We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Hill Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Hill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights over October full moon party. I came with a friend and having spent a few nights in Bangkok previously we wanted somewhere to chill out before the FMP.

This place is quite far from the action of Haad Rin but there's plenty of restaurants and small bars within walking distance. The hill is a bit of a pain but when you get to the top you realise why as the views are stunning!

Rooms were great, spacious, clean. Couldn't ask for anymore. The pool is great and often had it to ourselves.

The real jewel in the crown though was the service. The girl on reception Wii can't do enough for guests, no fake smiles here she genuinely cares for her guests and it shows. All the staff were great too.

The food was average but being a hotel that I would imagine doesn't get much 'food only' trade due to its location it's not bad. I'd recommend eating there if nothing else for you to experience the almost 'treehouse' experience of watching the views. Also on the menu is pizzas which they order in from a local place.

Wii kindly organised a taxi to the full moon party for us, it was good as it gave us a chance to meet up with other guests and we all stayed in a big group at the FMP.

Overall I can't speak highly enough of this place. Of the few weeks I spent travelling around Thailand this place knocked spots off everywhere else I stayed. As we left (for Patong) we regretted not staying longer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset-Hill, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear James and Chris,

Thank you very much for your nice review and for fairly describing our resort. This will give future guests a good idea about what they can expect. We are happy you had a great time staying with us and of course you are very welcome to stay longer with us next time!
Warm Regards,
The Sunset Hill team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    48
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
16
102
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed as a couple for 5 nights in October and we had bought it as a half price deal which turned out to be great value for money.

PROS:
- Views are absolutely amazing! Panoramic views of the ocean from top of the hill were stunning day after day when you had breakfast
- Rooms are top quality (except oddly our shower had no hot water for the time we stayed) they are very big and have a lounge with a few foxtel channels and also a DVD player which you can borrow for free from reception some movies which was really nice
- Up the quieter end of Koh Phangan which was nice discovering some of the quieter areas of the island
- Mama's Pooh's (the best Thai restaurant we ate at our whole 3 weeks in thailand is 15 mins walk to the left)
- Wii the receptionist is wonderfully friendly and super helpful the first night we were there they offered to special order in some food for us
- You can also order a pizza and pasta and have delivered to your room
- They also have a computer set up for free that guests can use which is convenient

CONS:
- It is very far away from all the action. We rented a scooter which wasn't so bad but the roads are quite dicey and very windy which can be a bit intimidating for some
- Make sure you arrive to Koh Phangan at the THONGSALA PIER - we didn't realise there was more than one so we were take to the Had Rin pier which cost us 1000baht to get our hotel (40mins by taxi). Similarly if you are going to the full moon party - expect to pay
- The hot water in our shower didn't work the whole time we were there - the staff tried to fix it twice but couldn't seem to get it fixed. At least they tried I guess!
- The restaurant is very poor quality. It is very slow and very expensive. We had breakfast there (as it was included 5 days) and not once did my eggs and toast come out warm together, and usually both were cold by time they brought it to our table. We also had lunch once and our meals were brought out 15 mins apart.
- Restaurant is very overpriced - there is much better food down the road definitely go for a walk!
- Although they are helpful in ordering cabs etc for you there is about a 100baht mark-up on everything they will do for you. Its not a deal breaker but was just annoying as you already spend a lot on transport when you are here.

Overall good stay but probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Walk 15mins to the left of the driveway to have meals at Mama Pooh's restaurant - much better fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset-Hill, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Hailey and William,

Thank you very much for providing a valuable opinion of your stay in our resort and for the positive things about our apartments and service you have mentioned under PROS.
We would like to clarify a few of the things you mentioned under CONS:

-Our resort is indeed located on the island's West Coast, a bit outside the main entertainment area but famous for its beautiful beaches, nature, cozy atmosphere and tranquil lifestyle. However since the island is not so big, the entertainment area is also easy accessible and just 20 minutes from our resort by car or motorbike. Your stay was in the low season when the island is generally quiet, in the high season the West Coast has much more entertainment on offer.
-Motorbikes are indeed the best way of transport on the island and most of our guests have mentioned that exploring the island by motorbike was the highlight of their holidays.
-Taxi fares to Haad Rin are usually 200 THB per person, but fees depend on with how many people you are sharing the taxi, and if they can pick up other passengers along the way. During special events like the Full Moon Party we arrange shared taxi’s for all our guests to go to the party together. For regular taxi service we indeed charge a small fee of 50 THB per person, for the taxi to come to our resort and pick up our guests to go everywhere on the island at any time they like.
-We are very sorry to hear about the cold shower which was caused by a safety fuse that kept switching off, our maintenance team have fixed this issue now
-We sincerely apologize that you had to a wait long time for your food and that it was not warm enough and we will take immediate measures to improve our restaurant service.
-The prices in our lounge restaurant are very reasonable, obviously our prices cannot be the same as at a local Thai roadside food stall.
It’s great to hear that your general experience of our resort and the island was positive.
Thanks again for your comments which are very useful for other travelers and definitely help us to improve our services.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights, first night was the FMP. Wii, the lady who works there was brilliant to us! We had a great laugh with the staff, and it was easy to mingle with other guests. There was another lady there who was working the restaurant who was so good to us.

There is a very relaxed vibe here and the view is stunning.
The rooms were also great and we slept very well after coming back late from the FMP.

Would fully recommend it to anyone, you will be treated so well by the staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 5 nights and can honestly say it was the best value for money resort. Very quiet and romantic. Wee is the receptionist and she made our stay so comfortable and cosy.
If you want a quiet and romantic place to run away this is it.
Also you will need to rent a motorbike to get around the island but it is convinient and cheap from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed there for four nights; excellent room, neat and clean. all attractions can be arranged through the hotel and the staff really do whatever they can to help out. The view and the pool were excellent; only thing is, this is not a resort, so housekeeping does not have toothpaste or soap etc. But in all, a wonderful experience... be readty to walk or rent a bike though..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here two nights wanting to be as far away from the Full Moon Party as possible. The hotel is fairly new and the rooms are really nice. They are well worth the prize. The receptionist Vee is really sweet and helpful. We were told that Haad Chaophao beach is too shallow so we went to he next beach called Secret Beach. The restaurant does not have much food so you're better off stepping just outside the hotel to eat. There are two interesting vegan cafes near this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent a month at Sunset Hill in conjunction with the yoga training offered at Agama, about 2km away. The price for this yoga/hotel package was amazing. Sunset Hill is a SUPER property with every luxury you could want (far and away one of the best hotels on the island), and the package costs only a few more dollars a night than if you rented cold-water, no-internet, no support bungalows. Really, if you are interested in doing the First Level Course at Agama, you CANNOT beat the value of the arrangement they have with Sunset Hill.

Everything about the hotel is great - view, rooms, property & landscape, pool, restaurant, Monkey the dog ... but I cannot say enough about the fantastic people there - especially Mickey. She arranged everything I needed. And in the "way above and beyond" category, she even drove me down to yoga at 8am the first morning before opening reception, since I had arrived on the island only 12 hours before in the dark, with no idea of where anything was.

I have been home for three weeks and I STILL miss everyone's smiling faces and their kind hearts. :-)

If you are thinking of taking a trip to Koh Phangan, DO IT, and stay at Sunset Hill. It will be the trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: All rooms are great ... but let yourself splurge for a room with a view. It is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of the green Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. The penthouse apartments also have a kitchen and dining and living room. The resort also has an fantastic infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant. Let us help you experience the holiday of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.