We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on quiet beachfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Salad Buri Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 91 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely hotel on quiet beachfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Thong Sala pier to find a pick up from the hotel even though we had not requested, it cost 150 baht each which we did not mind paying.

Check in was quick and we got shown to our room by buggy even though it wasn't as far up the hill as some bungalows so this wasn't an issue for us.

Our room was small, not much room to store bags but we made space. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was v comfy. The bathroom was huge with an amazing power shower, loved it!

Breakfast is impressive with a good choice but lunch not great. Based on this we decided to give it a skip for dinner and ended up going to Salad Hut instead, yum food and lovely staff.

The pool is gorgeous with lots of sun loungers around.

We have a great relaxing time here and would recommend this hotel to friends to people who wish for a quiet beachside break!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. And also we hope to see you again next year. For the room you can book directly with us then we can offer you a very good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    49
    27
    31
See reviews for
37
118
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very good value for money. Very calm and peaceful. The staff is very polite and easy going. Perfect for families with young kids. Its really a piece of paradise. The only problem is if you get a room on the top of the hill, you will get tired going up and down. but for that they have a couple of golf cars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. And also we hope to see you again next year. For the room you can book directly with us then we can offer you a very good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and we were greeted by extremely unpleasant staff. They commented how we paid quite cheaply for our room and appeared quite upset by this... Like others that have left comments I may have to separately outline our disappointing experience at this resort.

Firstly, my Partner and I travel quite bit and I'm not one to complain or make a fuss generally although via this experience we felt we needed to warn others intending to travel to this destination that proclaims a higher star rating comparing to other 4 or 5 star resorts

1. Unwelcoming staff- we felt watched especially during breakfast
2. poor food choices
3. young inexperienced staff that appeared scared
4. most plates and glasses were chipped
5. Management were not helpful with even the smallest requests
6. corruption was extremely prominent
7. Very unhappy work environment
8. Internet pictures display a Jacuzzi although signs in the room advise that it is only a tub that you fill as jets don't work..
9. Tv had only a few channels that worked with fuzzy reception
10. Costings were advertised throughout the room and resort if you accidentally broke something
11. Dinning area very messy

My partner and I had 7 nights paid accom and left after the third night. We didn't care about the non refund as management clearly muttered to us as our time away was important to us. Please really think about staying here as our experience was really poor and as I state above my partner and I are really not hard to please...

Room Tip: Make sure all of the above is asked prior to paying for room. Perhaps only book one day to review if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. As you have mentioned about the services, we know that there is a lot that need to be improved and we will work hard to improve it. Although, we are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. In addition, about the refund, it is the hotel policy and it has been stated clearly in the booking provided by every single agencies who have the contract with us. If you are looking form our site, you will never give a complaint of early check out and get no refund. I will take this opportunity to explain this to you clearly, since you we have received the booking we do block the room for guest, which mean that we have already lost the opportunity to sell this room to others and once the guest arrive we suddenly want to cancel the booking and ask for the money back. How can we do that? If you read clearly about the cancellation policy we did stated clearly that any cancellation made 7 days before your arrival date will be free of charged, but later than that the whole amount will be charged. The rules have been set and we must handle it.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Haad Salad is a picture postcard bay and staying at the Salad Buri for 4 nights was an absolute pleasure. We had one of the tree-top rooms with a bath on the balcony. The views were amazing, the room was superbly decorated. We really couldn't find a fault with this place - perhaps the restaurant isn't the best - we preferred Salad Hut and Cookies but apart from that we loved it.

Room Tip: Choose the tree top rooms for an amazing view - yes its a bit of a walk up the steps but it's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Value Guests

We are pleased to here that you were feeling happy while spending your holiday at our resort. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Location- peaceful and quiet. Good for couples and families looking for peaceful isolated location. However there are few restaurants on the shore and if u rent a scooter many more options are open for u. The beach itself is gorgeous, similar to beaches around it just more quiet.
Hotel- clean and beautiful. We had the private pool villa, like mentioned here there is a climb but the view is amazing, we had a scooter so it wasn't an issue...
Breakfast-very basic nothing special at all. Therefore we did not had dinner at the restaurant and ate on the beach. The best place by far is had salad villa. Good food and atmosphere in a very reasonable price.
Attractions-we took a snorkeling tour which is very recommended, since the hotel was not helpful at all and even though they have a tour like that, they were just not in the mood to help, so we took it from had salad huts next door- the tour is called "no woman no cry" they pick u up 11:00 and stop in different beaches around, it includes some relaxing time and lunch in bottle beach and bring u back 16:30. Had a great time!
Stuff- this is the only time I met unfriendly Thai people! They just don't want to help, they are rude, never smile. Seriously it was everytime we came with a question or request or even when we just said hello. Doesn't give u a good feeling at all, very unwellcoming... So if u think u can ignore it ( we had a hard time) and only then, I recommend to stay in salad buri.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. As you have mentioned about the services, we know that there is a lot that need to be improved and we will work hard to improve it. Although, we are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my fiancee for a couple of nights in February. I have during my travels stayed at a lot of hotels and resorts, ranging from small hostels up to 5 star Las Vegas resorts. This place is one of the worst experiences I've ever had at a hotel.

The good: The resort with surroundings, pool area and houses on the hill looks very good. From the outside.

The bad: I'll have to split this up in sections.

Staff - this is not your average super friendly Thailand staff. Here you will be greated with snobby faces and false smiles. They are not going to help you with anything more than what's absolutely necessary. The whole being nice part just feels like a poorly rehearsed charade.

Service - when we wanted to check out early (7am) there was no one around to check us out, despite the reception was supposed to be open. The only staff available was the cleaning lady which didn't know any English. They ended up calling some middle manager and waking her up so she could do her job.

Rooms - We booked a small room, 20 square meters, and was well aware of this before hand. Still, this must have been the worst planned 20 square meters on earth. Half the room was a bathroom with a huge oversized shower area (we're talking 4 sqm for just the shower) and big toilet. The living room part of the room was just a bed. Nowhere to store our bags (had to keep them in the toilet) and nowhere to do anything basically than just stay in bed. This was not a room with jacuzzi or private pool, I'm sure they are better. Also the telephone in our room didn't work, so we couldn't call the front desk to ask for help bringing our suitcases down the hill, and this is a steep hill so you can't carry them down, you need a car.

Pool and amenities - although a very nice pool in three steps, we were promised upon booking that the pool would have an open bar in it with a bartender. There was a bar area in the pool, but it wasn't open. Instead they used the bar to store trash and broken tables in, not very 4-starish if you ask me. Also, all the rooms are situated on a very steep hill. You have to be in good health to book a room here. Although you might get a golf cart to drive you up the hill, they can't drive you all the way, you still have to walk some very steep steps. The spa is really not a spa, it's just a beach hut performing the common thai oil massage and the other stuff you get on a beach massage.

Restaurant - the breakfast is very poor with few choices. Worst thing is that although the breakfast buffet opens at 7 am, almost nothing was prepared by then, and we needed a quick breakfast before checking out. At 7.20 am some of the staff finally stopped sweeping the floor, which was already clean, and started preparing the empty trays. We also had lunch here one day, which really was just awful. It was canned food which they just briefly heated on the stove before overcharging us for it. You would do well to go either to Cookies just to the left of this place and up to hill, or down the beach to the right to a place called Salad Hut. Both have fantastic food and staff.

All in all I felt this place really ruined my stay att Koh Phangan as a whole and I would highly recommend staying anywhere else on that island if you want that relaxed feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Value Guest

We would like to say thank you for your review and also would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us. Every piece of your review is very useful for us to improve and bring up the quality of our hotel. To begin with the first point of fact is that most of the hotels on Koh-Phangan have experienced with employee shortage, including our hotel. Therefore, some of the hotel's operation might be a bit delayed from the settled schedule. Also, we do not reject that our staffs are not as good as those high standard hotel, but we did train our staff to do the best as they can to satisfy customer's needs and wants. Due to the lack of employee, it is necessary for us to temporary cut the pool bar service. In addition, for the breakfast we will need to keep improving on that. All in all, I admit it that We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've had a great time in this resort. First impression was not the best. We asked the night before for the transfer, that never appeared at the pier when we arrived. So, we needed to take the songtheaw for a more expensive and not so comfortable trip. We explained at the reception, and the guy didn't care. That was not a good visit card.
But, that was the only negative aspect.
The hotel is located up on a hill in a beutiful bay, with a overwhelming view from all the rooms.
The beach is not crowded, has other cheaper resorts, with some hippie people, although the hotel guests are adult couples and families.
You have the option to book a longtail boatprip to go snorkelling and meet other beutifull beaches at the hotel. That was a very nice experience. Or you can stay just relaxing at the pool, or having a swim at the sea in the high tide (the beach is not swimable at the low tide).
At night the hotel have a nice restaurant, with some tables at the beach sand where you can have a delicious meal, in a very romantic environment. The staff are icredible polite and friendly. They help you with everything.
Rooms are well decorated, have nice view, are clean, and the bathroom is spacious. At night you can have a visit of friendly geko outside your window!
We will definitly stay here again if we come back to Phangan.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top hill have a nice view to the beach, although you have to climb a hilly stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri P, Manager at Salad Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Our Value Guests

First, we would like to apologize for making you disappointed at your first arrival date to the hotel. However, we are pleased to here that you were feeling happy afterward. We are not the best hotel, but we did tried to do our best in order to meet customer's satisfaction. Lastly, we will keep improving our weaknesses and if there is a chance we hope that we will be one of your selective choice for your holiday once again.

Best Regards
Salad Buri's teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salad Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Buri Resort & Spa

Address: 60/2 Moo 8 | Haad Salad, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Phangan
#11 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salad Buri Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Buri Resort & Spa is set on the unspoiled and secluded beach of Haad Salad, once known as the ancient pirates hide out of the north west of Koh Phangan, Suratthani, Thailand. Where Southern mixes Northern, Salad Buri Resort & Spa is offering both surrounding mountain cliff and panoramic sea view vista.Our Accommodations are decorated in rich beautiful teakwood accents, spacious living quarters and excellent sea view verandas. All rooms featuring king size beds with limited twin beds, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Salad Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Buri Resort And Spa
Salad Buri Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salad Buri Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;