We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows to your Saves list
Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows
6/4 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We were staying in the Havana resort just down the beach from star light but enquired about a room due to star light being the best looking resort with the nicest pool on the beach. We stayed here 2 nights for 1,300 baht/night in a seaview 1st floor hotel room, saving us the equivalent of 800 baht a night had we stayed on at Havana.
This is a difficult resort to review- the rooms are nice, pool excellent, views lovely...but there are little mistakes- the lightswitches are the other side of the room to the bed, there is no lighting from the beach to the room, no maid service (we only stayed 2 days)...It doesn't need to have a restaurant or bar as it has the best bar on the beach (flip flop bar) next door and there are plenty of restaurants along the beach.
I should mention there was a cockroach in the bathroom that the girl at front desk had to kill for me- however they were also at the Havana and on the beach.

Considering value for money this resort is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

after careful deliberation where to stay when we arrived this beach we decided to stay at the starlight in march 2012. worst mistake of my trip and left a very sour taste in my mouth.the room never got cleaned, was grubby before we moved in, the guy on reception (wish i had gotten his name) was the rudest person ive ever met. was very unhelpful and anything i asked him was met with either a sneer or a brusk wave of the hand. obviously it is not his hotel and he only works there coz if it was im sure he would of been more friendly and accommodating. in the end my girlfriend and i moved next door ...... take a tip from me guys, give this place a wide berth.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here in Thong Nai Pan Yai 2 weeks ago and despite it being a nice place (all accommodation along the beach is nice so don't think this is on it's own), the staff and management couldn't have been worse. Bad tempered and surly, they didn't seem interested in wanting to help out in any way. Rooms were never cleaned. Any question was almost met in a threatening manner and appeared very confrontational. We checked out early and moved a few places which was much nicer in comparison.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

wonderful accommodations and staff, great pool to relax at, but no restaurant on premises, great value.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This bungalow/hotel complex is a lovely place to stay! We've stayed 8 nights and had a great time. We had 2 upstair rooms in the hotel block the front one with a breathtaking sea view. Both rooms had balcony - wonderful !
The hotel is VERY CLEAN and the staff is outstanding friendly and helpful. On our many trips all over the world I have rarely experienced the same friendlyness !
The hotel has a very nice swimming pool right at the beach. The only thing I can complain is, that there should be a couple more reclining chairs, since some Europeans do tend to block chairs early in the morning for the entire day, although they are not using them at all ! This is definitely not the place to do this ! Note: This remark has NOTHING to do with the staff or the hotel quality, but maybe future guests think about this remark when they're staying there! ;-) Thanks!
The hotel has no restaurant, but there are so many good places around to have breakfast, lunch, 'happy hour' and dinner! There is a supermarket next door.
The beach is beautiful!
Thanks so much to E, Todd, and their parents for making this vacation a beautiful experience on Koh Phangan!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We arrived around lunchtime after a an 18hour journey very tired and were met by a young but educated and friendly girl who checked us in promptly and answered all of our questions without hesitation. The staff were able and very helpful in the planning of activities whilst also trying to do right by us we felt, there english was good enough to communate sometimes more specific requests which we did not find even in Bangkok in some places. The room was clean and well presented, the only bad comment i would have was that they didn't provide fresh towels as often as they could but were happy to provide them on request.

Room Tip: we had a pool view bungalow and from what i saw these were better than a room in he main block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed five nights at Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach in Koh Phangan and all of them in this hotel. We had a garden view bungalow with fan, air condition, hot shower, fridge, water heater, safe, and TV for 1500 Baht.
The beach was terrific, and the pool was a nice alternative to the sea. It actually attracted some non-guests (that were told to leave by the personell, though). Towels for the beach were provided - if you wanted every day. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but you have many other choices all around to eat for reasonable prices. Furthermore, belonging to the hotel there is a supermarket where you can buy the usual drinks, snacks and souvenirs. So all in all, it is a good deal, but probably it is not worth it to pay more for a bungalow instead of a hotel room, as the rooms looked just as fine.
What we did not like that much was that you could not open the window of the bungalow - it would have been great to let in some fresh air from time to time without opening the door. Furthermore, a few more reclining chairs at the pool would have been nice - although the problem was more that people just blocked them with their towels and went away so other people couldn't use them than the actual number of chairs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows

Address: 6/4 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Phangan Starlight Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.