We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a great place, depends on your requirements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Salad Buri Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could be a great place, depends on your requirements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. we booked 2 Lagoon Villas for 7 people and loved the villas... If you just review these rooms then I would rate the place are excellent value for money, but if your elooking for good food and service, think again... most of the staff are unhelpful, and some of the staff in the restaurant insist on filling you in on the heart breaking life stories... when youre travelling with people who cannot speak neither thai nor english this can be frustrating as the method of getting to know youre clients shouldnt be instigated with how tough a life you have, especially when this need sot be explained to friends around our breakfast table...

The food in the restaurant was average, but service poor, I would say its not value for money on the food front... Breakfast is very poor and they really try to rush you if you are there towards the end of breakfast, again giving you the sob story of they have too work too hard etc etc.....

If your on a honeymoon, and want a beautiful villa with nice pool and some time for the two of you, i would say it spossibly for you (as long as you were using it only as a place to relax a few days)... theres really not much happening around the hotel and its quite far from other places...

they also offer you taxi's at higher prices that outside, a bit unacceptable to be honest...

personally I wouldn't go back.....

Theres one guy who works there i would like to say a big thank you too Riko, he's very understanding and helped me arrange many things before I arrived and also treated us with kindness and respect that such an establishment should.

Room Tip: Be sure you know where this place is, and that you want to be very much out of the action for a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    79
    52
    28
    34
See reviews for
39
123
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Salad Buri for 5 nights, and had a nice time. The room was large and clean, all the rooms are located on the side of a hill, this means there is a bit of a trek up and on a steep path, but the views of haad salad are worth the climb. Our room had an outdoor jacuzzi bath which was great. The hotel has three pools which are right onto the beach. The resort is laid out along the beach so there are plenty of options for eating. The food in the hotel itself is a bit average, and there are quite alot of dogs walking around which might put some people off. The staff are all very friendly, the language barrier could be a bit of a problem as their English is limited, but that is to be expected in a foreign country.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Our Value Guests

We are pleased to here that you were feeling happy while spending your holiday at our resort. we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

i arrived with my wife on our honeymoon to salad buri resort. the rooms were pretty comfy. we had the most beautifull view you can ask for. the rooms are up on a clif you need to climb(98 stairs). if your not in good health shape you should only stay at the ground floor.
the resort has 3 very nice pools. with great.the service there was bad. the front desk are a bit rude and not too kind,couple times i came to ask something and i was replied with a very short and with a terrible english, the day before i left i saw a pretty looking guest talking to the guys at the front desk and their english became perfect. my wife saw some of the hotel staff looking at her getting dressed behind the window and when i called the front desk i was replied:"what do you want me to do?" - not the answer you want to hear when your wife is crying and affraid there is a perver working at the hotel she is staying at. the breakfast is very poor.
bad staff treatment but a great facilities.

Room Tip: if you can climb choose hight level rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. As you have mentioned about the services, we know that there is a lot that need to be improved and we will work hard to improve it. Although, we are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

don't go there even if this is the last place on earth !
they are LIARS ! and DECEIVING their customers
I booked the hotel through Expedia and arrived there to see that I was already charged for the room
I had to check out early because we had an emergency and we talked to the hotel manager before leaving - she said it is fine by her and the hotel and that we should talk to Expedia for a refund
We've ordered the grand deluxe room and for some reason got a really small room and not the room that we've invited so we had to get a refund also for the room time because we were downgraded without our knowledge and will
after we checked out we asked for our refund and the hotel refused - they just lied to our faces
they tried to say that they have upgraded us (from a 44 squared meters room to a 15 squared meters - very logical)
and refused to come forward and compensate us for all the distress and just kept on lying to us and laugh in our face
I've never encounter such behavior
don't go there even if this is the last place on earth
they are liars ! and deceiving their customers

Room Tip: Go to any other hotel but this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Most Value Guest

Dear Our value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel.

As we have talk about this kind of issue via email for several times and I think I have explain to you clearly. However, I feel more than happy to explain this to you again. Lets begin with the first point, the main problem that you have made a complaint is about the refund. So, please try to be open minded and please listen to my reason for the fund, it is the hotel policy and it has been stated clearly in the booking provided by every single agencies who have the contract with us. If you are looking form our site, you will never give a complaint of early check out and get no refund. I will take this opportunity to explain this to you clearly, since you we have received the booking we do block the room for guest, which mean that we have already lost the opportunity to sell this room to others and once the guest arrive we suddenly want to cancel the booking and ask for the money back. How can we do that? If you read clearly about the cancellation policy we did stated clearly that any cancellation made 7 days before your arrival date will be free of charged, but later than that the whole amount will be charged. The rules have been set and we must handle it. Lastly, about the taxi, there is a cost occur in proving any service. These are all details that I would like to explain and hope that you would somehow understand.

Second, you said we are LIARS and I would like to tell you right here that NO WE ARE NOT. We did give you a free upgrade due to there is a problem with the original room that you have booked for and to be honestly the room that we offer you is better, bigger and more expensive than the original room that you have booked for. This is an emergency case and it is the hotel's responsibility to fix the problem, so we did offer a free upgrade. You can look at any agency's websites and you will see that we did really offered you with a better room.

Only one last thing, although, we are not the best hotel, but we do have our own ethic. WE WILL NEVER DOWN GRADE OUR CUSTOMER. Also we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction.

Best Regards
SALAD BURI"S teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

PROS: most of the rooms have a beautiful view overlooking haad salad. resort as a whole is very nice. the rooms themselves are nice and cozy. in a nice, quiet part of the island. beds were comfy and housekeeping did a great job. CONS: bathroom sink was leaking excessively everywhere and instead of fixing it or giving us a new room i was handed a towel by the front desk (no apology or anything). "free wi-fi" barely worked during the five nights i was there and when it did it was painfully slow (not acceptable for the prices being paid). some of the restaurant staff was brutally overbearing and rude while others seemed to not care at all. also they would just grunt at you and never smile (with the exception of one good waiter!). 3 burnt out light bulbs in room. and THE BIG ONE......rented a scooter off of the company affiliated with the resort and i admit i scratched up the bike a little bit. went to return the bike and was absoutely taken to the cleaners. told me that every little scratch meant they had to charge me for the whole brand new piece at an inflated price no less! since they had my passport there was nothing i could do as i had to leave the island. told me he was giving me a good deal, but it couldnt have been further from the truth! really put a big sore spot on my vacation. if you are going to rent a motorbike DO NOT do it through the hotel, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. According to the internet connection problem, as most of the rooms are located up on the hill, so the connection may not extremely reach. However, now this problem is in process to be fixed. We have bought more signal distribution and put it in front of every room. So, the internet connection is soon going to be much better. In addition, about the motorbike if you have a chance to deal or rent with the out source company, I would guarantee that you will change your words. We would like to welcome you to our place agin and will still offer a special deal for returning guest. Wish you all the best and have a great time

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balzan, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights here. Well decorated rooms, large spacious bathrooms polite and sociable staff. Great location right on salad beach and just a taxi ride and longtail away from bottle beach. Good food, decent prices and very clean.We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Value Guests

We are pleased to here that you were feeling happy while spending your holiday at our resort. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Ko Phangan and found that the hotel forgot to send a taxi to pick us up. This was the only negative point worth mentioning! The location is second to none and I think Salad Buri is the best place to stay on Salad bech. Rooms are big and clean with all the conveniences you may need. Breakfast is also good and enjoyable. As for the reviews mentioning long hike to their bangalow I suggest to stay in superior double room which is in the main building, located close to the beach and pool, and at least for us more than adequate. it is also cheaper than bungalow although views from higher huts are stunning.
Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Value Guests

We are pleased to here that you were feeling happy while spending your holiday at our resort. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salad Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Address: 60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phangan
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salad Buri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Buri Resort & Spa is set on the unspoiled and secluded beach of Haad Salad, once known as the ancient pirates hide out of the north west of Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Thailand. Where Southern mixes Northern, Salad Buri Resort & Spa is offering both surrounding mountain cliff and panoramic sea view vista.Our Accommodations are decorated in rich beautiful teakwood accents, spacious living quarters and excellent sea view verandas. All rooms featuring king size beds with limited twin beds, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Salad Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Buri Resort And Spa
Salad Buri Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salad Buri Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.