We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy mother of seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar

Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar
30/1 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Pier, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
+66 84 454 7240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 222 Restaurants in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 782 Reviews
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: This original seafood restaurant in Ban Tai opened more than 6 years ago by a local fishing family. Offering a wide selection of fresh local seafood and traditional Thai home cooking with some signature dishes creating a unique dining experience. Some dishes are Thai style and very spicy or can be as mild as you like, some dishes are fusion and a few western dishes all with no MSG. The restaurant is located on a stunning beachfront next to Ban Tai pier with the option of seating on traditional long tail fishing boats and beach beds for before or after dinner cocktails. This beach side restaurant is relaxed and friendly. Don't miss out on this local treasure. A must while visiting Koh Phangan! Booking advised during busy months and always around full moon and half moon periods and for larger groups at all times. Opening hours kitchen 1pm until 10pm Beach bar late in high season Closed every month 2+ days for staff holiday depending on season check our face book status
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Holy mother of seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went to this lovely place for a dinner and I got to say this was one of the best seafood I have had in Thailand. We ordered the big seafood plater which was amazing. By this I mean the crabs are to die for. Nice big juicy ....awwww I would definitely recommend to book a table in advance as this place can get really busy.
The staff there can speak good English and they are ever so nice and friendly.
Defo coming back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    121
    20
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Recommended 8/10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Fisherman's has a great restaurant to which we went twice during our stay in Koh Phangan.


Pros

+ Great choice of Thai food
+ Friendly staff
+ Great location

Cons
- price

Overall recommended 8/10... But would encourage to explore some other restaurants

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best places I've ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I spent a month in Thailand this year and enjoyed trying different restaurants at all price levels. This was hands down the best meal I had while in the country, so much so I ate there two nights in a row and I never do that on a trip. The ambiance in the ocean is unbeatable; dining in a boat in the sand is fun and the food exceptional. They didn't take credit cards at the time which was difficult with no ATM nearby but they lent us a scooter to drive to one, nothing beats their hospitality there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

By far this was one of the best restaurants we ate at whilst we were in Thailand. They were very busy the night we went and they advised they had no tables but were able to offer us drinks at the bar and a look at the menu whilst we waited... It was worth the wait the food was outstanding and would recommend you stopping in for a meal whilst you stay on the island if you get the chance. Wouldnt hesitate to recommend this to anyone that would be going in the future.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Tao, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have eaten her on another occasion with my boyfriend. This time my friend and I ate here for dinner and had a lovely evening. My friend is gluten and dairy intolerant and the staff were excellent in accommodating her needs and making suggestions on suitable dishes. The seafood was fresh and delicious and really spoke for itself. We also had a lovely bottle of rose with our dinner. The setting is really beautiful and has been wonderfully decorated. All in all a lovely evening and definitely worth a visit if you are staying in Koh Phangan.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.