We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar

Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar
30/1 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Pier, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
+66 84 454 7240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 222 Restaurants in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 786 Reviews
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: This original seafood restaurant in Ban Tai opened more than 6 years ago by a local fishing family. Offering a wide selection of fresh local seafood and traditional Thai home cooking with some signature dishes creating a unique dining experience. Some dishes are Thai style and very spicy or can be as mild as you like, some dishes are fusion and a few western dishes all with no MSG. The restaurant is located on a stunning beachfront next to Ban Tai pier with the option of seating on traditional long tail fishing boats and beach beds for before or after dinner cocktails. This beach side restaurant is relaxed and friendly. Don't miss out on this local treasure. A must while visiting Koh Phangan! Booking advised during busy months and always around full moon and half moon periods and for larger groups at all times. Opening hours kitchen 1pm until 10pm Beach bar late in high season Closed every month 2+ days for staff holiday depending on season check our face book status
Istanbul
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I am at the Fisherman's Restaurant at the moment. I decided to come here after reading the positive comments at Tripadvisor. Here is really a very nice place. I ordered barracuda and squid. Both of them were very delicious. Ambiance is very nice and staff is very good. Try to come here at the beginning of your Koh Phangan trip, because you will probably want to come again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    121
    21
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best restaurant on the island! The food is superb. Amanda and Lek who runs this gem really managed to capture the genuine Thai feeling and flavors. Highly recommend this unique restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The value, quality of food and service as well as location was amazing. I got a meal that would have cost about $50 USD for about $10USD and that included an alcoholic beverage and dessert! I highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just such a nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I spent a week in koh phangan for holiday party then im just found the Great food lovly service ..clam n peaceful place in this fisherman's restuarant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm sitting at Fisherman's right now - my fifth time in the two weeks I've been here. The restaurant is a delight. Terrific atmosphere - candles, sand beneath your toes, the water just beyond - and friendly, professional service. As for the food, simply the best Thai I have eaten on the island. Try the chicken no name and the massaman curry, which are especially great. Owners Amanda and Lek are also long term locals who are lovely and care so much about their restaurant and constantly improving it. A great experience all round.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.