We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort to your Saves list
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thong Nai Pan Yai, 11 Moo 5, Ko Phangan Ban Tai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Heaven!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

When we were there the sea was very calm, the beach very clean and the resort was quiet.

Yes it certainly was a bare knuckle ride to the resort and we passed several motor byke/scooter accidents on the way, but arriving at the site we realised it was definitly worth it.

It is a great place to relax and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
23
37
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at Dreamland Resort from January 2nd through to the 5th, 2013 and aside from the white knuckle taxi ride over the narrow, partiallly unpaved mountain road getting there, we loved every minute. Although we were disappointed we were unable to take a boat trip to go on a snorkeling trip because of the rough seas, that is not the fault of the resort and those waves did provide us with hours of fun.

My only complaint was the enormous amount of garbage on the beach. Everything from flip flops to light bulbs ... and lots of them. The staff tried their hardest to keep their section of the beach clean but the debris just kept coming and their efforts were futile. I don't know if the debris was a result of the waves at that particular time or if the beach is always littered.

As others have mentioned, the rooms could use a makeover and I was sorry there wasn't a hammock on the patio but they were clean with a TV and a fridge and for the amount of time we spent in the room, it was more than adequate.

The pool and swim up bar were lovely and the onsite supermarket, very handy. The little village, which is a short 5 minute walk away (that takes you past a pond with a water buffalo hanging out in it) is worth a visit.

If you come to Phangan for rest and relaxation, then Dreamland Resort might just be the place for you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Nice location, nice pool on lovely beach, but hotel is tired and in need of a little bit of energy and focus on service from the staff. Rates are fairly cheap although still not great value for mobey as there is no breakfast included.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I love this place sooooo much and wish I could come back again. Me and my friend we had a great relaxing 5 days staying this hotle. Although it located in the northeast which is a bit far from town and not much to do or around,we didn't feel bored at all! We did yoga in the morning on the beach and stayed in the pool or hung out in the lounge all day which was a great relaxation from work.

Pros:
It has the best beach I've ever seen among the north and water is suitable for swiming which is deeper than west side of the island.
The pool right in front of the beach and next to the restaurant is sooooo amazing where u can either be in the water or lie in couch getting tan or just watch the beautiful beach view and do nothing.
Staffs are so niiiice, forgot to ask their names but everyone i've seen is so friendly, the one keeping the pool bar is sooo sweet and helpful and even made me a music CD after heard I liked it a lot, and others severing the diner are nice too! They have beach football every sunset afternoon which is quite a view as well.

Cons: The only con i can think of would be its so perfect and hard for me to find a con, haha!

Room Tip: Get a A/C room if budget allowed, will be a bit hot during afternoon time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Located on a fantastic beach this place is perfect for a beach getaway. Their pool is excellent and has a poolside bar to boot.

The main negative kid the beds are really uncomfortable and the pillows terrible.
The staff are fine without being amazing, and the food is fine, but there are better options at the other end of the beach.

Having said this, of you're here for relaxation by the pool/beach then this place is a good affordable option.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've been here three times and ever ytime I had a wonderful time here.
The staff is very friendly and helps you with everything. They can arrange transport to the main village of Phangan if you wish.

The pool is excellent (includes a pool bar) and lies next to the beach/restaurant. The beach is perfect. Very quiet bay with a wonderful view. The restaurant serves basic food which is good enough but not the best. There are several other restaurants if you take a walk down the beach.

The rooms are very basic. Since you only sleep here, I don't really mind. The bathrooms are clean.

Only bad thing I could come up with is the location. If you're attending the Full Moon Party, you have to make sure that you're not too drunk on your way there or on the way back. The ride is very bumpy and takes about 40 minutes. At night, this road isn't lit, so I wouldn't suggest renting a bike.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

After much debating about where to stay, we finally decided on the Dreamlands Resort. I think it was the swimming pool that swung the vote! :o)

There were quite a few family members going so we had to book a number of rooms. After emailing the hotel, we quickly received a response to say our rooms were booked and payment wasn't required until we checked out, which was handy. We then decided to email the hotel and ask for a air conditioning room with a sea view. Again, we got a fast response to say our room had been upgraded. So far, an excellent level of service.

When we arrived at Thong Sala pier, we were picked up by the hotel taxi. This costs around 200THB per person which is the going rate on the island. The resort itself is nestled in a lovely bay called Thong Nai Pan Yai which is in the north east of the island, around 30 minutes in a taxi to get to. When we arrived, check in was really quick and a member of the hotel staff kindly showed us to our room and helped with the luggage. The staff in general were always so friendly and polite and helped us with our Thai.

The hotel did exactly as we had requested and put us right next to the beach with a fantastic view of the sea as well as the hotel pool (we stayed in room 101). As many people have said, the rooms are quite dated but you don't spend much time in them to worry about it. We're also definitely glad we paid the extra for air conditioning as it was very hot at night but being next to the sea and listening to the sound of the waves was really relaxing. I do think though that the price difference between a fan and air conditioning room is quite steep considering that is the only difference. Maybe the cost of running the air con unit is quite expensive.

Please be advised that if you do want your room cleaning, you must ask Reception and leave your key with them. They don't clean every day and will only do this on request.

The resort itself has a lot of facilities to offer - swimming pool, pool bar, reading area, shop and terrace to eat your breakfast, lunch and dinner. The beds around the pool are good quality in my opinion and I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star resorts and the beds at those resorts were very flimsy. The pool is very clean and the general upkeep of the hotel is very good. The plants and bushes could do with a good trim but it's not something I would complain about and I don't envy the hotel staff working in the heat. The hotel is also located close to the main town where there is a 7/11 store, cash machine, pharmacy, clinic and a few restaurants. However, we mainly visited restaurants on the beach when eating dinner as the setting was much prettier. The food in all the restaurants we tried was very good quality and reasonably priced. You must visit a bar called The End as it does fantastic pizzas (I know you're in Thailand and should be eating Thai food) and they have Happy Hour every day from 3pm - 7pm where all the cocktails are 120THB. If you do eat and drink at the hotel, I would enourage you to settle your bills every time rather than add to your room as you never know how much you've spent and I've heard people say they tend to add other things onto your bill which you may not have ordered. At least then at the end of your stay, you know you only have to pay for your room.

It is also worth mentioning that there are a lot of stray and pet dogs and cats that roam around the hotels / restaurants so you may just need to shoo them away if they bother you.

As I mentioned previously, the resort is in a lovely bay around and located right next to the beach so you haven't got to go far if you prefer sun bathing on the beach. The snorkelling isn't very good as the water is too murky so you will probably have to go on an excursion to the marine park or do a snorkelling lesson to see the fish. There are Taxi Boats which can take you to the smaller bay next door which is called Thong Nai Pan Noi. They cost around 100THB per person and welll worth the experience. In Thong Nai Pan Noi, you can lay around the beach for a change of scenery or go to a nice restaurant. However many of the restaurants aren't located along the beach so the setting isn't as nice, however they may be cheaper if you're on a budget. You can walk back to your resort from Thong Nai Pan Noi but it is up and down hills, along the main road and in blistering heat. But if you're up for the challenge and again on a budget it may be something worth considering.

As far as the excursions go, we did the 1 day Eco Adventure Tour where you get to ride on an elephant, visit a waterfall, a chinese temple and go snorkelling. This was a really good tour which was well thought out and reasonably priced in my opinion (around 1400THB per person). However, in order to get to the waterfalls, you have to walk up steep steps which are normally made from the tree roots. If you have walking difficulties or just generally don't like walking up steep cliffs, this part of the tour is not for you. You must also wear good walking shoes or trainers. Do not wear flip flops as these will be really uncomfortable and won't get any grip. Other family members went to the Marine Park and they said their trip was also amazing so if you do have a few days in Koh Phangan, it might be worth considering booking a trip.

So, overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for the price. There are many others on the island where the beaches aren't as great, there is no pool (and I love a pool, especially with a pool bar) and the location isn't as good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort

Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai, 11 Moo 5, Ko Phangan Ban Tai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Phangan Dreamland Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.