We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, wonderful bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort to your Saves list
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thong Nai Pan Yai, 11 Moo 5, Ko Phangan Ban Tai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great people, wonderful bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've been here three times and ever ytime I had a wonderful time here.
The staff is very friendly and helps you with everything. They can arrange transport to the main village of Phangan if you wish.

The pool is excellent (includes a pool bar) and lies next to the beach/restaurant. The beach is perfect. Very quiet bay with a wonderful view. The restaurant serves basic food which is good enough but not the best. There are several other restaurants if you take a walk down the beach.

The rooms are very basic. Since you only sleep here, I don't really mind. The bathrooms are clean.

Only bad thing I could come up with is the location. If you're attending the Full Moon Party, you have to make sure that you're not too drunk on your way there or on the way back. The ride is very bumpy and takes about 40 minutes. At night, this road isn't lit, so I wouldn't suggest renting a bike.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    43
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
23
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

After much debating about where to stay, we finally decided on the Dreamlands Resort. I think it was the swimming pool that swung the vote! :o)

There were quite a few family members going so we had to book a number of rooms. After emailing the hotel, we quickly received a response to say our rooms were booked and payment wasn't required until we checked out, which was handy. We then decided to email the hotel and ask for a air conditioning room with a sea view. Again, we got a fast response to say our room had been upgraded. So far, an excellent level of service.

When we arrived at Thong Sala pier, we were picked up by the hotel taxi. This costs around 200THB per person which is the going rate on the island. The resort itself is nestled in a lovely bay called Thong Nai Pan Yai which is in the north east of the island, around 30 minutes in a taxi to get to. When we arrived, check in was really quick and a member of the hotel staff kindly showed us to our room and helped with the luggage. The staff in general were always so friendly and polite and helped us with our Thai.

The hotel did exactly as we had requested and put us right next to the beach with a fantastic view of the sea as well as the hotel pool (we stayed in room 101). As many people have said, the rooms are quite dated but you don't spend much time in them to worry about it. We're also definitely glad we paid the extra for air conditioning as it was very hot at night but being next to the sea and listening to the sound of the waves was really relaxing. I do think though that the price difference between a fan and air conditioning room is quite steep considering that is the only difference. Maybe the cost of running the air con unit is quite expensive.

Please be advised that if you do want your room cleaning, you must ask Reception and leave your key with them. They don't clean every day and will only do this on request.

The resort itself has a lot of facilities to offer - swimming pool, pool bar, reading area, shop and terrace to eat your breakfast, lunch and dinner. The beds around the pool are good quality in my opinion and I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star resorts and the beds at those resorts were very flimsy. The pool is very clean and the general upkeep of the hotel is very good. The plants and bushes could do with a good trim but it's not something I would complain about and I don't envy the hotel staff working in the heat. The hotel is also located close to the main town where there is a 7/11 store, cash machine, pharmacy, clinic and a few restaurants. However, we mainly visited restaurants on the beach when eating dinner as the setting was much prettier. The food in all the restaurants we tried was very good quality and reasonably priced. You must visit a bar called The End as it does fantastic pizzas (I know you're in Thailand and should be eating Thai food) and they have Happy Hour every day from 3pm - 7pm where all the cocktails are 120THB. If you do eat and drink at the hotel, I would enourage you to settle your bills every time rather than add to your room as you never know how much you've spent and I've heard people say they tend to add other things onto your bill which you may not have ordered. At least then at the end of your stay, you know you only have to pay for your room.

It is also worth mentioning that there are a lot of stray and pet dogs and cats that roam around the hotels / restaurants so you may just need to shoo them away if they bother you.

As I mentioned previously, the resort is in a lovely bay around and located right next to the beach so you haven't got to go far if you prefer sun bathing on the beach. The snorkelling isn't very good as the water is too murky so you will probably have to go on an excursion to the marine park or do a snorkelling lesson to see the fish. There are Taxi Boats which can take you to the smaller bay next door which is called Thong Nai Pan Noi. They cost around 100THB per person and welll worth the experience. In Thong Nai Pan Noi, you can lay around the beach for a change of scenery or go to a nice restaurant. However many of the restaurants aren't located along the beach so the setting isn't as nice, however they may be cheaper if you're on a budget. You can walk back to your resort from Thong Nai Pan Noi but it is up and down hills, along the main road and in blistering heat. But if you're up for the challenge and again on a budget it may be something worth considering.

As far as the excursions go, we did the 1 day Eco Adventure Tour where you get to ride on an elephant, visit a waterfall, a chinese temple and go snorkelling. This was a really good tour which was well thought out and reasonably priced in my opinion (around 1400THB per person). However, in order to get to the waterfalls, you have to walk up steep steps which are normally made from the tree roots. If you have walking difficulties or just generally don't like walking up steep cliffs, this part of the tour is not for you. You must also wear good walking shoes or trainers. Do not wear flip flops as these will be really uncomfortable and won't get any grip. Other family members went to the Marine Park and they said their trip was also amazing so if you do have a few days in Koh Phangan, it might be worth considering booking a trip.

So, overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for the price. There are many others on the island where the beaches aren't as great, there is no pool (and I love a pool, especially with a pool bar) and the location isn't as good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here for a full 8 days with a friend. Thong Nai Pan Yai is a beautiful, quiet beach. Very family and couple friendly. At first it was a bit too quiet for 2 single guys to stay there, but we made friends with some of the staff very quickly. They even took us out after they finished work to a local Buddha festival, which was really amazing. It's possible to rent a scooter at the hotel for 200 TBH/ day, but you need to deposit your passport at the reception and sign an agreement which clearly states the price of parts you might break on the scooter. Koh Phangan is really easy to explore by scooter, but you need to be carefull where the jungle roads tend to be very slippery after it had some rain. There is a nice BBQ every evening with fresh fish, meat, corn, potatoes etc. Breakfast is not included with the rooms. The hotel also has small shop.
If you're looking for transportation to the full moon or half moon party I'd advise not to book it with the hotel, but just walk out to the main road where you will find transportation on your right hand side just across the street. Even though they were closed, they took my friend and me for 600 TBH total to the half moon party.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had planned on staying here for three nights but problems with an internal flight meant we arrived a day late! The journey to Dreamland was definitely an experience, we loved it but I think it's fair to prepare others and say that the journey takes you inland and up into the hills, along unmade roads, and past some amazing scenery - we did this journey sitting on the back of a pick-up which was surprisingly comfortable!
On arrival we were able to book a place back to the ferry port on their minibus before being shown to our bungalow. There was nothing wrong with the accommodation, it just wasn't "wow", and the bathroom was slightly dated and could do with a refurb! The veranda was lovely - it was the perfect place to sit in the evening or first thing in the morning.
The food was very reasonably priced and the portions were huge, the fresh fish was especially good! Every meal we had here was delicious and we also enjoyed a few drinks at the swim up pool bar. It may look like this is closed but if you swim up then someone will soon pop up!
The pool area was lovely and the pool a lovely temperature, there were no shortage of sunbeds but it was very quiet when we were there.
They also have a shop which seems to be open all the time - this stocks snacks, drinks, games, toiletries, most things you would ever need!
Dreamland is set in a small bay with beautiful views all around. The sea was very clear, calm and warm; perfect for swimming! We walked along the beach and had saw a few other bars and hotels - these all looked lovely but we were happy with Dreamland and so didn't feel the need to explore these. There was a also a village near the entrance to the hotel which had a few shops, restaurants, and bars.
Overall we loved our short stay here and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The setting was perfect and it would be lovely to go back and explore the area a little more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for three nights so that we could go to a full moon party.

We booked a standard fan room. Big mistake! There was no air movement in our bungalow which meant that after the three nights the place smelt damp and our towels etc. would not dry.

This would not have been a problem if our room had been serviced during our stay. The room was not cleaned, nor were the towels changed and the room was in need of a clean considering three of us were in the room.

We booked transport through the hotel to go to the pier to get the boat off the island. Because we had to leave at 6am we were told that we needed to pay 800 Baht for a 'private' taxi and then if anyone else booked they would share our taxi and the cost (paying us directly). We await our taxi and a mini bus turns up, everyone had paid considerably less than us already for their share of the journey. I really am not a fan of being ripped off!

One of the reception staff was rude to my friend. We had settled our bill which had included our water taxi to the full moon party. When my friend went to ask reception a question she was told we hadn't paid. It turned out that they had charged someone elses services to our room. Even though we showed them our receipt which was stamped 'PAID' we were advised that they stamp all receipts with 'PAID' even if you haven't! Eventually the problem was resolved after a phone call to one of the other reception staff but not after the particular reception member had glared at my friend and done much sighing and tutting.

The resort does have a nice swimming pool and is well located on the beach - the only perks for us!

Room Tip: Make sure you book an air con room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The rooms are the best value for money, the beach is beautiful, the sea is calm and quite deep, the staff is wonderful with kids, etc, etc. The pool is excellent. We were traveling with our 9 months old son and the small pool (tub) was perfect for him to waddle.
The only con could be the distance to Thong Sala or Haad Rin. It's quite expensive to go there.

Room Tip: Family room has 2 queensize beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We didn't stay in the bungalows, but looked into it for our next trip. They were very well appointed and good value for money. The facilities are superb; a nice swimming pool, quiet location, and the surrounding beach is one of the nicest we've found in SE Asia. Even over the full moon weekend we felt as if we were the only people there but its not too secluded, there are lots of amenities nearby. Location could be better, but its a small price to pay for such a fantastic find. Great food too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort

Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai, 11 Moo 5, Ko Phangan Ban Tai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Phangan Dreamland Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.