We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yellow water from shower and tap. Dirty rooms. Gave our friends room away and no refund offered!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Haad Yao Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Haad Yao Villas to your Saves list
Baan Haad Yao Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   56/16 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“yellow water from shower and tap. Dirty rooms. Gave our friends room away and no refund offered!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

1. Slow service from reception
2. They gave our friends room away even when they had paid in advance! The girls had to sleep in our room on hard camper beds. No discount was offered only a free basic breakfast for 1 morning.
3. The girls slept in our room for 2 nights with no refund or discount.
4. Very very hard beds.
5. Dirty restaurant.
6. Dirty swimming pool
7. yellow water coming from shower and tap, which made me sick one morning.

but amazing location- 2min walk from lovely beach and chilled bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    9
    3
    11
See reviews for
5
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'm not the biggest outdoorsy person, so at this point of my trip, I just wanted to be comfortable. The room was large. I had the superior villa with sea view. It had a nice view, but the majority not ocean. Mostly the vegetation around, the pool and a little ocean. The beach looked nice, but I didnt swim there. The staff was amazing. They picked us up from the pier, then the same day we mentioned going to town and they offered another ride since they were going that direction. There was a locker with a key in reception where we could leave our valuables. Breakfast was good and made to order. Decent location. They had scooters to rent, which was an awesome experience. NIce patio

The netting for the mosquitos was gross. It had spots on it, so we took it off and put it on the floor. But surprisingly the mosquitos there were not so bad. Didnt love the bathroom. The water pressure was good, but there were holes in the tub and floor, I believe to drain water, but i felt like something might crawl out (I said I was super outdoorsy:). They didnt provide many toiletries. There was one small bottle of something that had no name, so we just used it as hand soap. No shampoo or conditioner or labeled soap. There was a spot of one of the towels and the hammock on the patio, but it was molded-looking and dirty.I would recommend this place it you want an outdoorsy place to stay. But, after driving around the island, I thought Had Rin had the most amazing beach...but that's where the loud parties are, so it depends on the time you go.

Koh Phanang is awesome! Rent a scooter if you feel comfortable, was amazing to scoot around the island

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ended up at this hotel having arrived at the pier and finding a man sitting in a car with the hotels name on it! I had seen this hotel on the website and we decided to go and have a look.
The man charged us £10 to get there which was a little expensive seen as we ended up staying at their hotel, alot of hotels do free pick ups.

When we arrived at the hotel the man showed us a villa by the pool, well it was amazing. Lovely wood, a massive balcony, living room, huge bed, sofa in the room, fridge, tea making facilities, hair dryer. It really was nice.
The man charged us £25 a night 1000 baht. I was pleased with this price as i had seen it for more on the internet.

We stayed for 3 nights, during our stay there was only two other couples there, which we hardly saw.
The pool was amazing, we were the only ones using it during the hours of 8-4pm and after 4pm some thai children would use the pool, but this was no problem they were very sweet.

The hotel itself is only a few minutes walk to the beach, which is lovely.

We got a motorbike out and really enjoyed exploring the island.
There is not alot of choice near the hotel for food, so having the bike just gave us access to all the markets near the main pier.

I would definately recommend this and if we return to thailand then this hotel will be on the top of our list.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This resort has nice large rooms surrounded by a pretty well kept garden. The staff are friendly and although their English is not too good they are very helpful. The room itself is a spacious wooden cabin with a rather unusual bathroom. Part of the bathroom is open above (has no roof), but we found this quite charming. Unfortunately there were a lot of ants in the bathroom and the toilet was leaking. The shower was also almost coming off the wall. The bathrooms could definitely do with an update.
No complaints about the room itself, which was clean and nicely furnished.
The resort is not on the beach itself, but only a few minutes walk away. The beach is clean, with lots of nice restaurants mainly specialising in Thai food. Unfortunately this is not a good swimming beach as there are too many sharp rocks in the water. However the resort does have a beautiful swimming pool, with a small kiddies paddling pool attached.
Overall the resort is not bad value if you are on a budget, as the daily rate includes breakfast as well.
With a little TLC this resort could be improved greatly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool area. These rooms overlook the pool and are on level ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I've rated the resort average down to the fact that it needs a little TLC. The handles on doors were coming off, the loo flush handle was broken, the shower mounting was hanging loose and there were cracked floor tiles. Now the good bits, I was bitten less in this resort than any other due to the mozzy net. The aircon was quiet and very cool. The staff were very helpful, arranging a great motorbike for us, letting us use the internet til late etc. I also overheard the guy who runs the place offering to get fresh crab, prawns, seafood for guests to be cooked as they like, which is a nice touch if you don't fancy walking out at night. The swimming pool is stunning, in its own little jungle and you are stones throw from a super beach. Pick up and return to ferry terminal was 300 baht. Its a bit rough and ready but don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: Pool side villas are great, the hillside rooms have lots of little steps up to them, not for the eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I'm writing this as of my stay right now and I usually don't write bad reviews but this resort does not justify the photos at all. The rooms are in real bad shape. They seem like they've not been taken care of. All you get everyday is a clean bed. As like many jungle themed resorts, expect many mozzies, most as big as fly. And there's not much ocean view in their ocean view rooms as there're many tall trees. Won't really recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I really liked this hotel. It is super close to the beach (which is an amazing beach), the rooms are cabins which are large and well equipped, the beds are comfy and they are air conditioned. I was staying with friends who had been there before and they said the service was better the last time but all in all it was really good, and for the money (haggle you will get a much better rate) we couldn't complain. I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Haad Yao Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Haad Yao Villas

Address: 56/16 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Haad Yao Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baan Haad Yao Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Haad Yao Villas Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Haad Yao Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.