We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort I have been to in Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort to your Saves list
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thong Nai Pan Yai, 11 Moo 5, Ko Phangan Ban Tai, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Qrendi, Malta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best resort I have been to in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Resort has an amazing pool with bar, beach is magnificent, bungalow was excellent, good value for money, fabulous garden and friendly staff. There is a great bar just next to the resort which is called Yai Bar, it is very much worth visiting. The town is also gorgeous with various shops along the street. Not a bad word to say about the place. I would recommend taking the snorkelling trip and stopping at Bottle beach which the resort offers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    43
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
23
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops BC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Great resort for kids. only about a half hours ride from the ferry. The pools is awesome! salt water and 3 great levels for kids. we have a 2 year old and a 5 year old. They had a great time. Roms are good and A/C cold. Staff are friendly. next to the resort there is a tiny playground at the school and next to the school is a small day care if you want to leave your kids or play with them there for a small donation. We will for sure go back. Beach is also great and shallow for kids. Like anywhere in Thailand you need to shop around for things to buy (water , toys , food etc) the resorts on the beach are a bid pricey for these idems. so shop around town. Did I say the pool was awesome?!!! When you read people complain about thing take it with a grain of salt, some people are high maint. You can ask for anything for your room and the workers will get it for you. They love to help you dont be affraid to ask or complain. with my two kids we needed a few more things than normal in rooms we had no issues. I had more issues with other tourists smoking around my kids in the eating area, leaving garbage when they left the beach, leaving pool beds all over the place after they moved them, pool towels left everywere, people not even watching thier kids in the pool leaving them there to eat or go on the computer they had floaties on and could not even swim. Overall Dreamland was excellent and would recommend it to families.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Dream land resort hotel was great and i dont understand some of the negative reviews. We visited for a week and although the area was extremley quiet and not ideal for people who like to party as there are very few bars etc and the one we did find closed at 10pm. The room was clean, tidy and more then adequate with air con and fridge. The swimming pool was fantastic with a great view of the beach from the pool. We wanted to arrange a day trip to Koh Samui and the recepetion staff could not have been more helpful if they tried. We ate in both the hotel restaurant and at other places along the beach and we enjoyed the meals at the hotel the most. I would highly reccomend this place but dont go if you are looking for night life because you wont find any here. If you enjoy peace and quiet in with a lovely beach then dream land is for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We were at four different islands in Thailand and the Dreamland Resort was our favorite. The rooms are rustic but adequate, but the beach, pool, restaurant, service and incredible massages on a protected platform with sea breezes more than made up for it. A perfect get away paradise for couples or families - no need to travel after arriving at this beautiful protected beach. A great value as well - we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I spent 3 nights here and did not enjoy my stay as much as I would've liked. Firstly, the rooms are tiny and there wasn't a fridge in our room which meant we had to keep buying water and couldn't store it somewhere cold. The bed was big but I was surprised to see what literally looked like a picnic blanket as a blanket. It was too small to share with my boyfriend so it made sleeping rather unpleasant. The aircon was ridiculously cold, i kept wondering if it was actually meant for that size room because it turned our room into an ice-block. The restaurant was okay, nothing amazing but we did have good chicken cashrew nut there. The pool is beautiful so that is definately a plus. The beach is unspoilt and beautiful too. I also didn't like the fact that the reception was not open 24hours, and resulted in some of my friends sleeping outside after returning from the fullmoon party earlier than expected. I really didn't feel this resort was value for money at all, it was a long drive to hadrin and it was expensive to get there. I would recommend this place to people who want to be far away from everything but definately book more than a standard bungalow if you want to sleep well.

Room Tip: Don't choose a standard bungalow rather spend more on a better bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Myself and my fiance were booked into this hell hole by a travel agency.... it is literally in the middle of no where the nearest things close by are a 7/11 store, a few travel shops and one restaurant... it cost 1000baht ONE WAY to get anywhere else on the island...

To get to this prison camp your required to take a 45min to 1hr off roading experience... the roads are awful, not something the hotel can help but really unpleasant!!

The hotel itself is a bunch of bungalows, when we were went there was only myself and my fiance and maybe around 6 or 7 other guests. the beach was always dirty - no excuse as everywhere else up the beach was cleaned daily - there are more staff than they know what to do with, or more staff than guests for that matter. The rooms are dirty, dusty, in desperate need or maintances and a good cleaning!! We were moved to another bungalow after our first check in as the first one was disgusting, the second room was no better, but as the reception staff where more involved with what was on the tv they didnt really take much notice of what we said or asked.

The pool area is quite nice and seems maintained but beware if you have children as there are a lot of cracked tiles around and splinters in the decking wood and chairs. The barman who served us here was a nice man and did explain it was quieter for them but still not an excuse for how they have let the resort become so run down...

The pathways around the resort where broken and scattered with pipes and litter and just looked a state and neglected.

The reason we called this place a prison camp as after dark there was no where to really go and NOTHING TO DO... there are some other bars and hotels but all seemed closed or quiet....

We couldnt enjoy the beach due to the amount of litter, we ended up hiring a moped and getting away for the majority of the day... we are glad we only spent 2 days there!!

We didnt try any food at the hotel as the restaurant didnt look too great not to mention the staff eyed you up when ever they caught you walking about - due to the fact it was dead-

Maybe we did catch the resort at a quiet time of the year - yet it was the run up to peak season.. still this doesnt justify the shear lack of neglect of the resort.

One word of advice..DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE!

Room Tip: NEVER stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Really liked the resort and it is a fantastic beach. Would really recommend Tong Nai Pan Yai as a destination. Wonderful beach, great restaurants, vibe, bars etc

My gripe relates to the family rooms that only just fit 2 double beds with a foot or so gap in between and not a great deal of other room to stow baggage etc.

The resort itself was clean, safe, secure and has an awesome swimming pool for when you tire of the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort

Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai, 11 Moo 5, Ko Phangan Ban Tai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Phangan Dreamland Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.