We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, great staff, luxury and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hill Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Hill Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Hill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Views, great staff, luxury and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a month at sunset hill apartments, and wish we could have stayed longer. It is a quality home base with all the comforts of a kitchen,living space, great balcony with sunset views over the ocean. The staff are really friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make us feel at home. The negative edge pool opens out to expansive views of the ocean from up high. They have the convenience of a great restaurant and are located in an area of Koh Phangan with lots of yoga, snorkeling and restaurants near by. If you want some luxury and quality and care, I highly recommend Sunset Hill Apartments.

Room Tip: Perhaps look at a few rooms to choose, they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset-Hill, Front Office at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Bridget our values guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and some useful information for our future guests. Your room tips is could be very useful by the way, we have many types of room which suitable for family, couples, group of friends or also solo traveler.

A lot of memories came back to my head while I’m reading your review. You guys were amazing guests to us as well. And we wish to welcome you again as a part of Sunset Hill Family in the future. Also don’t forget that you are already our Gold Club which you can claim the special offer on your next visit.

Send my regard to your family, and wish Savanah send us her wonderful painting one day

All the best to all of you,
Sunset Hill Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    48
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
17
102
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Sunset Hill Resort is a really nice Resort! Everything was perfect! First of all when we arrived we got a Welcome Drink! The Room was clean and new. Especially the bathroom was so nice for Thailand! You felt like in a 5 star Resort! The staff was really helpfull and so nice! They really made you feel special! And we've never seen a pool like this! Infinity Pool with the best view over the Beach! If we get back to Ko Phangan we would definetly come back to this Resort!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset-Hill, Front Office at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear JanetDe our valued guest,

We are appreciated your review. We are glad that you had good time with us. You are now part of Sunset Hill Family and also our Gold Club which means you will have special offer in every visit.

We are looking forward to welcome our family to come back home =)

Sunset Hill Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Such an Amazing Hotel!!! Great Location as was out of the way with fantastic local restaurants! We highly recommend a scooter or car as we did which Sunset will organise through one of their trusted companies (dont get discouraged handing over passport-we did and all was perfect-no hassel) and cheap too! The staff were FANTASTIC! Very helpful, very nice and VERY TRUSTWORTHY! We left our ipod in the room as we were leaving and one of their guys (Nigh- sorry for the misspelling) ran it up to us before we left- THANK YOU AGAIN!!! We wouldnt have even realised till back in Australia and wouldnt have known where it was left...
P.S the Beautiful views in the infinity pool was magnificent especially during sunset... MANY MEMORIES with Picture Perfect Photos to relive such an amazing experiance!
We will Definatley stay 100% again and will recommend it to EVERYONE going to Koh Phangan!!! Oh and try out the restaurant just to the left down the hill... you cook your own food ontop of hot coals... great, fun experiance and super cheap for all you can eat seafood/ bbq buffet inc. soup and desert.. yum!

Room Tip: Anything with a sea view... all were perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset-Hill, Front Office at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Steph S our valued guest,
We are much appreciated your wonderful review. It’s lovely to hear that you guys had such a good time with us at Sunset Hill. I will pass your words to our staff that would encourage them to keep quality of service go on.

Hope you bring a lot of Sun and smile back home. Whenever you got a chance to come back. Don’t forget to come say hi to us. We are looking forward to hearing from you as now you guys are part of our family, so keep in touch.

By the way you are now the member of our Gold Club or refer to your friend and family to get special offer when they visit.

Cheers,
Sunset Hill Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is by far the best place I have stayed in during my travels in Thailand. It looks like the photos, and the view is breathtaking. The staff here, though, are what sets this resort apart from all others: they are helpful, funny, friendly, and kind. Nothing is ever a problem, and they will go out of their way to make you have a great time.

Pros:
- breathtaking panoramic views of the ocean and nearby islands (book a see view room - trust me, it's worth it)
- the food! the chef is highly skilled. Some of the best Thai food I ate was at this hotel
- awesome staff
- awesome infinity pool overlooking the sea


Cons:
- none

Room Tip: Get something with a view of the ocean. You'll be glad you did when you wake up every morning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset-Hill, Front Office at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear c22222 our valued guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am glad you had a good time with us. I will pass your words to our staffs and let them know all energy they put to services is worth something: D

Thank you again to being out lovely guest and part of Sunset Hill Family. Remember that you are welcome anytime. And with the Gold Club member, you will surely get special offer.

Cheers!
Sunset Hill Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the resort. Rooms are great (a little small maybe) but they have everything you need. Great staff. Nice location only strange you are not allowed to take towels to the beach.
We loved this part of the island, it's very relaxing and a great escape from Koh Samui

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset-Hill, Front Office at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Sunkanda our valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable review. We are glad that you had good time during your stay. Also we are apologize for your inconvenient about pool towel.
Thanks again to being a part of Sunset Hill Family.

All the best,
Sunset Hill Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My new hubby and I feel in love with the place within half an hour of our arrival! Hence, we decided this place would be our honeymoon getaway and we stayed there for almost 2 weeks! The view from the lobby is breathtaking and is really nice to have a drink. Our room was large, clean, functional,modern and beautiful. We had a nice balcony overlooking the sea on which we enjoyed having breakfast every morning. We really enjoyed having a little kitchen in the room to prepare that breakfast. The infinity pool is very beautifu though a bit small, and each evening we would love to watch the sunset while taking a dip. The staff is really nice and smily. They are really helpful and forthcoming. We strongly recommend renting a scooter since the beach and the restaurants are down the hill. It's only 5 euros a day and they deliver it at the door of the hotel. The food at the Sunset was very good, and there are great authentic thaï restaurants on this side of the island. We strongly recommend this hotel and only with to be able to go back soon! A big thank you to the team!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the seaview, really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset-Hill, Management at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear NadTarik our valued guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you let us being a part of your memory. And for sure our place it’s a very good choice for getaway. Our lovely place and kind staff are await for your next visit.

However, you are now our Gold Club which mean more or less part of Sunset Hill Family. This home are always welcome.

Big Smile From everyone on the hill,
Sunset Hill Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel - it's perfect for getaway - large clean rooms with big balconies, swimming pool with a sunset view! The only thing which is a bit comprehensive is that it's about 800 meters from the beach, so you have to use a shuttle to get to the beach or to drive yourself (they have good parking facilities) One important thing to mention - the hotel has a very nice restaurant where I've tried the best tom yam gung on Koh Phangan. What else to add? Lovely helpful staff speaking perfect English! And I loved how the rooms are equipped - you have everything - from bathroab to tea pot. Loved my stay! Would like to be back)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset-Hill, Management at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Diana_Di_x our valued guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable review. This information is could be really useful to our coming guests and visitor. So let me add more information about our location. We are on the hill and not right on the beach. But we have shuttle service which provide in the period of time. Also you can ask reception to organize the taxi service or assist on motorbike renting for you as well.

However, we have some beaches in walking distance which you can have a walk on lovely sunny day with if you prefer.

Diana, we are really glad that you had good time during your stay with us. And remember that you are a part of Sunset Hill Family and with the Gold Club, we are so welcome to give you special offer every time you come visit.

All the best,
Sunset Hill Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.