We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location 2 minuts away from the quite Leela beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Lighthouse Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lighthouse Bungalows
Lighthouse | Haadrin, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 104 Ko Phangan B&B and Inns
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location 2 minuts away from the quite Leela beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

One of the best places we stayed because of the stunning view from our bungalow! The bungalows are basic but clean. Leela beach is just 2 minutes away and really beautiful, most of the time there where just a few other people there! It is close to Haad Rin, I think a 15 minute walk over the beach and through Coconut hotel. This is a shortcut, be sure you take this shortcut and not the other one! ;) We paid 950Bath for a bungalow for 3.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
3
29
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you are looking for a Place to escape from all the tipical touristic stuff on kho phangan - the Lighthouse bungalows at the end of lela beach - is the Perfect adress! Such a silent & peaceful Place you cannot Imagine. The accumondations are very Nice and clean. We Stayed in the sunflower Bungalow which is Built right into the Sea just amazing! Just like the Rest of Bungalows they offer at the Lighthouse Bungalows. The staff at the Lighthouse are Super friendly and they Helped us whereever they could! They offer A delicous range of traditional Thai cusine for fair prices. The Way to get to this beautiyful Place is quite a challange but it was Always Fun because at the end you will Not Believe your eyes! def. worth it. We can recommend this Place to Everyone who is Not Expecting a luxioury Posh Thing on this beautiful Island! Best stay on kho phangan so far.

We will definatliy will come back - we are looking forward! Special Thanks to Karla and Dam

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Lighthouse Bungalows for 6 nights in early August. The view from our balcony was lovely and the sea breeze meant that we didn't miss air conditioning that much.

As others have said, getting to the place is not easy and it takes about 20 minutes to walk to Haad Rin. This is a good thing if you're looking to escape the Full Moon Party but you don't to need go that far to get away from the noise and madness.

It's also a horrible trek in the heat when you first arrive because you have to drag your bag down the length of Sunset/Lela beach. We were not offered the option of being collected from the top of the beach as others have mentioned and the number given to me in the confirmation email did not work when I tried calling to ask for a lift.

Our bungalow was clean and in good condition but it was very basic. The general "resort" was not well kept and looked very messy. With a bit of work the place could easily look a lot nicer and that is a shame.

The food was poor in terms of quality and presentation but the staff were friendly and pleasant to deal with. Language was a bit of a barrier at times.

Given the option we would not stay at Lighthouse again. It's not the worst of places but there are better options nearby which provide more comfort, better facilities and nicer food for only a bit more money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you dont mind the short hike to get to the bugalows then it is a wonderful place to stay! The rooms are far from luxurious but they have everything you need and have the most wonderful views from the balcony which had a hammock. The distance from the main beaches is just right, they are within walking distance but are away from any loud noise. We stayed in a double fan room for a very reasonable price of 360b per night (£7.40). The beds are covered by a mosquito net which was good as there are a few creepy crawlies around! The staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Getting here can be interesting. Make sure your cab drops you on the beach access. If you get left to walk over the hills then be prepared for a proper hike! But the views and the peace and quiet make it worth the trek. Food is simple, but cheap and wholesome. Rooms are basic, but ours was clean and well maintained. No more mosquitos here than anywhere else you will be pleased to know. Couple of good beach restaurants and bars just ten minutes walk. If you love going to sleep with the sound of waves on the rocks and waking with the sunrise streaming through the window then this is the place for you. They trust you to write down any drinks that you take from the fridge if there is nobody on reception - don't abuse the system!
(If you get a water taxi at high tide they can drop you at the jetty right next to the reception)

Room Tip: Sunflower bungalows are a top choice unless you are on a serious budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here after looking around and staying in some awful places on the beach - this place was a haven! We loved our room with a sea view and hammock on our balcony. The guesthouse owners were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The place is found at the end of Leela Beach (Hat Seekantang), a short walk along a wooden walkway round the rocks. We would recommend this place to anyone wishing to chill out, relax and enjoy Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

me and 3 mates went koh phangan for the full moon party over new years and wanted to be near the action without the noise. The moment you step into this resort you are cut off from the madness of the Haadrin. It has a nice family atmosphere with cute dogs and all.

We stayed in the sunset rooms. Just remember that you dont have hot water but apart from that its so peaceful with the only noise you hear is the crashing waves which puts you to sleep nicely. Its about 15mins walk from the action but we never felt scared coming over the bridge, just make sure you got a torch and if you really want the taxi bikes can bring you back most of the way for about 100 bhat after a night in Haadrin

The food in the restaurant is ok and is fine when you dont want to walk into town. Cocuhut which is under 10mins walk away on the same beach is a nice place to hangout especially if you like to play volleyball.

My advice would be try and get a few nights here if you want a relaxing holiday with the access to the nightlife. We are in our late 20's early 30's and it suited us just fine. I would also recommend it to couples. Get in before this pictureresque family resort becomes a luxure 5* spa which charges 5 times more and loses its charms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lighthouse Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Bungalows

Address: Lighthouse | Haadrin, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern tip of Thailand's beautiful tropical island, Ko Pangan, is the intimate and secluded Lighthouse Bungalows and Restaurant. A cluster of uniquely designed bungalows with a beautifully appointed restaurant, built within an amazing boulder setting which overlooks turquoise waters and the island's magical sunsets. Two minutes walk to Leela beach and a 20 minute walk to Hadrin Village and Beach - Koh Phangan's host of the famous monthly Full Moon Party - you can relax within this tranquil setting and have access to the unique local Thai culture, lush tropical jungles and some of the most beautiful, secluded beaches in Southern Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Lighthouse Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.