point of view this hotel is fantastic. Everything you need is at your doorstep. A relaxing quite retreat.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the pool will have WIFI access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

To start with the positives the beach is very nice, although it does have several stray dogs so not for anyone who is uneasy around dogs. The pool is also very nice, large enough to swim lengths and with a lovely view out to sea. The rooms are big and airy and clean. Unfortunately that is where the positives stop.

We had emailed to book a transfer from the harbour to the hotel and as another reviewer has mentioned they failed to turn up. Luckily we managed to get on the taxi that was coming to this beach but it cost 300baht each rather than the 200baht had the hotel arranged the transfer as promised. We did book the return transfer and the resort taxi is a pick-up truck with seats in the back so if you arrive in the rain prepare to get wet.

On our arrival at the resort there was no apology for the fact that the transfer had not been arranged and there are significant language difficulties at the hotel. The staff are mainly Burmese so google translate is no help and the staff definitely did not go to the land of smiles school for customer service! We had booked a fan room and the disappointment just kept coming. The room whilst very large contained nothing but a bed, one bedside table and a fan. There is not a single, hook, shelf or rail to put anything so if you book this room expect to live out of your case or off of the floor. The air con rooms seem to have fully fitted wardrobes, desks, tv’s and even tables and chairs on the balcony. The fan rooms also have the most used pillows and bed sheets available, all well worm with mis-matched patterns.

You will be required to pay a key deposit of 500baht on check-in and they will try anything to keep this, bedding will be check for marks so be careful if you plan to go to the full moon as getting the glow paint on the sheets will definitely cost you.

The fan rooms are also sold as ‘sea view’ which is a little extravagant. Depending on where your room is you are going to be looking across up to 10 other balconies to see a snippet of the sea. The balconies are not very private with only a 2 foot high fence separating you from your neighbours.

The pool is lovely but unfortunately it is not nearly suitable for the number of guests staying at the hotel, out of season it is perfect and you will have the whole pool to yourself, however at peak season you will head to the pool at 8:00am and find all the sunbeds already reserved only for them to sit empty for the whole day. There are only 15 sun beds, 11 with mattresses and nothing on the beach at all. There are no toilets at the pool so you have to use your room, which is difficult when the cleaning team keep your room key all day! The hotel does not provide towels for use at the pool or on the beach.

The WIFI only works in the reception and around the pool, whilst it is free it is very slow and occasionally it seemed the router was turned off altogether.

Despite being a 45 minute journey from Thong Sala on very bad roads the hotel seems to attract large families with very young children who play and scream in the pool all day, it also attracts large groups of teenagers who want to sit around the pool drinking all evening waiting for the boats to the various parties in Haad Rin so it is definitely not a resort for anyone looking for peace and quiet.

To have your room cleaned you need to hand your key into reception (usually this is unattended and you need to find staff in the supermarket). Whether your room gets cleaned is luck. One day we handed our key in at 10am and after numerous attempts we got it back at 4.30pm and the room had been swept but no bedding changed.

The young team that clean and garden work incredibly hard keeping the resort looking nice, but the management staff are very disappointing at this resort and customer service is at the very bottom of their priorities.

I would not recommend this hotel at all as there are many other better hotels to choose from which are better value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Starlight for four nights. The bungalows are dingy and musty but the rooms in the main building are quite nice. Also the pool is lovely. However, we found the staff to be unfriendly. First, they failed to pick us up in Thong Sala, we are a family of four, with two young children so waiting in front of the 7-11 for a taxi to appear was frustrating. We had no real explanation when we arrived as to why it did not come. Second, we discovered we were paying double the going rate. We paid 3000 bhat when others were paying 1500 baht. On top of this we had to bargain hard to get an extra bed in the room. She wanted to charge us 3400 for room with no breakfast. Third, as mentioned, there is no breakfast included and no restaurant. Breakfast is not cheap on the beach so you have to add about 600 baht for a family of four, making this by far, our most expensive place in Thailand in 5 weeks and we are not budget travellers. Finally, the cleaners take the key when they need to clean your room. We needed to get back in our room and could not find them. My husband discovered them making out on the bed, the cleaner had his pants undone. The lights were out and the curtains drawn so it was black inside. We reported them to Dah, the unfriendly 20 year old something who seems to be in charge of the entire complex, however she said they denied it and then she accused my husband of lying. Unbelievable, why would we make this up? To top it all off, when we moved on to the next resort, we discovered my brand new Iphone was missing. This is the first review I have ever written on tripadvisor but felt motivated to do so after the terrible service, expensive price and dishonest staff. For the rest of our holiday we encountered lovely people and stayed in lovely places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in three different type rooms here over a five day period. There are individual bungalows which appeared older and a newer motel style block of rooms which had fan only and aircon rooms. We first stayed in a bungalow for 1200 baht/night. My only complaint is that the mattress smelled very moldy, otherwise the room was ok. We moved to a fan room in the motel block and the room was newer, clean, with a much better mattress and a good value room for 600 baht. Our final night we moved to a seaview, aircon room in the motel block for 1300 baht and it was like the fan room but with aircon, fridge, tv, good mattress. It was quiet here and the reception girl was very friendly and spoke good English. The pool is great and is right by the beach. Best pool on the entire beach. Wifi worked ok. They do not have a restaurant. We tried some of the beach restaurants which were overpriced and not very good and finally tried a place on the main road in town that was packed with people on a corner with a sign reading "Thai Food". It was the best food we had there and we went back several times.

Room Tip: Motel units are newer with better mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows

Address: 6/4 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;